We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“exceeded every expectation”
other travellers have booked this property
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance cedar hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance
cedar hot tub
treehouse from lava boulders below
ascent to treehouse
front door
lanai
dining al fresco
inside - jotul heating stove, ships ladder to trapdoor
indoor table top in window
kitchen
cooktop & sink
sidelight at front door
living room
looking out through speakeasy window
cedar hot tub
bedroom
treehouse in forest
outdoor shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cherubCar...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“exceeded every expectation”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Very well organised with instructions via email on arrival and directions. Backpacks ready to go in a little tent area where you parked. Lovely few minutes walking through the foliage with tikis marking the way. Ladder to climb up was fine, such excitement just being there. Lovely balcony and then inside to a gorgeous little lounge with chairs, cd player, kitchen and toilet. Compost toilet was not a prob at all, no smell!! The outdoor shower was amazing, felt so free being out there, was even great at 3:00 in the morning.
The ladder up the the bedroom was a little steep but go slow and you'll be fine. When your head pops through the door, you just see a beautiful, welcoming and soft bed. Then once up, there are double doors to another balcony that literally make you feel like you are on top of the world! Being in bed with the doors open and little drops of condensation dripping on the roof was completely magical and very very romantic and special.
5-10 minute drive to Volcano National Park which was fantastic and a 20 minute drive to Hilo with great restaurants etc. Get food at the supermarket 10-15 mins or so away and you;re set! No bugs or creepy things to speak of.
The only negative about this place is that we didnt sta longer. Would have loved a day or 2 to just stay in and listen to music and read and relax away from the world.
Fantastic. Owner Gail is so easy to deal with. Please stay if you have the chance - love, love, love, love, love..........
CR

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the special feeling of the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2012
Aloha! You put a big smile on my face. Would love it if you could come stay again, stay long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wweirichm
Reno
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tree house in paradise.........”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Ever want to feel like Tarzan and Jane living in their Jungle Treehouse. Well, this comes mighty close. From having to climb up a ladder style staircase to showering on the back deck with essentially only trees for vanity, to a great second story bed room . This palce is magical and great for couple looking for someplace different and romantic to stay. Did I mention the hot tub built into the outside deck, and the terry cloth robes provided? Actually in a semi residential neighborhood, but you'd never know it hidden in the trees. It's small - so need to like the person you're travleing with. And some degree of agility in getting up and down is helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2012
Aloha, Thank you for reviewing the treehouse. The location is about a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, in a heavily forested neighborhood. The lots are large, and many are kept deliberately natural to preserve the sense of the rainforest. Having restaurants less than a mile away is nice for those who prefer not to have to prepare meals when on vacation. It is intended as a honeymoon venue, and is weighted toward the romance. We have had couples in the 70's stay and love it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbygirl...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another world!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed in the treehouse as part of our honeymoon holiday and we have voted it the best accommodation we stayed in during the trip - and we stayed in a few different places!
You can tell immediately that the treehouse was built with a great deal of thought and attention to detail. The rooms are all perfectly sized and the location is fabulous - we spent a lovely day in the national park hiking through a steaming volcano caldera! The hot tub was my personal highlight - as the weather was quite wet, it was a lovely way to warm up each evening. We really appreciated the new rucksacks that were provided for us to carry up our things to the treehouse, and the headlamps and umbrella - I think this perfectly demonstrates the care and attention given by the owners.

Liked best: The hot tub, design of the treehouse and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2012
Aloha Caroline ~ So very happy you had a great time at the treehouse.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad for your adventurous stay and hope you come back! aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing rooftop retreat, off the grid and away from it all, great for outdoorsy types”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

One of the most amazing places we've ever stayed. Very unique. Things we absolutely loved:
-- Architecture & amenities - blending of form, function & ecology. Absolutely charming place - exposed wood, cedar deck & hot tub, stained glass, all built in absolute harmony with the surrounding forest. Very peaceful and zen-like. We both work stressful jobs and we totally de-stressed. Climbing the steep stairs / ladder up to the deck, and then climbing the ladder up to the bedroom, emphasizes the feeling of tucking yourselves away from it all into this little hideout.
-- Outdoor space - The deck is an amazing space, with the hot tub and grill - we spent lots of time out here. The outdoor shower is fabulous as well - far enough away from neighbors that you have privacy, but great views abound - of tree ferns and the rest of the rainforest.
-- Setting - Absolutely beautiful rainforest. Pictures hardly do it justice.
-- Proximity to the park - great!

Things to be aware of:
-- There is a composting toilet . I found no issues with it (and indeed appreciated the feeling of being off the grid), and indeed it seemed the nicest composting toilet I had ever used, but be aware if you are someone for whom that may be an issue, this may not be for you.
-- This is a rainforest, people. It's going to rain for at least part of your time here. The air will be a little bit damp. You will hear rain on the roof ( we found it exhilarating by the way). Come prepared as the hikes and views will be amazing in spite of (or even because of) the rain. But we ran into some tourists who didn't even bring rain gear... Don't be "those people" buying $10 plastic ponchos for $50 at the national park center.

The only final thing to be aware of - and this is stretching it as a negative in an otherwise fabulous stay - daypacks are provided for you very graciously to carry your belongings up the steep stairs - I would advise you bring your own, for a couple reasons. First, you'll need them for hiking. If you are physically able, it would be nearly a crime to come here and not do some of the longer available hikes. Second, it was raining when we got there, and when we went to bring the provided backpacks in, they smelled quite musty, and seemed not up to the task of transporting our clothes and such into the house in dry condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall setting and de-stress-ability!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2012
Aloha and thank you for all the information you provided for future guests.

We must re-think the backpacks. It is important for people to have them, but when it is very wet, they can quickly become too moist for use, and then musty. We may come up with a hanger type storage below that will keep them dry, as long as they are stored there when not up in the treehouse.

The composting toilet is indeed part of the off grid experience. This is an opportunity to find out what using one is like. We are also open to any questions from our guests. This has been an experiment for us in creating an off-grid living experience. The treehouse is meant as a Green experience. It is built of recycled materials insofar as possible. When you stay, your guest footprint is very faint...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeanell...
Del Mar, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique place in the rain forest.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

It was a fun place to stay but sleeping at nite when it was raining was hard for us. The pitter patter of the rain on the roof of the bedroom was very loud and kept us awake. Everything else was very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor porch and hottub
Liked least: noisy with rain hitting the roof, hard to sleep.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2012
Aloha ~ thank you for taking the time to write a review. If I am remembering correctly, your stay coincided with some very wet weather. For some, the sound of rain on the roof is welcome, and for others. not so much. Happy the stay was otherwise pleasurable for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michi777
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful rainforest stay!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We just returned from our trip a few days ago. We had a wonderful time at this tree house, really felt the stress of everyday life melt away and completely enjoyed the feeling of being in another world. Loved being off the grid and enjoyed the hot tub on rainy evenings. Beautifully kept, very clean and felt like it was our own little place for a few days. Thank you for the awesome time Gail!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was one of the most comfortable beds ever on a vacation!
Liked least: Not enough sun but that was not part of the deal. ;)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2012
So happy you enjoyed the treehouse. much aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenici...
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique Hawaiian rainforest retreat”
Reviewed January 29, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at the treehouse.
We normally camp on vacations, but we were on our honeymoon and decided to splurge a bit on this awesome place.
We stayed there with the intention of exploring Volcano National Park and as many other reviewers have noted, the location is excellent for that. The park entrance is literally only a few minutes drive away. Unfortunately there was some intense sulfur dioxide fumes in the park while we were there due to shifting winds and the volcano venting, but we were still able to explore most parts of the park that we wanted to and luckily there was no vog at the treehouse itself.
The general setting of the treehouse is of course wonderful. It was so nice being able to look out on all the tree ferns and ohi'a. The big lanai was definitely my favorite aspect, where we could eat outside and look out on everything. There's also a smaller upstairs lanai right off the bedroom, which makes it truly wonderful to wake up there. There were a lot of other touches that we enjoyed as well, like the stained glass windows, Hawaiian music CDs, recycled wood used in building the treehouse, etc. The outdoor shower was great- you won't ever get to shower again with that view! (don't worry though, the nearest neighbor is far enough away to provide ample privacy). We also took advantage of the cooking facilities (stove-top, microwave, pans, and utensils are all there), cooking several meals there.
Now on to the few negative things we had to wrack our brains to think up. Getting up to the bedroom was a bit awkward, as we are very tall and it's a narrow space to climb through on the ladder, but it is a treehouse so that's not really an unexpected feature. Still we left pretty much certain that more rotund Americans would not have been able to fit through the hatch to the upper level at all, so if you're 45+ waistline this place is probably not for you. Also the upstairs bedroom design is curious because there are a number of large bamboo cylinders that vent straight to the outside with no screens in them. We were concerned that bugs might come in through them, but the only thing that seemed to come in was the cool, moist rainforest air. Don't think it will be 80 degrees down there, we went in January and I think it got down to 50 at night, luckily the treehouse has a nice gas powered heater. We also arrived to find the power out, but after talking on the phone to Gail and Robert we were able to troubleshoot the problem and get the generator going again... a bit of an annoying start but we had no problem reaching them to get it fixed and my engineer husband had fun playing around with the power system.
Overall, if you're looking for a unique place to stay near Volcano where you can have some peace and quiet and really experience the amazing environment there, this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing, peaceful, natural setting... especially as enjoyed on the great lanai!
Liked least: the narrow ladder up to the bedroom level
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2012
So happy you took the time to write such a thoughtful and complete review. It is true that one size does not fit all. There have been several very tall visitors to the treehouse, and it worked for them, and some fairly large people have stayed there. I do agree that the small size overall dictated by the trees themselves coupled with the fact that it does mean climbing ladders to get up there makes the treehouse an unlikely choice for anyone who has a 45+ waistline. We were lucky that your husband had the curiosity and willingness to tinker with our power system and restore electricity, and had he not been able to do that someone would have come over and got it going. We were about an hour and a half away at the time, and very happy it worked out for you. As for the vents, we have never screened them as bugs are in low supply at that altitude, especially mosquitoes. The unimpeded air circulation is more important overall, hence the open cylinders. Mahalo again. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing