We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
36
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome basket hot tub volcano national park amenities climate
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 42 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We pick the Ohia Plantation House due to its proximity to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and the photos we found online. The location is nice, in a quiet residential area. The house is spacious and nicely furnished. The breakfast items that were left for us were exactly what we were looking for, and since the house sleeps 6, with 2 of us there was enough food there to handle our breakfast needs for almost our entire 4 night stay. We enjoyed the lot the house sits on and found lots of plants to photograph. The lanais were comfortable and a great place to sit.

My only complaint with this house has to do with maintenance. There were quite a few burned out lamps in the light fixtures. In a couple of cases, it appeared that someone had tried to remove the burned out lamp only have the glass separate from the base (hate it when that happens). On our last afternoon there, the chemical feeder in the hot tub ran out of chlorine tablets, which left a rather unappetizing film over the top of the water.

Problems aside, I would stay here again. But, I hope the owners will pay more attention to the upkeep details.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kolohe280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent four nights at the Ohia Paniolo Cottage located in quiet residential neighborhood just a couple miles from Volcanoes National Park. It was a very comfortable place to spend the evenings.

The two-bedroom, one-bath home is very inviting and decorated well. We arrived to find breakfast fixings including a generous platter of fruit, Punalu’u Bake Shop sweet rolls, and pancake mix. There is really everything you could ask for in a short stay: a well-stocked kitchen for cooking, indoor and outdoor dining tables, cable TV, a cd player/radio, grill, wireless internet, a hot tub, washer & dryer, ample lighting indoors and out, and a carport. Since the climate is very damp, there are also a couple dehumidifiers inside which help cut down on moisture, though it cannot be completely eliminated.

All of my interactions with the owners were professional and they sent me a receipt for payment promptly by email.

If I get to go back to the island, I will definitely consider staying here again. It is very reasonably priced and the location is ideal for visits to the park being a quick drive or bike ride away. The cottage is also close enough to Hilo and Kea’au to drive to either on a day trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakwasina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our family gathered for a long weekend to explore the Volcano area and the Mauna Kea summit. This location is ideal for both. Our home was completely furnished. It is clear the owners have been thoughtful in providing essentials some vacation rentals overlook such as condiments, paper-goods, useful utensils. There were plenty of linens and toiletries. We appreciated these touches and felt we were cared for.
The home and it's amenities including the hot tub and fireplace are little luxuries that make you feel you are really on a vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okoshi2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Arriving at the Ohia Plantation Cottage is like arriving at your own cottage except someone has been there to prepare it for you. There were fresh-cut flowers, in every room and in the two outdoor sitting areas. There was fresh fruit and taro bread. Not only was there a fresh pineapple but also the slicer to cut it. The week we were there Valcano National Park was closed due to the government shutdown but we had a wonderful stay anyway. Volcano was a great place to stay to explore the Southern places of the Big Island. When my family returns to explore Volcano National Park we will be staying at Ohia Plantation Cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyandTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The home is beautiful and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The house is large and the floor plan is well laid out. It's in a very private setting just minutes from Volcano National Park. Very convenient. The continental breakfast that greeted us our first day there was very welcomed. We also liked the tradition of previous guests leaving condiments and other basic food supplies behind. It came in handy, especially in the first few days. We were here with another couple the third week of Sept 2012.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews