We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Awesome free breakfast!”
Review of Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Inn
Ranked #8 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My first thought walking upstairs to check-in at the office was how beautiful the building was! And so clean! There were big windows right around the whole floor to see the greenery outside.

The cottage we rented was across the highway, about a 2 minute drive.
It was beautiful and more secluded than being at the main office house.
The room included fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and small cooking skillet. We had big windows looking into the lush forest outside. SO BEAUTIFUL! (see pics)

Breakfast in the morning was lovely and delicious. The hostess was soooo friendly, and made us feel very welcomed.

TIP: When talking to the girl at the front desk, she said they offer low, direct rates but you have to call the office 808-967-7773 instead of booking online. I am so glad we found this little gem! We will definitely go again :)

Room Tip: Secluded rooms at 2nd property are a bit more expensive, but TOTALLY worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank IppyFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your fabulous review! We were glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

After an AirBnB fiasco we were left to find accommodations for the same night. Volcano Inn was our savior...AND it was great! Breakfast provided, clean and spacious rooms, and the grounds are adorable! The staff was so helpful and nice when telling us about area and things to do (national park down the street and only 40 minutes from Pahoa where we did lava hiking tour). I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FlowersontheTable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you found us.

We tend to get a lot of guests in your same situation - AirBnB problems tend to occur a lot around the area; whether they failed to clean it, forgot to leave the key code, or just a total dump unlike the pictures provided. We are glad you found us and enjoyed your stay! Mahalo, and we look forward to hosting you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We stayed in an offsite corner room which was neat, clean, and functional. The rates are very low for the Big Island, partly due to the fact that they only accept cash and the price of your entire stay must be paid in order to secure a reservation.

Our room was the Nene, which shares a building with one other room. The parking area is tight and could be enlarged a bit. The bed could stand a new mattress.

The breakfast which is described in other reviews (papaya boats and banana bread is very good, but they could offer a little variety for those who are staying more than a day or two. The breakfast area is again very clean and welcoming, with a fire going each morning while we were there.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Mahalo for your input! We look forward to hosting you again.

Volcano Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Stayed here for three nights in the corner window room. Very economical. Excellent location to explore Volcanoes NP and Hilo/Pahoa area. Loved the healthy breakfast.

They also referred to an excellent lava viewing hike tour and got a discount from the usual rate.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JagathishP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

It was great hosting you! Glad we were able to refer you to the lava hiking tour! See you again next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Volcano Inn is a great place to stay if you are exploring the national park and/or the Puna district. Part of what keeps us coming back is the delicious papaya boat breakfast (half a papaya filled with yogurt, pineappl, banana and shaved almonds). Also delicious banana bread. Mmmmmm.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Mahalo John for your positive feedback, we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Would definitely stay here again if looking for simple clean friendly accommodations in beautiful rainforest setting just off highway. Very quiet. Staff very friendly. They do need to add some protein to their breakfast. We were still hungry with just banana bread and fruit. Simple bed and breakfast. I would not plan to spend much time in your room as our room was very warm during the day with no fan. The hot tub was very nice in the garden

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank daffofils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for taking your time to review Volcano Inn, we look forward to hosting you again!

As for the breakfast, we did try doing made-to-order breakfasts, where we used to offer omlettes, sausage, bacon, waffles and all kinds of stuff - and the guest would pay for whatever they wanted to eat.

After years of feedback, we found that majority of the guests would prefer a simple FREE breakfast in opposed to a NOT-FREE fancy restaurant breakfast, made to order. Great suggestion though, I will see if we can incorporate more protein into our free breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Volcano Inn is located close to the Volcano National Park which is probably the most appealing thing about this inn. Our room came with all sorts of instructions - no shoes, run the dehumidifier, don't run the fan too long, do your dishes, almost everything had an advisory. We did like the free wifi and appreciated the spaciousness of our room.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Aloha Melissa,

Thank you for your honest review! We do offer the BEST rates in the area, and we try to keep those rates low by asking for our guests help to keep things running correctly. I don't recall making a "don't run the fan too long" sign, that one sounds a little inaccurate. Nonetheless - the signs may seem a little overwhelming, I will look into making them a little more guest friendly :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.3 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
1.4 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.8 km away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
1.5 km away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#6 of 32 in Volcano
59 reviews
1 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $223 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing