We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Tyler and Hayley!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akamai Adventure Tours & Travel

Akamai Adventure Tours & Travel
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Are you planning a trip to Hawaii? If so, explore the Hawaiian Islands with Akamai Adventure Tours & Travel!! When you travel with us you have the chance to experience an adventure of a lifetime. We are a guiding service company that wants to share the most unique place upon our planet and show you hidden Hawaii.We provide the island of Hawaii's most private, exclusive, intimate adventure tours at very affordable rates. We are a family owned business with 32 years of experience in the outdoor recreation industry. Our professional, knowledgeable and friendly staff brings an exuberant amount of passion and energy to every trip they lead. Through extensive interpretation, Akamai Adventure Tours & Travel hope to instill in your hearts the respect, admiration and ALOHA spirit that will connect you to the 'Aina (land) forever. Call us to book your adventure of a lifetime. By making your reservation today, you're already AKAMAI (wise, smart intelligent). Explore the Big Island with us! Hawaii Volcanoes National Park * Lava Viewing * Hawaii's largest fresh water lake (Wai O' Pele) * Black Sand Beaches * Akaka Falls * Rainbow Falls * Queen Liliuokalani Garden * Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Farm * Panaewa Botanical Zoo * Big Island Candies * Volcano Winery * Art Galleries * Hawaiian Vanilla Company and much, much more
Lihue, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED Tyler and Hayley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We came to The Big Island specifically to tour and learn about the Volcanoes. Litte did we know we had without a doubt found the best tour offered! Tyler and Hayley customized our tour to specifically what we wanted.....and it was only us on our tour....which was FABULOUS! Hayley set up and arranged everything for us and was extremely accomodating. She shared great tips and gave us a lot of ideas for our tour. Tyler was our actual guide and WOW! Talk about a wealth of knowledge! He told us stories, taught us about plant life, mountains,the rainforest, and everything you could ever imagine about volcanoes! At the end of the day he took us to get our dinner before dropping us off and even came into our vacation rental and played guitar and sang for us! We all had a great time! If you are looking for the best tour offered on island STOP right here cause you've found it. You can't get a better tour for a better price than what Tyler and Hayley offer!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kauaigirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

What an amazing experience! Tyler, our guide, created one of the most memorable experiences we’ve had on the island. We highly recommend this company. The guided tour was mystical, personal, fun, informative, and awe-inspiring. We are still talking about this tour between ourselves and our friends. Thank you so much Tyler! We look forward to our next trip to the Big Island to talk more story and to explore the wonders of the island!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank carly911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were in Hilo for a day as part of a cruise. We were with a group of 6, four of which were in their 70s. We booked a private tour for our group of 6 with Akamai Tours. Tyler and Hayley Ford were wonderful to work with. They were very responsive with all my questions when we were planning and even though they do a lot of adventure tours were great to let us design our own tour to meet our interests and the abilities of our group. Tyler was there waiting when we got off the ship and was incredibly well informed and educated on everything from the volcanoes to the rain forest plants to the history of the island. He had snacks and bottled water for us and took us to a little local sandwich shop for lunch, very good and affordable! We went to VNP, the lava tube, a short rainforest hike, Akaka Falls, the black sand beach and the orchid farm. We did just what we wanted on our time so we could have chosen anything we wanted. He was also spot on when it came to his timing of everything and we were back to the ship exactly when he said we would be. I cannot recommend they highly enough.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank eriksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

"I'm going to just come out and say it: Akamai Adventures took us on a magical, tropical tour! My husband and I highly recommend this company. We cannot express our gratitude enough for the education we received from the very informative crew. You not only go on an adventure of a lifetime, but you learn all about the history, folklore and current information of the particular area you are touring. The exuberance and sincerity of the guides is enough to bring you back over and over!"
-Jennifer & Ron Tiernay of Mountain View, H

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank you for the wonderful experience, Tyler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

マウナケア山頂で夜の火口付近の写真を取っているTyler Fordさんと偶然知り合い、翌日ハワイ島のガイドをお願いしました。大変知識豊富で、説明もうまく、一日楽しませていただきました。またお願いしたいです。
My husband and I met Tyler when he was taking the night glow of Maunakea, and immediately saw him to be an extremely knowlegeable and skillful nature guide. We immediately asked him to guide us around on the following day, and had a wonderful, enjoyable, and most educational experience. We are planning to come back in a several months' time with our best friends in order to appreciate the rich nature of Hawaii under his instructions and supervision. Thank you very much, again, Tyler, for your good work.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank yukikonoguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akamai Adventure Tours & Travel also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akamai Adventure Tours & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing