We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Get Away from it All” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapaa Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapaa Shores
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Get Away from it All”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent two weeks at Kapaa Shores. It was fantastic but please do not expect the Marriott.

Our unit was a one bedroom on the second floor with a murphy bed in the living room. We were in Bldg A on the second floor so we had a nice side view of the ocean. There is NO A/C in these units. So if you are not comfortable sleeping with all the windows open and fans going it will be very hot to sleep at night. The temp does drop, but it is still warm. My wife and I slept in only a sheet most the entire time. The worst part about the unit was the beds. They were old and sagged in the middle. Now we are young (our 30's) but even we woke up with our backs hurting. My parents would not be able to hack a week in these beds. The do desperately need to upgrade these!!

There is also no internet here unless you pay for it. A little pricey but heck your on vacation and your smartphone does everything your laptop can so turn of the technology and relax :)

The pool, hot tub, grounds, and staff are all great. Very slow paced and relaxed. It was not noisy, and most everyone friendly and were interested in just enjoying themselves. The BBQ area is awesome for making up your own meals. The shore area is fantastic to look at but do not think about getting in. Between the rip tide, the sharp rocks, and the waves it is a mixture for getting hurt quickly. There are plenty of beaches within minutes to go swimming in. But for just relaxing next to, you could not be closer to the water!!

I loved our proximity to Costco and Walmart both 10 minutes away in Lihue. Safeway, Longs Drugs, and Foodland are across the street. Great sushi down in downtown Kapaa, as well as some other restaurants. We were centrally located on the island so both of the farthest ends were only 1.5 hours away. I cannot tell you how many people we met staying in Poipu that hated going 2+ hours up to the Napoli Coast or those in Princeville going down to Port Allen to catching a boat excursion.

We were very pleased and absolutely enjoyed our stay, even without A/C and the beds being old!! It made the island experience all the more fun.

Room Tip: The B Bldg has the best views and get 2nd floor or Higher to get the breeze!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hart3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    20
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We are owners of a timeshare with Vacation Internationale. We had not stayed at Kapaa Shore in over 20 years. We were pleased with the refurbishments in the unit and the exterior of the buildings. We had a first floor end unit which was convenient to the pool and barbeque grills. World Mark is managing the units, and are doing a good job. If we had any problem or needed clean towels, they took care of it immediately. Just be prepared for a little road noise from Kuhio Hwy. We stayed 16 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Try Bobby V's down the road - reasonable prices and good pizza and pasta.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank starwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We just returned from a trip to Kauai, HI yesterday. We stayed at the Kapaa Shore resort in Kapaa. The resort, a combination of 2 timeshare companies (Worldmark and HSI) and rentals, was very clean and conveniently located about 10 - 15 minutes from the Lihue airport. Shopping and groceries, drug stores, and food are all within a block (walking distance). Each unit is a suite - complete with fridge, microwave, oven, dish washer, and enough dishes for 6 or 8 people along with several pieces of cookware and storage dishes, 2 flatscreen TVs. The property is on the beach but there is no swimming because of the reef. The waves were too intense anyway. There are plenty of good beaches within 15 to 30 minute drive. The property has laundry rooms and prices are reasonable ($1.25 to wash, $1.50 to dry (one hour)). There is also a tennis court, swimming pool, and hot tub. All units are full ocean view. On certain days of the week (Monday in our case) there is an informative meeting in room 119 where the locals provide information on island activities, tours, and answer general questions. It turned out to be good advice and was only about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We are enjoying our time at Kapaa Shores. It is centrally located with easy access to stores, restaurants and sights to see.
I was concerned about the review that said they had a break in. That need not be a major concern to anyone even on the ground floor where we spent our first night. Never leave windows open when they allow easy access to the room. The condo provides a bar that allows you to leave the sliding glass door open. It is an opening of about 4-6 inches which no one can climb through. Believe me, no one can get the door open farther.
Front desk was very helpful in getting us an upper room with a wonderful view, but, I would not have been concerned to stay on the ground level.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MLTMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

On our last night (am on 7/16/2010) someone removed the screen from the living room window, placed patio chair to the window and climbed in while we were sleeping. They also covered the motion sensor light on the patio. They took our laptop from the breakfast bar with wifi plug, and my purse which was under the night stand beside me. They did not take the credit cards or ID, thank God. The police said they had been in this unit before. The desk clerk said it had been robbed in April. So why no security warning or bars on the window? This was building C-room 127, on the end on the ground floor next to the ocean. I have found several more break in reports on the internet for this timeshare. There is nothing more scary than knowing someone came in during the night while you slept even though you locked both doors and put the wooden stick in the slider.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alohasuzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

Kapaa Shores is at a great location on the Island of Kauai. It is located on the east side of the island halfway between the north and south side making it easy to travel to anywhere on the island.

Kapaa Town where it is located is a great town in itself. It offers plenty of shopping and lots of restaurants to choose from, along with some great swimming locations. Kealia beach is wonderful, it is a big clean beach with plenty to watch but not overly busy. The water can be a little rough so be sure to watch water conditions.

As for the Hotel itself, the unit I stayed in was a one bedroom, one bath, full kitchen, living area and a small eating area. My lanai was facing the ocean which was wonderful. The rooms where very clean and the people who worked there where very nice and helpful. The hotel provided grills which was great after a long day of adventure you can just hang out on your own lanai eating burgers, watching the waves come in. The pool and the hotel grounds where kept very nice. The pool was a little small but who needs that with the big wide ocean right outside the door.

  • Liked — The large Hotel room, lanai, and location
  • Disliked — No restaurant or bar on premise.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pockets33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

I recently stayed at Kapaa Shores in Kauai and had a great stay. After reading the 2 reviews on here about Kapaa shores, I was a little worried, but my family has a time share, so this place was really my only choice on where to stay. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised.

My family and I stayed in a 2 bedroom with a balcony facing out to the pool and the ocean. The front desk staff was always helpful and friendly whenever we needed directions, help booking activities, or just more beach towels. It was so nice being able to constantly hear and smell the ocean from our condo, which was clean and comfortable. The condos are in a great central location, you can even walk to the grocery store and nearby restaurants. There are plenty of things to do nearby, and if not you can just take a 30 minute drive to the north shore or Poipu on the south shore. The only thing that was a little weird to me was that the 2nd bedroom (which was actually a loft) connected to a bathroom and didn't have a door, but that's honestly my only complaint about this place.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the beach and other fun activities.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingIsFun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.7 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
1.6 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.1 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
0.3 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
1.0 km away
Pono Kai Resort
Pono Kai Resort
#8 of 11 in Kapaa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Shores

Property: Kapaa Shores
Address: 900 Kuhio Highway, Between mile markers 7 and 8, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapaa Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Kapaa Shores Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Shores Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing