We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful View doesn't hide the dirt !!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lae Nani
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Beautiful View doesn't hide the dirt !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for a week over the holidays with another couple
They got - unit (532)completely remodeled 2 Bedroom 2 bathrooms complete with stickers still on pot and styrofoam packing in dishwasher, 2 Lanai's and bedroom facing ocean.

We got - Unit (526) dirty shag carpet, someone's panties on the floor in the closet, broken closet door, broken screen door, more dust than CSI Las Vegas, dirty fridge, broken toaster, paint peeling off of bathroom walls, bedroom walls, closet doors.

Went to hear the ocean in my ocean front condo when I went to bed instead got a baby screaming underneath my unit and the noise from other units as our bedrooms were at the back of the unit away from the ocean.

I went to complain and was told that some units are remodeled some are not. Our friends called our unit "RUSTIC" and suggested that we hang out in their unit and watch one of the 2 flatscreen tv's instead of our VCR/DVD combo crt tv from the 1990's.

We I checked out I told the manager about my concerns and she seemed shocked and wondered why I did not complain earlier, I told her I did and the manager asked the front desk clerk was I was not moved to another unit, The clerk said because it was a late check-in. I checked in at 3:30 pm in the afternoon not exactly a late check in but a dishonest and lying desk clerk.

Be warned - a beautiful property with a nice pool, webber gas bbq's and great views but some units are substandard and not worth the money.

I paid the same as my friend's unit but they did not have the disrepair and geckos living in their unit.

Room Tip: A great place if you get a remodeled room, make sure bedroom is on the front otherwise you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobbyO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    73
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
58
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Lae Nani is located in the Coconut Coast section of Kauai (the Wailua/Kapaa area), our favorite area of the Island. The location gives you flexibility to go north up to Princeville/Hanalei or south to Poipu within half an hour depending on weather conditions. The local beaches are also very nice. The area is not nearly as congested and commercialized as either Princeville or Poipu. It fits what we like about the Island perfectly.

While there are a number of good accommodation options along the Coconut Coast (we owned a condo in one of the other complexes for a number of years), our current favorite is the Lae Nani. The units and grounds are well kept, and all the units have spectacular ocean views. There is a beautiful, large grass area between the buildings and the a small beach, as well as a nice swimming pool. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed with the Lae Nani.

I would strongly recommend that you book units at the condo directly with the owners (e.g., VRBO or other websites) rather than through Outrigger or Castle Resorts. You'll generally save 25%-50% on your condo cost, and a large percentage of the units are now handled on this basis (the cost to condo owners of using the Outrigger service is evidently exorbitant).

Room Tip: We generally prefer second & third floor rooms -- better views, nice ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ghsfcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

stayed at outrigger Lae Nani during Christmas, had 2nd floor unit 421--wonderful,clean spacious.Big living room but only one tv in condo.This was only a problem with my grandson's. I booked oceanview which was in front of the lawn and the ocean. Looks exactly like the pictures online. Groceries are on the expensive side but for 5 people I'm sure we saved mony.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GRAMGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The apartment (214) was spacious, well furnished,and very clean. Lounge was really comfortable and fans kept the whole place cool and airy. There were shops and restaurants both on the left and right hand side of the property within 5 minutes wallking distance. The enclosed rock pool is a great idea especially for young children to swim in safety. Beautiful gardens which are well maintained. Housekeeping was efficient and staff were helpful. Will book the same apartment if we return.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor apartment for fast access to the pool and beach and well kept grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at Lae Nani In September. We were really impressed with the condo, the hotel staff and the location. We had room 423, and I would highly recommend building #4. The ocean view was exceptional, the trade winds kept our 3rd floor room nice and cool, and the balcony was shaded in the late afternoon making it a perfect place to relax after sightseeing all day. We enjoyed using the barbeque area to cook some of our evening meals, and the equipment (Weber grills) were top notch. This was a very quiet resort, and at times you felt like you had the place to yourself. The central location made it easy to travel to the north shore or west end of the island. We also enjoyed walking over to the Coconut Market Place in the evening, although the economy has caused a lot of stores to close. You have to try the Fish Hut, excellent fish burgers and reasonable. We would go back to Lae Nani in a heartbeat, a great value and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Location, Location, Location... we have been to Kauai more than 12 times and these condos have a great location. We have stayed at other 'newer' places on island but we prefer staying here. We have found that we spend most of our time outside our condo room rather than in it. Each unit is individually owned so the decorating varies from unit to unit but they have been well maintained and are spacious and are either oceanfront or oceanview. The grounds are lovely and at one time there used to be so many weddings held on location here, that the owners had to put an end to it for privacy sake. The number one selling point for us is that the beach here is great for families and you are located mid-island for all off resort activities. The beach is especially good for grade school children. There is a protected area for very small children and my older boys love the tide pools and a natural feature that is a 'lazy river' We have seen surfers and kite boarders here and we often boogie board. We snorkle off the resorts beach area and often see turtles, tropical fish and eels. On the Lae Nani's beach we have seen the endangered Hawaiian Monk Seal napping. We have stayed at Outrigger's newer resort on Kauai and the boys did not like the ocean there, much to rocky on entry and not good for swimming. Lae Nani's pool is heated and they have outdoor grills. It is not crowded here, quiet, not located on busy highway, good security, and a coin laundry on site. There are tennis courts here. It is within walking distance to several restaurants and shave ice. The location near Kapaa seems to be 1/2 way to anywhere on the island. I also have noticed that locals use the public access and come to this beach. Lydgate beach park is near by and the Coconut Marketplace. Negatives to this complex, no elevators to upstairs units. No A/C, but it is nice to sleep listening to waves not traffic and it was designed to maximize the trade winds. For some, no restaurant or bar on site might be negative. Yet we feel this is positive in that we save money on week long stay and every night can be dining with oceanview on lani for a lot less money when we prepare our own dinner and drinks. Last drawback, no jacuzzi tub by pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trekker-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I had heard that this was a real gem of a hotel, and it was. One note, all condos on Kauai, do not have A/C but have ceiling fans and our second floor unit had them in the bedrooms.
It has a nice beach area, and a small cove for kids to play in. Beautiful Kapaa location close to Cocoanut plantation and just about 10 minutes from airport. Very nicely appointed rooms and very clean and up to date. This property has no elevator, so be advised if you cannot climb stairs or request a ground floor unit. Nice kitchen so one can prepare meals and not have to eat out all the time. Safeway about 10-15 minutes north. Very quiet and a great place for both Parents and Grandparents and kids as it is very relaxed and quiet. Internet and in room washer/ Dryer provided.
I would recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor oceanfront if you can. Building three is closest to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelagent0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.1 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
4.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.4 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Property: Lae Nani
Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing