We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
461
222
71
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
222
71
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen time share beach boy coconut marketplace timeshare presentation shell vacations washer and dryer garden view parking pass hukilau lanai one bedroom suite third floor poolside bar no elevator hot tub concierge desk beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 791 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We stayed here as time share owners. The two-bedroon condo we were in was decent. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. Our room was quiet with only minor noises from above us (we were on the ground floor). The lanais ( one for each bedroom) were comfortable. This also seemed to be a good location on the east side of the island. We had only a short drive to groceries, shopping, and transportation. Beach access was also close, though those were not large. We did not use the common areas, but there appeared to be adequate BBQs, outdoor games, and lounge chairs for most everyone. The staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

There were a few minor irritants, though. Our room was generally clean, but the counter top in the kitchen could have been cleaner. Also, there was an interesting smell in the condo. Looking at the AC vents, I would guess part of that odor came from there; some cleaning of those would probably help. Finally, two of the three slider doors onto the lanais did not work well. If that was the worst of it, I'd say this was a good place.

Of course, there was the Wyndham/Shell update session. Generally, we were told there just aren't enough properties for everyone who wants to stay, and this will be even worse with Wyndham's new $99 deal to help more people get access. Apparently they have not considered a moratorium on new memberships or new deals that will make getting reservations even more difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha;
Mahalo for your review and for taking the time to write. Many of our guests really like our “boutique” resort and enjoy spending their days at our lush and relaxing tropical oasis at the pool area with jacuzzi, kiddie pool, hammocks and BBQ grills. We do have a convenient location – oceanfront on the Royal Coconut Coast and really central for visiting all parts of our beautiful island. We do receive many favorable comments about our staff, who take pride in providing exceptional service with genuine aloha.
We have shared your concerns with our Housekeeping and Maintenance leadership, plus Sales and Marketing, for their review. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We have been owners with Shell for about 20 years and we have stayed at the Kauai Coast Beach Boy many times in various rooms with oceanfront, ocean view, and garden view accomodations. It is with great disappointment during our stay this time as our accommodations were really poorer than before. We have noticed in the last few years the entire place has gone downhill. The rooms are dated, need upgraded, and border on being unkept and dirty. We ask to talk to the manager (Troy) several times during our stay at the front desk and at the concierge desk and we're told he was in and would be available after our update. He was suspiciously gone when we were scheduled to meet with him after our update. Therefore, we never really were able to voice our concerns as owners.

The city of Kapa'a or state needs to widen the main road thru Kapa'a. The resort needs to enlarge the pool and outside bar area. It needs to replace all the carpeting plus the flooring in the rooms. The bathrooms are also dated. The appliances and furniture were dated.

Stay way from the sales presentation and enjoy your time on the island. The timeshare presentation is billed as an update for owners, but it is really the usual attempt to get you to buy more points.

We hope that our concerns will be addressed.

Room Tip: Only ten oceanfront rooms so, book early if you want a room with a view. Restaurant on site.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize if the room did not meet your expectations. Our units have recently undergone a renovation with updated and freshened décor, and the installation of new carpeting is almost complete. We have shared your concerns with Resort Management and Sales & Marketing leadership for their review. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We appreciate you sharing your views and we hope you will visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We have been owner's at this resort for over 10 years and finally made the decision to visit here. We loved it so much, we will come back every year! The resort has beautiful landscape, a great pool with a pool bar and a fabulous restaurant. We stayed a little over a week in a one bedroom. The room is large with a full kitchen, living room, big bathroom, and nice bedroom. The rooms are updated and clean. You will need a car, but there are stores that are close for the basics. The views of the ocean are amazing. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KJeanneHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Aloha:
Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable accommodations and beautiful grounds, a lush and relaxing tropical oasis at the pool area with spa, hammocks and BBQ grills. One of our guests recently described our grounds as a beautiful botanical garden! Everybody loves the Hukilau Lanai restaurant, which is one of the most popular restaurants on the island and their menu features local Kauai products and produce, so they truly support our local farmers. We do receive many favorable comments about our staff, who take pride in providing exceptional service with genuine aloha. We are delighted that you had a great experience and our Kauai Coast ‘ohana is looking forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Situated in Wailua, a very quiet neighborhood, the hotel is clean and has ocean access front.
We got a suite room, which comes with a completely furnished kitchen, a dishwasher machine, a washing machine and a dryer.
In the same area there is a market and some restaurants.
You’ll definitely need a car for Kauai and the hotel offers free parking.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alessandrodn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Aloha:
Mahalo for your great review. We do have a convenient location – oceanfront on the Royal Coconut Coast with our spacious units and well-equipped units, lush and relaxing tropical oasis at the pool area with spa, hammocks and BBQ grills and really central for visiting all parts of our beautiful island. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical based on some of the reviews I had read. I normally stay at some of the other high end resorts on the island, but stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom before going to our main stay for the next 5 nights. I was pleasantly surprised. I think the renovations to the rooms are very nice. The one bedroom is very spacious and the bed is very comfortable. Yes you do here people walking above you, but I hear that at the high end resorts I stay at as well. The landscaping and the grounds are beautiful. We had a room on the second floor that looked out into the pool and the ocean. The resort is centrally located on the island. The only drawback is you really do not have a beach on site, but there are several within a 5 minute drive. I would highly recommend this resort for families.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank JimTCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Aloha:
Mahalo for your wonderful review, and thank you for trying us out! We are the hidden tropical oasis where our guests love to relax and enjoy our spacious and comfortable accommodations, super ocean views, lush tropical grounds, and beautiful pool deck with Jacuzzi, barbeque grills, and hammocks. We are delighted that you had a great experience and hope you will visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews