We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinners, Breakfast not so much”
Review of Oasis on the Beach

Oasis on the Beach
Ranked #29 of 138 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Oasis is a beautiful oceanfront location that showcases the best of what Kauai has to offer in cuisine, service and ocean views. We strongly believe that residents and guests of Hawaii want to experience Hawaii. We use local sources for almost 90% of our ingredients, and work closely with Kauai"s farmers and fishermen to provide you with the best and freshest possible ingredients. We work to highlight the quality and freshness of our ingredients in a style that captures the diversity of local cultures and influences without burying the delicious flavors that our local ingredients offer.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

We ate here four times during our stay on Kauai. Both times our dinners we're cooked to perfection. I particularly liked the beef short rib while my wife enjoyed the grilled opa (moon fish). Both times we had breakfast we were disappointed. My wife ordered her bacon crispy and egg firm. The bacon couldn't have been more limp and the eggs were very runny. The waitress was very nice and took care of the eggs, but this shouldn't have happened. We tried again a second time. We were the only ones there when we walked in. We ordered and waited and waited and waited. Another couple came in, ordered and were served. When our order finally came it was pretty cool. My wife's omlet was folded over full slices of tomato and whole bacon making it more difficult to eat. The "home fries" were small chunks of potato heavily deep fried and tasteless. Would not recommend breakfast there until they get a better morning cook. But on a more positive note, definitely try dinner, particularly on Wednesday when they have very enjoyable upbeat music starting at five, but get there earlier, because it is no reservations that night.

Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisKauai, General Manager at Oasis on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Aloha and thanks for your review. I really appreciate you letting us know about your breakfast experience so we can address those problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2018

We ate here several evenings during a visit to Kauai. The location is marvelous - overlooking the beach and ocean. The menu has a variety of dishes with an emphasis on seafood (obviously). Good drinks too. Service was excellent. In fact, everything was so good that we ate here three nights in a row. It's quite popular so it's a good idea to make reservations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisKauai, General Manager at Oasis on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Aloha!
We are glad you enjoyed Oasis and thanks for the repeat visits. We have a lot of visitors and locals who dine with us regularly like you. Welcome to our Ohana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

True Beach front drinks and dinning. The Mai Tai is is classic with a special ingredient. You'll have to visit to find out.

Thank ghappliancerepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisKauai, General Manager at Oasis on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Aloha and thanks for the great review!
We are proud of our Mai Tai and we appreciate you helping spread the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The view and ambiance was enough reason to dine here, but the food and service were also exceptional! We had the ahi and short rib one night, and a different preparation of the ahi the next night with the steak. All were prepared perfectly.

Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisKauai, General Manager at Oasis on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Aloha and we are happy you enjoyed our fare! The Ahi has been awesome lately!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

The setting is lovely overlooking the beach and the food is better than one would expect. We’ve had lunch and a couple dinners here and been very pleased! Service is relaxed (the kitchen staff is small) and worth any wait. Their pork wontons and chips with cheese dip are a great way to start while the tomato caprese is one of the best versions I’ve had. The fresh catch the past few days has been ahi tuna and they will cook it to your specification, otherwise it’s rare to medium rare.

Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OasisKauai, General Manager at Oasis on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Aloha and thanks for the great review.
We do have a small kitchen as you have noticed and it is a challenge to produce all the meals we put on the table sometimes.
Our Chef and his crew are truly amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oasis on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Oasis on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing