We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Bay Club was a nice place to call "home" during my family vacation. We had a two bedroom unit with nice size bedrooms and room in the living room on the convertible couch, had we needed it.

The kitchens had what you needed as far as dishes, cups, pan for basic meals, condiments and dishwashing soap. A washer/dryer also existed in the unit which was useful. We really made good use of the lanai for our breakfasts as it overlooked the beautiful greens.

The staff was friendly and knowledgable and helpful as we were to leave the day after the Tsunami hit. Fortunately, we didn't have to evacuate. The location is extremely central to dining out and shopping for food or souvenirs.

The pool area is small but was sufficient. One evening they had a nice barbecue by the pool with some entertainment.

I would definitely recommend The Bay Club over King's Land (as we took a tour of it) because it is more spacious. I liked the layout better. With the two separate bedrooms be apart, you felt like you had your own "wing" in the unit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaufun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We are Hilton Tim Share owners and found this to be one of the largest one bedroom timeshares we visited. The wrap around balcony had a lounge and table with 4 chairs and plenty of room to spare. The living room is especially large and the kitchen more than adequate in size compared to others we've seen that were tight. The double sink in the master bathroom was nice and the extra 1/2 bath an unexpected plus. The main pool is very nice and the water features elsewhere very well done. The room was very well serviced before we arrived and the mid-stay room service was well done. We used the fitness center and the equipment was top notch. Easy walk to the Hilton Village and all it offers. About 20 minutes from the Kona airport. Would stay her again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoeP-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Vacationers looking to enjoy the stylish Waikoloa lifestyle without all the bells and whistles – let’s make that all the uliuli rattles and ipu hokiokio gourd nose flutes – might consider making The Bay Club at Waikoloa their temporary roost. Being perhaps the most basic among Hilton Grand Vacation’s Waikoloa properties also makes the 15-acre Bay Club very quiet. This condo property isn’t beachfront like the Hilton and Waikoloa Beach Marriott (Anaeho’omalu Beach is just a few minutes away via foot or a free shuttle), and the pool slide is so short even the front desk staff says “don’t blink or you’ll miss it.” But going with a vacation residence instead of a full-service, candy-coated hotel can save some bucks – even more if food comes out of the condo’s full kitchen instead of a restaurant with that infamous Hawaiian pricing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank criticaltravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at the Bay Club the week of July 23rd in room 1015. The room was very well furnished,and newly renovated.I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was,and how much space it had.We enjoyed the nearby shopping and dining at the Queens'Market Place.Back in the corner there was a food court which was great for those on a budget.We also enjoyed Macaroni Grill,as well as the local restaurants.Our reservation was through Global discoveries ,but the Hilton manages the property.The service was excellent,complete with Entertainment by the pool.Thanks to all who may our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindaPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family recently enjoyed a 1-week stay at The Bay Club in Hilton's Waikoloa Beach Resort. We were traveling with another family who are Hilton timeshare owners, and between our 2 families we rented three 2-bedroom condos. We stayed in Building 10, which has been renovated recently. The furnishings and decor are attractive and comfortable, but what really impressed me was the overall spaciousness of the unit, both inside and out. The master bedroom and bathroom are oversized, bedroom # 2 was roomy as well, and the common areas featured a dining room seating 6, a modest but well equipped kitchen, and a living room. A very small & loud (but handy) washer/dryer set are provided in a closet area off the kitchen. Outside, the patio wrapped around the unit - you could easily host a party for 20+ people out there. Each bedroom had a flat screen TV, and a somewhat larger flatscreen TV + DVD player were in the living room. There was an abundance of closets and dresser storage provided, including a hall closet where all of our suitcases could be stowed and out of the way, very nice to be able to really "move in" for the week. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable, I slept like a baby! Room darkening curtain ensure you could sleep as late as you like. The patio featured a lovely view of the golf course and mountains, which made for a nice place to enjoy the fresh air, relax, and enjoy the view.

There are 3 pools available to Bay Club residents, all of which are fairly small to modest in size, but they were never overcrowded and always refreshing. We found the Bay Club Cafe at the far (quiet) end of the complex to offer far friendlier and efficient service than the bar that is located by the check-in area. We think they may have been training a new bartender when we were there, but at one point it took my husband 40 minutes just to get a soda!

With that exception, the Bay Club staff were all extremely friendly and service was good. Be aware that you'll need 3 things to make purchases in/around the hotel: your room key, plus the white paper ID card you receive at check-in, plus an ID such as your driver's license. We found this to be slightly restrictive (and annoying the first time we had to trot back to our unit to get the required "identification" in order to buy the afforementioned 40-minute wait soda...)

Weather on the island during our stay was incredibly consistent: Each day was sunny and breezy, with high temps in the mid 80s and lows in the mid 70s, and no humidity. Very comfortable!

Being a condo, we found it convenient to take advantage of the kitchen so we stocked up on foods for breakfasts, lunches, and snacks/drinks. We shopped at the supermarket in Waikoloa Village (about a 15 minute drive away). but later found out there's a new supermarket right in the Hilton resort grounds, and from what we hear their prices/selection are pretty comparable. Be aware that prices (for most everything) tend to be expensive in Hawaii. Most things are marginally higher, but some items were surprisingly steep (like a loaf of bread for $8 - $10, half-gallon of milk for $5, carton of eggs for $3 etc.) TIP: Be sure to make a grocery list before you shop to ensure you stay on track and don't have to waste valuable vacation time heading back to the store for more supplies.

We had a rental car which came in handy during our visit, as we opted to explore the island and enjoy a number of activities outside of the resort. That said, the resort does offer a complimentary shuttle service which stops at a number of places throughout the Hilton resort complex.

There were many dining options available; we particularly enjoyed Roy's for a special night out, and Merriman's Market Cafe was a nice find for casual dining in an outdoor bistro setting. If you're looking for fun activities while on the island, I would highly recommend Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours (they have a heliport 5 minutes from the resort), and horseback riding at the Parker Ranch was outstanding. I plan to post separate TripAdvisor reviews for each of these in the coming days.

My only constructive criticism for the resort management is that they should offer a better grade of paper products in the condos (paper towels, tissues, TP). These products were definitely on the cheap side, and did not fit in with the generally upscale nature of the overall Bay Club condo experience.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Bay Club and would certainly recommend it as a vacation destination when traveling to the Big Island of Hawaii. Aloha!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors have much larger patios than the 1st floor units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv2Travel_19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here with our family of 5, including 2 teenaged sons and my 78 year old father. We were in the largest 2 bedroom villa, and it is a very nice size. Both bathrooms attached to the bedrooms were large (!) with a shower and a separate jacuzzi tub. There was also a half bath which made getting out the door in the morning much faster.
These units were just remodelled and are absolutely lovely. Very quiet. Wonderful decore. Granite counters, etc. Large sliding doors in each room let you turn off the air and open up the unit to the outside. Really nice, big lanais. Pools are standard resort pools. Also has a free workout room and there was a free internet center (complete with printer) in the "activity center" near one of the pools.
Linens were all of a very nice quality. Ample pool/beach towels were provided.
These are in the Waikoloa resort area (not Waikoloa Village proper) along with a number of other resorts and hotels. There are 2 malls in the resort area, which provide plenty of shops and restaurants, though the restaurants tend to be expensive ($25-30+ for an entree) which makes it more nice-couple-dining rather than feeding-the-teenagers dining. We made almost all of our dinners in and found the condo kitchen to work fine for this.

The Bay Club runs a free shuttle on the half hours that goes around the entire resort area, most notably dropping you off near the beach "A-Bay" and also at both shopping plazas/malls. A-Bay is a lovely, calm, beach. It would be out of this world for toddlers and small children. My teenagers were looking for bigger waves and more excitement, so we never actually swam there but did walk the beach in the evenings (from the Marriot to the Hilton is a lovely walk).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank DrDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My husband, son, his friend and I just returned from a one-week vacation at The Bay Club. We stayed in unit 216. It was a two-bedroom/two-bathroom unit with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, dining room and living room. We stayed here through an RCI exchange. We couldn't have been more pleased! The unit (and all the units) have been completely remodeled. The furnishings are modern and up to date. Our unit was on the ground floor overlooking the 13th hole of the golf course. The patio had two lounge chairs with a small table and then a table with four chairs. This is definitely a family resort. The pools at The Bay Club are very nice but small. When you stay at The Bay Club, you are allowed to use the pools at the HGVC which is right next door. There was a deal when we were just there that allowed you to pay $150 that allowed you to use of all the pools at the Hilton Hotel. This price was for up to four people. Thanks for great accommodations!

Room Tip: Request a unit NOT facing the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GinnyAlamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
2.1 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.8 km away
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.2 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#2 of 13 in Waikoloa
826 reviews
4.0 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
40.2 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-450 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort is a spectacular hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii and is designed to be an ideal Hawaiian haven in the heart of Waikoloa. Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Bay Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hawaii visitors staying at the Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious one- and two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer and dryer and private lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hilton Hotels Direct and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Bay Club Waikoloa Beach Resort
The Bay Club At Waikoloa Beach Resort Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing