We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Opakapaka Grill and Bar
Ranked #30 of 55 Restaurants in Hanalei
Description: Opakapaka Grill and Bar, located on the picturesque North Shore of Kaua’i, gives you breathtaking oceanfront views with amazing dining and cocktail offerings. We are open daily for lunch, happy hour and dinner, and serve only the freshest seafood, steaks, and farm-to-table produce you can find. We pride ourselves on sourcing local products that support the local community – from the fishermen and ranchers who provide our proteins, to farmers who give us amazing fresh fruit and vegetables and artisans whose work adorns our restaurant. You can find us on the grounds of the Hanalei Colony Resort.
Restaurant details
Description: Opakapaka Grill and Bar, located on the picturesque North Shore of Kaua’i, gives you breathtaking oceanfront views with amazing dining and cocktail offerings. We are open daily for lunch, happy hour and dinner, and serve only the freshest seafood, steaks, and farm-to-table produce you can find. We pride ourselves on sourcing local products that support the local community – from the fishermen and ranchers who provide our proteins, to farmers who give us amazing fresh fruit and vegetables and artisans whose work adorns our restaurant. You can find us on the grounds of the Hanalei Colony Resort.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Had lunch here with a open table reservation. This is part of the Hanalei colony resort. It is a bit of a drive about 5 miles from the Hanalei main town area. The prices were what one would expect for Hawaii. I had the fish and chips. The fish was excellent. 4 large pieces. I ate half and brought the rest back to our condo for a later “snack” or late dinner. The service was outstanding from Ivy.

Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Public Relations Manager at Opakapaka Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Mahalo for choosing to dine with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope we get to see you again! A hui ho (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We stopped here in Hanalei for a small lunch. We had the seafood chowder and we loved it. The chowder was obviously from scratch. Not too thick with a tasty broth and a lot of fish. The sourdough bread that came with it was excellent and I'm really picky about my sourdough! Heard that this restaurant has just reopened under new management and we wouldn't hesitate to come back and try other dishes.

Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Public Relations Manager at Opakapaka Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Aloha Susan,

Mahalo for choosing to dine with us. We appreciate your taking time to give us some feedback. Everyone loves the seafood chowder, myself included. I will pass on your comments to the chef and hopefully we see you again! A hui ho (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Opakapaka Grill and Bar next to Hanalei Colony Resort is the best restaurant in that location in the past 30 years. I don't mean to make this sound like faint praise because it really is a fine place to dine. They have a varied menu for lunch and dinner. The staff are fun to talk to. I think they really enjoy working there and they should be proud of what they serve.
Interestingly, the bar does more than serve adequately mixed drinks. They make them more attractive with fruit slices, flowers, and leaves.
Just recently they started serving food outside next to the seawall. If the weather permits, definitely get a seat out there. View from inside are great. Outside is breathtaking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CalifTravelerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Public Relations Manager at Opakapaka Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Mahalo for dining with us! We appreciate the feedback and hope to be able to serve you again soon! A hui ho (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Burgers were really good. Poke bowl and and chowder were really good. Salads were large. Jason was a really friendly waiter.

Thank Wrobak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Public Relations Manager at Opakapaka Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Mahalo for dining with us! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Had dinner at opakapaka at a night when the fish by same name was the “catch of the day”.
We ordered the grilled and tempura fried versions with appetizers and were very happy with our choices
and the great service of the bar for drinks, and the table service for our meal.
In terms of ambience, atmosphere, being the only truly oceanfront restaurant in the Princeville / Hanalei area,
one could expect more. The dining area has the feeling of a dining hall in a hostel, not prime location on the beach.
Completely enclosed, the beachfront feeling is almost “killed”.

Thank Hongkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Public Relations Manager at Opakapaka Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us. We appreciate your feedback which helps us to learn and grow. Being an oceanfront restaurant, we are subject to and dictated by the weather, surf and tradewinds. We encourage our guests to venture out with their drinks to experience the beachfront ambience. We try to accommodate all of our guests and while some like the strong oceanfront breeze, others do not. We believe our ambience and decor carries an "historic plantation style" feel which most of our guests love and appreciate. We are thrilled that you were happy with the food and service. If you have any further questions or comments, please contact me directly at admin@ogbkauai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opakapaka Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Opakapaka Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing