We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay here !!!”
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
1000+ square feet of luxury treehouse living. Sleeps 6. Cozy up or eat by fireplace. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
1000+ square feet of luxury treehouse living. Sleeps 6.
Cozy up or eat by fireplace. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Kitchen area with island sink. Doorway opens to porch and the sky-walk.
Open kitchen/dining/livingroom area with spiral stairs case in the middle.
.Queen with extra trundle bed underneath.
Queen loft at the top of the treehouse looking out at the secluded forest
Outdoor covered lanai 20 feet above the hapu'u ferns and forest floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ariel8158...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay here !!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

A bright open space created by a local artist. The Tree house is lovingly constructed from local timber and wood. There's plenty of room for relaxing, and sleeping. It makes a rainy morning even more enjoyable.
Make sure you bring along some snacks and beverages, its a bit of a trek to the nearest store, and you're not going to want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a real tree house in a rain forest setting.
Liked least: Leaving....
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terwms
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“once-in-a-lifetime experience!”
Reviewed 20 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Skye's treehouse that we never wanted to leave to do anything else! There were so many fabuous features and all the amenities you could possibly want. Skye really goes out of his way to welcome his guests. I wanted to bring the treehouse home with me.

The only drawback was the large number of small flies but we bought a couple of flystrips at the local hardware store to solve the problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being in the trees
Liked least: flies
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
472PaulSm...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Great spot to stay. So unusual.”
Reviewed 14 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

My wife and i spent four nights at the Treehouse.
The host Skye is very friendly and helpful.
The Treehouse itself is the most unusual place we have ever stayed in.
So quiet, in the middle of the rainforest.
The Volcano village though small has a number of good eating places.
We shall certainly try to retutn to the Treehouse again in future and explore more of the Big Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unusual building. The quiet.
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was great.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2011
Thanks Paul
Your Australian love of travel and the unusual, made it especially fun for me to host you folks, I do hope you come back again.
Skye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris W
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An interesting place to stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Although we enjoyed our stay there I would not stay there with kids again. It is a large treehouse, but whenever someone walks around it sways. It is a better place for just a couple. Plus the $25 per night extra per kid is a little steep.

Did not see any stars because it was cloudy our whole stay, but that is Volcano.

Having to pay cash was very inconvienient. Going through airport security now with that much cash is difficult.

Never saw any island fruits. Breakfast fixins were minimal and only adequate for one small breakfast.

The place was clean and unique, so I am glad I stayed there, but I wouldn't stay there again. Although the park was interesting I go to Hawaii to go to the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness
Liked least: The water situation.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citysnob
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Big Island stay!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We could not be more happy with choosing to stay at this tree house. The owner, Skye Peterson, met us upon arrival and gave us a great intro/tour of the treehouse. We really enjoyed meeting Skye, asking questions about the tree house, and getting advice about VNP. Be prepared to wake up early since the tree house is full of uncovered windows. This worked out great for us since we were wanting to get up early anyway and get to VNP. It was so refreshing to wake up in a canopy of ferns with only the sound of birds chirping. There is an awesome catwalk from the tree house out into the tree canopy. At night, it lights up and you feel like you have an entire forest to yourself. Skye supplies eggs and bagels for breakfast. It was really fun to stay in a tree house but have so many amenities. It was great to have a kitchen with a stove and fridge. What a unique play to stay. I highly recommend it! This will be one of those special moments of your trip that you will never forget!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felizvoya...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in December 2010

A wonderful place for those who love to be surrounded by nature. The house is well-equiped and comfortable to stay in. The drawback of such a lovely place is that it is hard to get out and explore the region (and the region is full of amazing things to do, especially if you like hiking). Our children were at the perfect age to be enchanted by staying in a treehouse but I would not recommend this property for anyone with young children or with limited mobility. The attention to detail is apparent and the owner goes out of his way to make sure that you have what you need. The property is off the beaten path but that is part of the charm. During our stay, it was rather chilly at night and we were happy that we had warm clothes with us. One of the highlights of our stay here was waking up at 4 am (jet lag to thank) and lying in bed with a canopy of stars above and then watching dawn break.

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATravele...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How awesome is this?!”
Reviewed 29 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
8
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two sons spent two nights in Skye's treehouse and we wished we'd spent the whole week! It was a real highlight of our trip, and the kids can't stop talking about it. The photos of the treehouse give a very accurate feel of the the place, but can't fully capture the amazing attention to detail and the sheer fun of living in a house in the trees. Aside from simply being the coolest place ever, the house was clean and inviting, the beds were very comfortable, and everything was in working order. Skye was so friendly and helpful, suggesting great restaurants and things to see. Really, really a treat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2011
Thanks Patti,
I enjoyed meeting you guys.
Mahalo,
Skye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$350
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing