We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you”

Review of Hale Ka Mahina

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen K
Crescent City, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Pros: Great location within walking distance of Hanalei's shops, restaurants and beach. Spacious two bedroom apartment with great views of mountains. Plenty of linens, towels etc.

Cons: Only has an L-shaped couch, no other chairs in the living room. They need dining chairs, not just rustic stools for the small dining table.
We were very aware that there were resident tenants with a toddler downstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Hanalei
Liked least: Downstairs tenants cooking early in the morning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Aloha Maureen, Thank you for the comments. We appreciate all feedback. We do disclose that there is a long term tenant downstairs with a family-most guests say this is okay-and the tenant is very friendly and also has a great fish taco truck near the Hanalei Pier-a good contact to know :)
We hope that you will return again someday-Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneedavi...
Davis, California
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring the North Shore”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our second visit to Hanalei and we needed a base for going to the beach and for hiking trips. The apartment is very spacious and well-equipped for cooking, and the location with walking distance to Hanalei center, beach and farmer's market couldn't be better. The lanais were really nice for sitting outside and the location of the bedrooms and attached bathrooms on either end of the apartment, gave good privacy for two couples. There is a washing machine and dryer on the premises, which was nice for washing our sweaty clothes. Also, the small gas BBQ on the back lanai was great for outdoor cooking so as not to heat up the house. The ceiling fans were a fine substitute for A/C and kept us cool enough to sleep and enjoy the indoor living space.

Some things that could use improvement, which I list in case the owners are interested in improving them, but that didn't detract terribly from our enjoyment, were that the internet was not reliable with 4 people connecting (if you need to work online while on vacation, it could be a deal-breaker--NaPali Prop suggested I deal directly with the cable company to fix it, which is not what I like to do on my vacation), and there is no recycling pick-up, which was disappointing, as we had stopped at Costco on our way from the airport and had generated a lot of recyclables that we ended up throwing in the garbage. The mattress in the "non-master" bedroom was a bit soft and my husband had some back pain sleeping there. Also, their "user manual" with arrival and departure instructions could use a little more detail as we weren't sure whether the things in the garage such as beach chairs, etc belonged to the downstairs tenants or were available for our use. However, as mentioned above, these were really small details. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the internet service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Cruz
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Cruz
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing