We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
241
147
40
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
147
40
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roombanana breadyogurthot tubpapaya boatsmain buildingnational parkthe breakfast areano shoesthai food truckcoffee makerthe big islandbig windowslarge roomfresh papayasmall refrigeratorbeautiful rainforest
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 457 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

After an AirBnB fiasco we were left to find accommodations for the same night. Volcano Inn was our savior...AND it was great! Breakfast provided, clean and spacious rooms, and the grounds are adorable! The staff was so helpful and nice when telling us about area and things to do (national park down the street and only 40 minutes from Pahoa where we did lava hiking tour). I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FlowersontheTable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you found us.

We tend to get a lot of guests in your same situation - AirBnB problems tend to occur a lot around the area; whether they failed to clean it, forgot to leave the key code, or just a total dump unlike the pictures provided. We are glad you found us and enjoyed your stay! Mahalo, and we look forward to hosting you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

We stayed in an offsite corner room which was neat, clean, and functional. The rates are very low for the Big Island, partly due to the fact that they only accept cash and the price of your entire stay must be paid in order to secure a reservation.

Our room was the Nene, which shares a building with one other room. The parking area is tight and could be enlarged a bit. The bed could stand a new mattress.

The breakfast which is described in other reviews (papaya boats and banana bread is very good, but they could offer a little variety for those who are staying more than a day or two. The breakfast area is again very clean and welcoming, with a fire going each morning while we were there.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Mahalo for your input! We look forward to hosting you again.

Volcano Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Stayed here for three nights in the corner window room. Very economical. Excellent location to explore Volcanoes NP and Hilo/Pahoa area. Loved the healthy breakfast.

They also referred to an excellent lava viewing hike tour and got a discount from the usual rate.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JagathishP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

It was great hosting you! Glad we were able to refer you to the lava hiking tour! See you again next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017

Volcano Inn is a great place to stay if you are exploring the national park and/or the Puna district. Part of what keeps us coming back is the delicious papaya boat breakfast (half a papaya filled with yogurt, pineappl, banana and shaved almonds). Also delicious banana bread. Mmmmmm.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Mahalo John for your positive feedback, we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

Would definitely stay here again if looking for simple clean friendly accommodations in beautiful rainforest setting just off highway. Very quiet. Staff very friendly. They do need to add some protein to their breakfast. We were still hungry with just banana bread and fruit. Simple bed and breakfast. I would not plan to spend much time in your room as our room was very warm during the day with no fan. The hot tub was very nice in the garden

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank daffofils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for taking your time to review Volcano Inn, we look forward to hosting you again!

As for the breakfast, we did try doing made-to-order breakfasts, where we used to offer omlettes, sausage, bacon, waffles and all kinds of stuff - and the guest would pay for whatever they wanted to eat.

After years of feedback, we found that majority of the guests would prefer a simple FREE breakfast in opposed to a NOT-FREE fancy restaurant breakfast, made to order. Great suggestion though, I will see if we can incorporate more protein into our free breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews