We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Bar makes the show Mo' Bettah!”

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay and delight in classic Polynesian entertainment featuring live music, imu ceremony (the unveiling of our main course from our underground oven), traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of contemporary and Hawaiian fare with a full open bar. Held every Saturday and Wednesday. The festivities begin at 5pm.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
607 reviews
312 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Open Bar makes the show Mo' Bettah!”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Luau at the Marriott is a great show and ended up being one of my girlfriend and I's "Top 3" while on the Big Island! The show itself is quite good (keeping in mind how flashy/showy and not traditional Luaus have become in Hawaii, thanks to Hollywood and American promotion). Nonetheless, the hula dancers were good; the singing and instrumentals were well done; and the Samoan Fire Dancer was the highlight of the show!

It was fun to watch the kaluha pig pulled out of the imu before dinner. The food was great: purple sweet potatoes, pig, chicken, fish and a number of salads. There was even a small sampling of traditional Hawaiian foods (poi, and lomilomi). The open bar was great - like most places in the USA, the bartenders were free-pouring.

Tip: Splurge and pay the few extra dollars to get the upgraded front row seats! You get your own appetizer platter, a lei necklace and the best seats in the house (which are very nice to have, as the stage is not that high above the ground). I imagine more than a few people seated behind us had trouble seeing the show...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    59
    38
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
224 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“chaotic to get tickets and get into, but worth the experience”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at the Marriott and made our reservations and went to pick up/pay for tickets at 4:30 as requested. Doors open at 5pm to the luau grounds. We wish we knew there is an "enterance" where they take your photo and give you a shell lei, we went around past the pool and were admitted but didn't get the keepsakes to take home. We noticed this on Sat when we saw the next luau starting. The open bar was okay...seemed like really cheap booze and should have stayed open a little bit later. Food was good, don't waste space on your plate with the salad, go for the luau pork all the way. We were not given knives at all which made it difficult to eat the meats. The show was great, but we were in the back so we didn't get the best view. I don't know that I would spend the extra money for the VIP seats either, I just think I'd advise you to get there to get tix and run to luau grounds as quick as you can to get inline for good seats.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ecurranrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The luau and the food were wonderful. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset during dinner and the entertainment was amazing!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank littlebearhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must do for any Hawaiian trip”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I believe this is the Luau at the Hilton. We enjoyed the show. The food was poor but it's really about the show and everyone should do this one tourist event.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler222Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A full luau exprience at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Watching them unearth the Kalua Pig was the highlight and set the tone for an authentic feeling luau. The food was tasty, the drinks OK and the service acceptable for such a large event. The show was also very good but not so long the kids lost interest.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing