We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house close to Volcanoes National Park”
other travellers have booked this property
The Artist Cottage,A Place with Heart,Warmth & Charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Artist Cottage,A Place with Heart,Warmth & Charm.
Christmas At The Artist Cottage Relax & Injoy the songs of the native birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
The Artist Cottage,A Place with Heart,Warmth & Charm.
Christmas At The Artist Cottage
Relax & Injoy the songs of the native birds
Front Porch
Full Size Futon Sleeper Sofa for extra guest
Bedroom with New Queen Bed
Bathroom/mini spa
Guest in Hot Tub Spa/Seats 6 guest
Hot Tub Spa
Hot Tub
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Forest Path
Beautiful Surrounding Rainforest
Volcano Village
Cozy Fireplace to Injoy on the cool nights
Dinning seats 4 plus LapTop Computer
Lap Top Computer with WiFi internet
The hand carved Dolpins Greet You
Carved from a Mango Tree
Past Guest
Warm Cozy Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeniseFL
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house close to Volcanoes National Park”
Reviewed October 15, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Artist Cottage is in a beautiful spot close to Volcanoes National Park. The cottage is lovely, and the owners are wonderful, interesting people. I would definitely stay here again. The cottage was clean and very nicely furnished. It has everything you would ever want for a very comfortable stay. The owners have spent a lot of time on the details that make the cottage feel like a home.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The homey feel of the cottage, the location.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Reviewed August 14, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK-Leah
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage to explore the volcano from”
Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Artist Cottage for a week in early June. Bob and Bonnie had thought of everything and the place was extremely well stocked with food, snacks, drinks, and toiletries (in fact my only slight criticism would be that the place is almost too well stocked - there's not a huge amount of space for your own things). The cottage comes with all you could need during your stay: a full kitchen, a washing machine and dryer, a fireplace and a hot tub. It's about 5-10 minutes drive from the volcanoes national park and is the perfect base to from which to explore the volcano and lava flows. Bob and Bonnie were incredibly warm and welcoming people and really gave you the sense that nothing would be too much to ask. I only wish we could have stayed longer to explore more of the Big Island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ursafilms
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded every expectation . . . and then some.”
Reviewed May 4, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about the Artists Cottage in Volcano. Bob and Bonnie were the perfect hosts. Bob greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a quick tour of the place. He was engaged but unobtrusive. When he found out it was our 24th wedding anniversary, he immediately opened a bottle of wine and drank a toast to us. On our second night, he and Bonnie left us a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket with two glasses and a note. Additionally, the cottage provided everything we needed. We didn't even have to go out to dine on the first night. There was plenty of food and drink. The bathroom and bedroom were exceptionally well-stocked. There was a hot tub, plenty of reading material on the area, a fireplace and so many other amenities that we just didn't have the time to take advantage of all of them. If you're going to the volcano, I wouldn't bother with any other place, particularly if you are looking for a comfortable and private accommodation with all the comforts of home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Reviewed March 30, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: just like being home
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SnowBop
San Francisco
1 review
“Oh My, What a Lovely Change of Pace!”
Reviewed February 16, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Aloha,

Couldn't have asked for more. Makes me wonder why anyone would rate this place with anything less than four or five stars! Thank you to our host for a most pleasurable and relaxing stay on 2/13/11. Hope to return for a longer stay. An amazingly comfy remote controlled futon in the living room, AND a heavenly bed with a flat screen TV with satellite TV in the bedroom? Plus everything you could ask for in the way of toiletries, etc., in the bathroom, in addition to groceries and a laptop with Wi-Fi in the kitchen? WOW, THERE WAS SO MUCH TO LOVE ABOUT THE ENTIRE EXPERIENCE!!!!!

P.S. Of course, being greeted by Spicy, the 18 yr. old cat, was a nice treat for me since I left my own critters behind with a pet sitter to go on this week long adventure! (For those of you allergic to felines, not to worry, no cats were ever inside the cottage -- and you will only be greeted by Spicy or White Socks IF you call for the kitty to come to you.) =^..^=

Mahalo!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Reviewed November 19, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing