We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding on every level- this is the house to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Slahood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding on every level- this is the house to rent.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

At Ohana House Becky goes out of her way to make your stay superior. The house is spotless. The conditions and decorations are superior, and her recommendations are accurate, which makes planning a breeze. We ate at The Lodge restaurant, which she recommended and enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much this is an upscale but cozy establishment. Complete meals with drinks are about $60.00 per person. We also ate at the more casual Tahi Thai restraunt, which had world-class Tahi food. It's around $20-30 per person for a complete meal. The art galary at Ono restaurant has an excellent variety of art selection and the gentleman who assisted us was exceptionally knowledgable. The Volcano Winery is worth a stop too. Very friendly staff and some unique wines. The helicopter tour of the volcanos and waterfalls by Paradise was the highlight, and of course the National Psrk was great. You should visit early morning to avoid the crowds. Again, thank you Becky. Our trip was great. Your house was much better than the house we rented in Captain Cook. I'm not going to bother writing a review on that one.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montrose
Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle
Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tim B
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, could easily be excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

More or less exactly as depicted; charming decor in a great location. Well-equipped with books/toys/etc. Competent heating system keeps you warm in chilly Volcano. Beds good, bathrooms good, lovely dining table with a great jungle backdrop.

Two problems:
- The couches aren’t very comfortable. That’s actually a bigger problem than you’d think; when you’ve been hiking over lava for hours, having a comfy place to sit down is sort of a big deal.
- The cooking equipment really needs an update. The stove is acceptable but the burners aren’t hot enough to stir-fry, the barbecue is antiquated and I just about blew my head off, the microwave works fine but sounds like a 747 taking off.

If you’re going to be eating out, no problemo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor
Liked least: Cooking, sofas.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goonygoog...
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not zoo secluded house in the rain forest”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great location if you intend on touring Volcano National Park over several days. The Volcano National Park in open 24/7, therefor Ohana house is close enough to drive there in the evening to see the crater glowing at night, or to be there for sunrise. It took less than 10mins to drive to the park. This house reminded us of a stay at the cottage as it has a rustic feel about it. It is very spacious for large groups. The one major issue we did have was lack of internet connection, as we relied on the internet to do research. Another thing that we find a little disappointing was the bed in the master bedroom, lets just say we only slept in that bed one night. Some of the kitchen pans also need upgrading, the teflon is scratched and coming off. We were happy to see there was a fresh load of towels sitting in the dryer waiting to great us upon arrival.... These are all minor details which can be easily rectified, other that those few things our stay was very pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: LOCATION close to Volcano National Park
Liked least: Some things were unkept and need to be replaced or updated, or professionally cleaned (carpet)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your issues. I'm so sorry your stay at the Ohana House wasn't perfect - we strive to make sure that every guests' needs are taken care of. We wish that you had contacted our caretaker about the internet. We were in the process of switching from DSL (horrible service!) to cable (greatly improved!) and she might have been able to help. I know how important internet is when you're traveling!
Due to your input we replaced the mattress topper on the king bed. Many have commented how comfortable the bed is, so until we heard from you we didn't know we had any issues.
We'll be taking a look at the pots and pans, too.
Again, we're grateful for your feedback, and I'm happy that your stay was "pleasant" and that you had a great time at the national park.
Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHthe603
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little tired and worn”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our visit to the Ohana House but felt the house was a little tired and worn down. On the positive side, the house is very close to Volcano National Park and it is very easy to travel to Volcano Village where the thai food is spectacular! It was also pretty easy to find the Ohana house. The directions were very good, as was the other area info the owners sent us. We appreciated that. On the downside, there was a musty smell as soon as we opened the door. The dishes must have been washed but not dried before being put away, as the bowls and pots had pools of water in them. The sheets on 2 of the beds obviously had not been changed, as there were long hairs on them. The furniture in the main room looks lovely in the photo but it is worn and tired looking in person. Overall, it was an average experience.

The owner did contact us about this review and was surprised at our rating of 'average' and our concerns. I appreciated that and while this may have been an unusual situation for Ohana House, I do stand by my rating and concerns. It is what we experienced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2013
'm sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at the Ohana House. We've been renting the house for five years and truly this is the first less-than-glowing review we've received and we take that quite seriously. Since we live on the mainland, we rely on our guests' comments to guide us in the management of the property. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve.

If there has been one area that our guests consistently rave about it's the cleanliness of the home, so your issue of the "obviously unchanged beds" was a surprise. We spoke to our housekeeper and found out that she used a subcontractor before you arrived (and we won't be using her again!) and that there had been a full house of 8 guests who left a mess after using the house as a "party place" -- one of the hazards of renting a vacation home! But unmade-looking beds are unacceptable and if that is the case of course we can't have it happen again!

As you can imagine, all houses in the rainforest have to deal with moisture, and we take extra steps to ensure that the house is comfortable, dry and completely free of mold. We found out that a circuit was blown to the de-humidifier, so we fixed that and future guests can be assured that the home will be dry and welcoming. Again, it might have taken us a while to discover this, so thanks again for telling us.

This is the first comment we've received that the furniture is looking worn. We appreciate your input and we have just had a service come out to clean the upholstery and rugs. We purchased new bedspreads and pillows as well.

We continuously invest in the home to make it one of the best vacation rentals in Volcano, and in the past year we've also purchased a new water catchment tank, on-demand gas water heater, and new gas heater/fireplace to make our guests more comfortable while being more energy efficient.

Thank you again for the input. We hope you had a wonderful Hawaiian vacation. Mahalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing