We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over salty over saucy”

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 16, 2018

We travel to Waikoloa 2 or 3 times a year. We usually eat dinner at one of the ocean front places, but as it was raining decided to try Roy’s. We had previously eaten at their Waikiki restaurant and enjoyed it.

I ordered the potato and garlic soup. After one sip I had to return it (something I rarely do). It was so salty;really overdone. I then just shared my husbands appie, chicken spring rolls which were just so so. The appetizer butter fish was a good size and well cooked. Butter fish Tends to be rich and flavourful. The sauce was, again overdone , and more than necessary. My husband ordered the duck. Same problem too much sauce in the rice and the duck.

The service was excellent. The waitress displayed just the right level of attentiveness. She was very apologetic about the soup and took it off the bill. However in a Restaurant of this caliber one would expect an offer of compensation, maybe a free dessert. But other than the waitress apology, there was nothing.

Very unlikely we will return. On a posiyptuve note, the lychee martini was excellent!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 146 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2018

The food at Roy's is very tasty and the presentation is really quite stunning. It is a bit pricey so the best option is usually to got with their price fix "Aloha" special that is available 5-6P daily. It includes a salad, entrée with sides and desert. We went for my wife's birthday and they added a candle to her desert and comped it even though it was part of the Aloha special. While the prices keep us from going too often, when we want a fancy meal in the Waikoloa area, Roy's is our first choice.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank stillerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Always wonderful food from the butterfish to short ribs to appetizers. Sometimes we just come sit at the bar and eat there. Arnie, the manager, is always attentive--top notch guy.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Corrine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Excellent food. Fish was superbly cooked. Had a glitch with my order and it was addressed and resolved very well. The service was excellent and efficient although they were extremely busy, the service was attentive but unobtrusive. Would definitely merit a return visit

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Roy's is fantastic. Always great service and great food. We have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. Always worth a visit when you are in Waikoloa. The prix fixe menu is highly recommended. Great food and great value for what you get.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank kurts589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing