We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We loved our condo and the resort here at Halii Kai on the Big Island. I had actually won my stay thru Castle Resorts. We had a 2 bedroom condo that was absolutely fabulous. We didn't want to leave. My friend told her husband she wasn't coming home! He said, "you're leaving me for Hawaii"? LOL! Nice pool by the water, great, comfortable chairs around the pool. Would not hesitate to go back or to send my clients there. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nesann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed in 13H. Beautifully decorated, well equipped kitchen, some beach items in the closet, terrific oceanfront view. Because there are still unsold units in the complex, you can find a map and floorplans at www.haliikai.com. Buildings 1-12 face the golf course, with bldg 1 being at the entrance gate and bldg 12 being closest to the pool and ocean. 13, 14 and 15 are oceanfront, although you look out over lava and because you're perched up a little, you won't see breaking waves. The other buildings face the interior but the buildings are well spaced so you won't have your neighbor looking in on you from 10 feet away. It’s 6/10 of a mile from the gate to the pool. You will hear people walking around upstairs, even if they're quiet. We found the Waikoloa area to be pretty windy. The Island Gourmet grocery store is just a gussied up ABC souvenir store with groceries, deli, meat and produce sections, but expensive. The Foodland Farms, a small version of the Foodland chain in Mauna Lani, a couple miles north, was better, as were the grocery stores in Kona and Waimea. Because of the pool design, you can only swim mini-laps and only if no one else is swimming. The pool/exercise room/restaurant area was open from 6:30 AM to 8 PM. There is a path along the ocean to the Hilton and Anaehoomalu beach. Overall it was a terrific place to stay and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-12 face the golf course - buildings 13, 14 and 15 are oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GiantOilMaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We weren't quite sure what to expect from the condo, but we were greeted with great customer service, amazing condo and superb views. Morning coffee on the deck overlooking the golf course and ocean in the background was beyond relaxing. The swaying palm trees capped it off! The pool is a wonderful area place, perfect for the little ones and some relaxing time in the water. The bar area is gorgeous. The view, remarkable.

We will definitely go back again! We really enjoyed the whole area. Close to beaches, restaurants, stores. Very affordable for what you get!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dk0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Halii Kai unit 12B and it was absolutely amazing! We rented through Waikola Vacation Rentals and they were fantastic. Very helpful and responsive to our needs. The first night of our trip we stayed at the Hilton next door to Halii Kai. What a mistake! The room had a great view, but that hotel has seen better days. When we got to Halii Kai my wife and I both immediately relaxed and knew we were in for a great week stay.

Our unit was on the ground floor of building 12 and had a very nice ocean view looking across the golf course. Building 12 is located right next to the Ocean Club so was extremely convenient. If you stay further away than say building 9, you're in for a longer walk to the club.

12B is decorated very nicely. We brought our 1 year-old, so had to do some quick baby-proofing to make sure the finer ground level decorations were safely put away in the closets. But overall the unit is amazing. Great furnishings, huge master suite, gorgeous kitchen. Only thing more we could have asked for is a BBQ on the lanai like some of the other units have. But there is a publicly available BBQ at the ocean club, so not a big deal.

The Ocean club is outstanding. The pool is perfect for kids and adults. The workout facility isn't huge, but is a stunning setting. We loved the restaurant too. We thought the food was great and in fact ate most of our meals there.

We can't wait to go back. My wife is already looking to find dates that work this summer.

Overall, we loved Halii Kai!

Room Tip: Stay as close to the Ocean Club as possible. The resort stretches away from the ocean. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sea-Cab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our 4th time at Hali'i Kai. The complex is beautiful, nicely manicured and very quiet.
The pool area is the best part. Overlooking the ocean, this is one of the few resorts on the Kohala Coast that provide such views.

In terms of the unit, we have rented from the same owner the last three times and he has 2 very nice, well maintained units that are both great. My Brother and his family also stayed at Hali'i Kai, albeit in a different unit. It was certainly not as nice and was dirty, musty smelling and not well maintained. I can tell you which unit, but... Do your homework before choosing a specific unit, after all, it will be your home while on vacation. Best bet is on VRBO.

We did notice a couple of changes this visit. The food down by the pool is not very good and like everything else, the prices have jumped up. We were disappointed by this, as we have enjoyed the food in the past. Also, we noticed more roaches around the resort.

Great resort, just find a great unit to stay and you will be able to relax and enjoy your Hawaiian vacation.

Room Tip: Do your homework, read reviews and talk with the owner/manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed one week in unit 11E which we booked through Travelocity. From day one, our experience at the Castle Hali'i Kai resort was exceptional. Our flight was delayed and we didn't arrive at the resort until almost 1 am, but we were prepared with gate codes and door codes and went straight to our unit. The 3 bedroom condo was spacious, modern, comfortable, and clean.

We were very pleased with the location of the unit as well. We upgraded to an "ocean view" unit which also put us closer to the pool. Our first floor lanai looked out over the green lawn, lava flow, golf course facing the Hilton, with ocean and palm trees in the distance.

We spent our first day exploring the resort and relaxing at the pool. We were traveling with two kids (8 and 11) and my parents. The pool was amazing and we really enjoyed the restaurant and bar at the pool as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view of the ocean from the pool was fabulous and we could see whales jumping in the distance.

From the resort we drove to Anaehoomalu Bay on the first afternoon. We really enjoyed snorkeling but the water was pretty chilly. We walked back to the resort with the kids from A Bay which took us about 1 hour and 20 minutes. It is a rough hike in some places so be prepared to wear good shoes. It was nice to wander along the trail through the Marriott and Hilton resorts on the way back.

We really enjoyed the restaurants and shopping in the Waikoloa Resort. Althought pricy, it was very convenient to have lots of options close by. We also rented mopeds one day as the resort area is very pedestrian, bicycle, and moped friendly.

Here is the rest of our itinerary:
DAY 1: Waikoloa, Anaehoomalu Bay
DAY 2: Kailua (parasailing, submarine, shopping)
DAY 3: North Kohala coast, Polulu Valley, Waimea, Marriott Luau
DAY 4: Punalu'u Beach, Volcanoes Nat'l Park, night in Hilo
DAY 5: Helicopter over volcano, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Waipio Valley
DAY 6: Waikoloa

Overall, A++++

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobjenzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Checked in today, checking out already. We planned a great 7 day vacation to celebrate my birthday. Living on Kauai, we take many inter island vacations every year. We have stayed in hotels, condos, private homes and timeshares. In all honesty, this was the worst experience we had. Ive wrotten a few other reviews of Hawaii properties, all glowing. This has never happened to us before. We had read the reviews on TripAdvisor, but what we didn't realize was that Castles inventory was so sub par. We checked in: no BBQ grill as promised on the phone. The answer from Elena at the front desk was "broken, sorry". We get to our condo: huge dead roach right at our doorstep (we have lived in Hawaii for over 20 years and we know there are lots of bugs here, but when checking into a vacation condo, you shouldn't be greeted by one on your entryway). Next, filthy carpets, the entire shower door was covered in soap scum, and the condo smelled like strong mold. We looked in the cabinets, pans should have been thrown away a year ago. Cheap aluminum, all the non-stick coating peeling off, and burnt bottoms. Ice maker was filthy and had huge chunks of white film. We asked to be moved, the answer from the manager Cory Akuhara (sp?) was "you can pay ANOTHER $65 a night to be upgraded". Very bad attitude, totally lacking in Aloha, and horrible service. Mr. Akuhara needs to go to hospitality training. Rude and unhelpful. We have read such glowing reviews of the VRBO units, I wanted to warn people against Castle. Most disappointing was that our entire first day of vacation was spent dealing with this, and trying to find another place to stay in the midst of busy season. But, we were totally unwilling to spend even one night in that condo.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Liane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahalekai, General Manager at Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences; however a number of key points are omitted regarding our efforts to respond to the guests concerns/desires.

A two (2) bedroom garden view unit was reserved. Requests were made of us to block a unit close to the ocean, close to our private Ocean Club and with a barbeque. Our front office staff exhausted all avenues to fulfill these requests. We were successful in fufilling two (2) of the three (3). We informed the guests of our inability to satisfy the third and last request, that of a barbeque. They were not happy. We did present them with alternate units within their garden view category, with barbeques directly across from their lanais. These units were located in another section of the property. This they declined.

It was at this point that the unit, and everything associated with it became unacceptable. We continued our efforts to work with the guests, offering to purchase new kitchen equipment to upgrading them to a larger (3 bedroom) ocean view unit for a nominal upgrade fee. This they declined as well. Finally, at the end of the day, they informed us of their decision to check out. As guest service and satisfaction has and is our goal, we canceled their reservation with no charges.

It saddens us that we did not succeed in our efforts to please these guests. As evidenced by our positive guest feedback and scores, this situation is an extraordinary one.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
2.3 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
10.6 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
9.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
3.6 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.6 km away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Address: 69-1029 Nawahine Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: $406 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is a recently developed 29-acre oceanfront resort, stretched along Waikoloa's Beach Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. Spacious two- and three-bedroom villas and townhomes are luxuriously furnished. Amenities include a cascading pool, private restaurant, fitness cabana, walking trails, and a basketball/tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing