We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for the 100th anniversary of the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Crater Rim Cabin is a wonderful accommodation for anyone who loves to cook and/or wants to explore the wonders of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park on foot. The cabin is located on the "dry" side of Kilauea volcano and is meticulously maintained by Jim Griggs and Barry Stokes. The quiet surroundings feature a beautiful garden and landscaping all done by the owners. The cabin has everything one might need for a comfortable stay and if you need anything extra the owners will immediately provide for you.
The cabin is equipped with breakfast items. During our two-week stay we actually brought rice and pasta and some packaged foods from our home in Bethesda so we could prepare our own lunches and dinners. Locally grown vegetables and fruits and freshly baked pastries and bread, in addition to ready-to-eat meals and gift jams and jellies prepared from native Hawaiian fruits such as ohelo berries, papaya, lilikoi and guava can all be obtained each Sunday from the Volcano Farmer's Market. Staple items can be obtained by a 10-minute walk to the general store at the Kilauea Military Camp, which also has facilities for bowling, tennis and other activities. An 18-hole golf course is 5 minutes from the cabin. On foot, one can reach the Park Service's Jaggar Museum, overlooking Halemaumau crater, in less than 45 minutes and the Park headquarters and visitor center in less than 40 minutes.
Bonuses include spectacular photographs on the cabin walls by Jim Griggs (available for purchase if you ask) and a warehouse full of products from the owners' Tutu Nene business. My Japanese wife and I have found the Nene refrigerator magnets to be a great hit with our friends and relatives in both the mainland US and in Japan. They are truly a unique product of America. We have also had great success in giving their potholders, coasters, holders for plastic bags and the newly designed cloth trivets, all constructed with Hawaiian designs, as well as refrigerator magnets featuring various Hawaiian native birds. For ourselves we have purchased a complete Nene family, which resides in our living room.
The National Park offers a variety of activities, including daytime walks, evening talks, the occasional hula performance by local dancers (the genuine article--not what you see in commercial hotels) and last but not least nighttime views of live lava from the east rift zone on its way to the ocean and glow from the active lava lake occupying Halemaumau crater in Kilauea caldera.
All in all a marvelous place to stay, the longer the better!

Tom Wright & Etsuko Saito

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musashikojiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Tired of hotels and resorts, I booked the cabin based purely on the previous tripadvisor reviews, assuming that it couldn't be as good as everyone had described. But it is all of that, and more. We stayed for 4 nights, which wasn't long enough. I think everything on the Big Island could be a day trip from here, so if I had my time again, I would have booked 10 nights, knowing that after a long day of exploring, Barry would have the cabin perfectly in order to welcome us 'home' - warm, clean and smelling like those beautiful candles!

When you are exhausted from hiking around such a special corner of the world, the cabin is also a wonderful place to relax - the gardens are beautiful, there are so many books to read and CDs of local music. It's an absolute must to watch the Kilauea DVD early in your stay, to get a better understanding of the volcano.

There is everything you could possibly need in the kitchen, including awesome coffee and coffee maker (and even many different types of tea, which can be difficult to find in Hawai'i!!). The jam, the honey, the fruit, it was all sooo good. But if you don't feel like cooking, there are a number of great places to eat, just ask your ever-helpful hosts!

We learnt so much from Barry and Jim about Kilauea Volcano and the local area. It was so much more than a place to stay, we left feeling rejuvenated and relaxed. A thousand Mahalos, Barry and Jim, we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1-km-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This cabin was so sweet. The new shower was great and we loved the idea of showering with rain water. Our hosts were very helpful with lots of information about Volcano Park. The cabin was cozy and immaculate and contained everything we needed for breakfast and comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

It's hard to add to the glowing reviews that brought me here in the first place, but I will try. This is a beautiful cabin in a quiet setting surrounded by tropical greenery. As everyone has mentioned, it is spotlessly clean. The decor is lovely, highlighted by beautiful traditional Hawaiian crafts. The kitchen is generously stocked with excellent coffee, delicious bread and jam, cereal, juice, milk, eggs, and fruit. The living room is well stocked with tour books and information about the park as well as local dining. The King bed is good and the electric blanket kept us toasty warm on a cool night. After watching the fascinating video of the history of the eruptions of the local volcano, we slept really well. (The lava isn't flowing anywhere near the cabin!)

What makes this place most memorable, though, is the wonderful hospitality of Barry and Jim. They are extremely warm and welcoming, and we got lots of good advice about how to make the most of our trip, including where to hike and where to eat. (The Kiawe Kitchen is excellent.)

An unexpected treat was the opportunity to raid their warehouse and buy some of the really nice crafts and postcards and other souvenirs that are stocked there. Jim is an amazing photographer, and I bought some of his postcards of flowing lava that are just spectacular. Jim and Barry are totally low-key about having this stuff available for purchase (at very reasonable prices), and if I hadn't admired the turtle potholder and told Barry that I wished I could take it home, I wouldn't have known that I could buy one of my own. That's why I'm sharing this information on TripAdvisor. A special treat for those lucky enough to stay in this special place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Crater Rim Cabin is the perfect place to stay while exploring Volcano National Park! It is a cute, cozy cabin in the woods, spotlessly clean with everything you need for your stay. The gas fireplace and electric blanket will keep you warm on cool nights. Barry and Jim are very helpful with suggestions for what to see in the park and where to dine. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is such a well-cared for, warm, well-stocked, private cabin. Like others have said, everything you could possibly need is thought of and provided. The owners/hosts were warm, welcoming and helpful. Thank you for such a delightful place! The volcano was also well worth exploring. You won't regret making Crater Rim Cabin part of your Hawaii vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Living in Hawai’i, we've stayed at other places while visiting Volcanoes National Park, and this is by far the best we've experienced! The rave reviews are true. The setting is beautiful, the cabin is charming and cozy, Jim and Barry are wonderful hosts and interesting people, and Barry likes to keep the place clean -- he put 2 pillow protectors on under the pillowcase! Everything is provided for a wonderful stay: from abundant information and advice, to the gas fireplace and electric blanket to ward off the chilly nights, to a stocked kitchen, fresh flowers, almost instant hot water, lots of towels and a hairdryer, to DVDs of Hawaii's birds and eruptions, to free wireless internet, and oh did I mention the dark chocolate macadamia nuts?

Volcanoes National Park is open at night; we choose to stay close by so we can easily “go see the glow”. I especially appreciated the fleece throw blanket I wrapped myself in one night to ward off the wind and misty rain while watching glowing orange clouds rising from Halemau'umau'u crater … while Jupiter blazed bright and the moon created a giant moonbow that plunged into the crater below us. Fantastic!

I regret not being able to stay longer than 2 nights – we were fortunate to squeeze in between their other reservations. So my advice is, book early, or change your vacation plans to fit into their schedule!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
4.0 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
4.1 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
3.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
5.1 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
4.4 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $211 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing