We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like home - casual, convenient, lovely...”
Another angle of the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Another angle of the Cottage
Landscaped for privacy Idyll location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Another angle of the Cottage
Landscaped for privacy
Idyll location
View from the coconuts.
Dining/kitchen table
Looking from kitchen/dining room to bedroom
Plenty of lawn surrounds the Cottage
Nearby beach access...two blocks away.
Looking east from the Lanai
Looking south on the Lanai
View of the East side
Front door entrance
Stylish pedestal sink to compliment the stand in shower.
Quaint decor.
Open air.
Spanish pavers.
Windows everywhere.
Bathroom angle.
Alpine slate shower.
Towel hanger
Spanish pavers.
Bedroom view.
Another window.
Turtle shell...my totem/amakua
Armadillo basket and horse skull
Knick knacks.
Well appointed kitchen,
Pineapple pot holder.
Pots and pans.
Photo of Micco taking a winter dip in Alaska.
Dining room looking into the bedroom.
Dining room cabinet
Kitchen/Dining room area.
Another angle of Kitchen/Dining room area.
Kitchen sink area.
Ceiling fan in Kitchen/Dining room.
Another window over looking sink.
Window over dining room table.
Linens provided.
This view is by the nearby beach access.
The nearby beach access.
Outside view looking East.
This Cottage is in the list of historic buildings.
West view of Cottage.
Spacious lanai.
Old broken surfboards, veterans of many 'board meetings'.
A door knocker ....you will never use.
Cow bell.
Marine debris.
Artifact found on the property.
Outside clothes line.
Mask to keep the evil spirits away.
Art
Bedroom view looking to kitchen/dining room area.
A artsy angle.
Custom cabinets/
Deer horn and Tibetan prayer flag.
View looking to bathroom from the bedroom.
Small library, some with Kaua'i themes.
Inner door of bathroom.
Another door angle.
Custom Alpine slate shower.
Outside door leading to bathroom.
Linen shelf.
Another view of linen shelf.
Desk to wonk it out on your computer.
Cabinets and desk in bedroom.
Bedroom angle...again.
Dining room/kitchen area with person with 'elbows on the table'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulaChri...
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
“Felt like home - casual, convenient, lovely setting, perfect kicked back style.. we loved it!”
Reviewed April 18, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Great little cottage in a lovely setting. Comfortable with everything we needed to enjoy every moment of our stay. Loved the outdoor shower and all of the windows.. felt we were living the life from the moment we arrived instead of transitioning in and out of the hotel scene. Had fun with the toys available up the street at Kayak Kauai. (Great people there... lots of aloha) Only problem is we don't want to leave.. we'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Reviewed December 17, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The quaint space, location, and price
Liked least: Can't think of any issues with it.
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alaska
Reviewed April 18, 2010 for a stay in January 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Ambiance, Location
Liked least: Want to stay longer next time
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlaskaFam...
United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and best price in Hanalei”
Reviewed February 9, 2010 for a stay in January 2010
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, 4 year old daughter and I stayed at the Garden Surf Cottage for 4 weeks and we loved it.

You can't beat the location, about 2 blocks from the beach path and about the same to downtown, combined with the price, this is by far the best deal I have found in Hanalei.

Kitchen: there is a 2 burner propane and a fancy convection toaster oven, lots of pots and pans, and a full sized fridge. Walk across the street to the Farms Market on Saturdays and on Tuesday walk up the street ( or beach) 10 minutes to another Farmers Market. My daughter and I made honey-limeade from the key lime tree in the yard.
Sleep: The Queen bed worked well for the 3, at first I thought the bed was too firm, but I was wrong, we all slept very well on it.
Bathroom:The shower was super cool, custom slate and always good pressure and plenty of warm water. The outdoor shower was great too.

Other: Internet connection was great.The only thing I could have done without is the neighbors ( 2 lots away) baby crying at bed time, but what can you do about that...we turned on the radio and that worked for us. We beached it, surfed, hiked, went whale watching, horseback riding, and I went up to the St. Regis and used their spa one afternoon - luxury. The St. Regis is worth a visit for the view from their balcony for sure! We did rent a car the whole time, which is nice for getting around to everything. We gave our refundable bottles and cans to the Church around the corner to benefit their children in need program - easy to do, walk it over there.

Stephanie at Kayak Kauai was super at booking us on the Whale watch and acted as the concierge, she was really nice.

Go, Stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierras
Reviewed November 13, 2009 for a stay in November 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington
Reviewed November 12, 2009 for a stay in October 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Close to everything
Liked least: Had to use outside door to bathroom to fit.
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
isis1412
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing