We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guide (Chris) great, Wailua calm, water cold, falls spectatular, hike invigorating”

Rainbow Kayak Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainbow Kayak Tours/Ancient River Kayak is an all inclusive quality, guided tour company. Safety is our #1 priority along with exceptional customer service and an unforgettable experience with your guide. Thomas and Aaron have been guiding since 2004 and Davey & Andy since 2008. We have an amazing team which also includes our customer service department. When contacting us via phone or email, you will either speak with Kelly, Val, Bonnie, Brittany or Gayle. They will make you feel welcome when you visit our shop and check-in for your kayak tour. We are also partners with Kayak Adventures and Ancient River Kayak.Description of our property: Our shop is located in the Islander Shops behind Coconut Marketplace in Kapaa. We are located next to Aston Islander on the Beach Resort, The Snorkel Depot and Tree's Lounge. The Snorkel Depot is adjacent to our shop. We have everything you need for the beach: snorkel gear, beach chairs, boogie boards and much more!
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Guide (Chris) great, Wailua calm, water cold, falls spectatular, hike invigorating”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was a marvelous 1/2 day kayaking experience. We took a water camera because we did not want to chance our digital camera getting wet. But the other couple that went with us had no problems with water exposure and their digital. Chris the guide was knowledgable about the area, history and fauna. He taught kayak navigation well and was very careful on the speed of the travel upstream (my wife and I were slow, she had a torn rotator cuff injury but was still able to navigate well). He was also careful on the hike to the falls (he travelled barefooted, we had water shoes since we crossed the streams a couple of times) which is not too challenging. The water at Sacred Falls was cold, and I emphasize cold. But it was refreshing. The company provided a lunch with some of the best pineapple that I have ever had (Dole, eat your heart out). January was a good time to go as we only had one other couple in our group and the other groups that came to to falls were fairly small. The trip back was a little warm in January and we were glad that we had taken the 7:30 tour. It might get crowded during the summer months, so I would recommend that you take one of the earlier trips out to the falls as this will give you time to do something in the afternoon.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha Bob5211,
Understandable not wanting to trash a nice digital camera. Fortunately, we have been using the same brand high-end drybag backpacks for the past fifteen years. Your guides will instruct you on proper closure. In this time, the only bag failure was due to human error. Us guides use these same bags in our daily lives as well as on expeditions globally. I oared the grand canyon over the course of a month and none failed. Chris is using his to explore New Zealand on vacation currently. Davey uses them on his motor bike daily etc. We don't feel the need for any other backpack at this point. Bring an SLR camera and it will be safe. Most of the best picture are in the interior where you are not in the water. Water proof cameras are great under the waterfall or while your kayaking. Many of our guides travel barefoot or in slippers but that could never be suggested to anyone who does not do this daily. Footwear will make the trip. Picking the perfect pineapple is an art. You may have the best pineapple of your life at uluwehi falls. A hui ho(until we meet again)
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    48
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Rainbow Kayak”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Kauai. I will highly recommend tandem kayaking especially for couples, it is "test". My husband and I had an amazing time during this tour, there was never a dull moment – mesmerizing view s along the Wailua river, hike into the rain forest and the secret falls!!
Our guide Bobby was great; he is down to earth, knowledgeable about the forest, plants, and local life of people on the island. He familiarized us with local history along the hike to the secret falls. By the end of the trip, not only did we have an amazing time, but also made some friends!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Aloha Bazingaa,
Kayaking is a true test of a couples communication skill. Fortunately, our guides all love the sport. We always make an effort to fine tune our guests technique. This insures a great experience and the future of our business. Bobby is a serious asset to our team.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must-do adventure for teens - Rick was excellent guide”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation. Kayak expedition, hiking, wading across a river (up to your waist), rope swing, lunch by the falls, more hiking. Our guide Rick was so well informed and entertaining - lots of fascinating stories about Kauai history, flora and fauna, while we savored local produce by the trail. He even made our daughter a woven bracelet from tree bark!
It's a perfect day out for an active family, but come prepared! Good walking shoes are a must (bare feet might work for the locals but we found it very slick!), bring a full change of clothes and even a sweater. It was a little chilly for us at the waterfall...
We got a 10% discount when we booked by phone because a friend referred us. It's worth asking for...
Works well as a morning activity and can be combined with the Smiths Family Luau in the evening.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lassie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Aloha Travel Lassie,
Great tips on the footwear. Going barefoot is only suggested to the people who use these areas daily. No one has ever regret having good footwear. Keens, Tevas, Five fingers, and old runners are all great options (they will get wet). A lightweight rain jacket is suggested only during our winter months. Majority of our trip is under the canopy of the jungle. Rick has been known to tell some tall tales. There all true! Look forward to your next tour up the Wailua. Mahalo for the review.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxed, beautiful, and informative tour."”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I took a solo kayaking trip because the friend I was visiting was extremely busy (and I really wanted to kayak the Wailua.) Our tour guide Aaron was very friendly, easy going, and looked out for our safety at all times. Throughout the tour he was very informative about the area and the native culture (I learned a lot!) He also got to know each one of us, which helped our group become close and comfortable with each other. We crossed streams, hiked through mud, swam beneath a beautiful waterfall, ate a nice lunch with the most delicious pineapple you can have, took the "unbeaten" path back to the kayaks, and had a friendly race back home. All in all, I can say I was truly surprised how much fun I had going alone. By the end I felt like I made a few friends.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Onesunshinegirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Aloha Onesunshinegirl,
So stoked you decided to make the trip regardless of your friends schedule. That was a great day due to an awesome group. I try to make everyone feel like ohana(family). Our leadership practices are based on years of experience in the industry. Team mentality always creates a strong camaraderie between our guests. Countless long term relationships have started on the Wailua. Glad you learned a lot about this beautiful place. Mahalo for allowing me to share.
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
401 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“the tour to secret falls is worth it, just be ready to get wet and dirty”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The kayak tour and hike to the falls was a great part of our trip but we certainly weren't as prepared as we would have liked. It is not necessarily a difficult tour but you should have the proper gear to be safe as the trail can get very muddy and slippery. I don't think this tour is for everyone as is advertised. We had some people in our group who really shouldn't have been there and it slowed everyone up to the point where we almost didn't get back before dark. One lady got her feet taken out from under her and her pants got pulled straight off into the river when she tried to cross. My advice is that if you see anyone in your tour group who makes you doubt their ability to do a moderate hike for 5 hours, come back another time. Our poor guide Davy was forced to keep solid watch of the helpless people as everyone else went uncomfortably way ahead. I understand that it is a tourist economy but it would have been a better experience for all had everyone been properly informed of what to expect. It's one thing if it was just a 2 hour excursion but this was 5+ hours where a lot of time was spent waiting around. Overall it was a good time but we were itching for it to be over by the end.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Aloha Sneakyright,
We always do our best to filter are groups properly. This can be challenging in a number of ways. Are tours have many factors involved. The local conditions and ability levels of guest are diverse. We don't market our tour internally as a trip for anyone. Being as though we have a large collective ohana(family) of booking agents, occasionally less active folks slip through.This is rare. Safety is are number one priority, and with these unusual circumstances, Davey did his job well. Davey is highly regarded. He has proven himself as an incredibly competent guide over the past five years with our operation. He is very knowledgeable and holds a flawless safety record. Thanks for the feedback. We always use your comments to better are operation. We will never get complacent in what we love doing. Please allow us to take you and a friend next time free of charge. Check out our website to request the guide of your choice. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Kayak Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing