We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I want to thank the staff for the hospitality and welcome we had. The food was fantastic and they were able to accommodate all of our changes on short notice - something not normal. Especially i want to say that the staff from the front desk, bell men and concierge for making all our stay so perfect. Definitly will stay here when we come back next month.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Friendly, helpfull staff, spacious room, comfortable bed. Centrally located. I will definately stay here again on my next Kauai trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel is in Kapa'a; which is a great place to stay on the island, since its about halfway between the north shore and south shore. It is also within a five-minute drive to restaurants, stores, and all kinds of entertainment. The hotel is very nice and the apartments are pretty big. We had a large living/dining area with an attached kitchen, a good-sized bedroom, and a big lanai that stretched from the bedroom to the living room. Our unit faced the courtyard with the pool, but I was actually glad about this because it didn't seem like you could see very much of the ocean from the ocean view rooms; and really ocean-view meant that you were also facing the parking lot and street (much closer than the ocean). The beach is pretty small and too rocky to go swimming, plus you have to walk across a giant field. However, we went to the beach for sunset and sunrise and it was very nice with lots of driftwood to sit on. The sunrise looks amazing with all the palm trees in the background.
One concern we had before we arrived was that there was a street we had to cross to get to the beach, however, the street is more of an access road for hotel guests and not very busy; so it ended up not being a problem. The one thing I personally did not like was that there was no dishwasher and the dishes and utensils had some crusted food on them. We washed them again, so no big deal, but it was still pretty gross. So if you are a germaphobe, bring plastic utensils and paper plates and cups. Something else of note - the beds are pretty small, I suppose they were full-sized, but they seemed smaller. One of us was constantly falling out. There was a laundry room that closed at 10 pm. I don't remember exactly, but think it was $1.00 or $1.25 for the washers and dryers.

Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's a beautiful area and super convenient.

Room Tip: Choose the pool view - Ocean view earns you a view of the parking lot - with the ocean in the distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Aloha NotAlexis...I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Plantation Hale Suites. I will share your feedback with our team. I agree with you we offer a wonderful setting. Please contact me personally for any future visit. I will try find you one of our King bedded suites. Thank you so much for your patronage. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Kapa'a is a great locaion for Kauai if you are going to check the whole island out. If it's raining up north, then I head south for sun. Kapa'a has plenty of restaurants and grociery stores to choose from also. The hotel is located across from a big green field that is in front of the beach, 120 yards to the beach ,no good swimming anywhere near, yet great to watch the sun rise and then get on with the day. Nothing fantastic but it had it all a pool, hot tub, lanai, cable, seperate room bedroom, and full kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandtweentoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great concept – all the convenience of a fully equipped condo combined with the daily maid service of a hotel – plus a location close to beaches, shops and services, and all at a very reasonable rate.

We had a one-bedroom suite, spacious at 775 square feet and well laid out. The kitchen is a bit dated, but all the appliances worked well, and there’s a good supply of dishes, cutlery, pots and pans. Housekeeping replenishes coffee and tea supplies daily, along with dishtowels and dish soap. The bathroom is also showing its age a little, but likewise, everything was in good working order, with constant hot water. Towels are replaced daily and sheets every three days. Both the living room and bedroom have sliding glass doors opening to a lanai overlooking an attractively landscaped garden. The units are kept immaculately clean, and we saw the pool and grounds being tended ever day.
In-room wifi is included. If you don’t have your own laptop, there’s a computer for guest use in the lobby where you can print boarding passes. The front desk also provides beach towels whenever needed, and you can borrow DVDs or BluRays at no cost.

There’s a Foodland supermarket with a good deli counter in a little strip mall just a few minutes drive along the highway from the hotel. Be sure to ask for a Maika’i card so you can take advantage of weekly specials. The next strip mall has a 24-hour Safeway, and beyond that there’s a Big Save (same mall as Kapa’a post office). For convenience items, you can just walk over to Whaler’s in the Coconut Marketplace, which is opposite Plantation Hale.

Farmers markets are great for fruit and vegetables. You’ll find a much better selection of produce than in the supermarkets, and at lower cost, and you get to talk to the people who grow it. We missed the weekly market in Kapa’a (although we did find various little stands in and around town selling produce) but drove into Hanalei on a Friday morning just as its market was getting underway.

If you’re looking for gluten-free treats, check out Java Kai coffee shop on the highway in Kapa’a (they make a mean latte too) and Sweet Marie’s Bakery in Lihue, just along from Hilo Hattie’s. The supermarkets in Kapa'a carry GF breads and some other items. Papaya’s Natural Foods, tucked away in a corner of the same shopping centre as Safeway, is another source for GF items, and there’s also Hoku Foods Natural Market not far from the ABC store in town.

Nearest public tennis courts are at Kapa’a New Park in town, next to the ball field and skate park. There are two courts, not in the greatest condition but perfectly playable. Nearest swimming beach is Lydgate State Park, which has a couple of protected areas, along with a long beach for walking and walking paths set back from the beach.

Front desk staff were helpful in providing directions to places we wanted to hike or visit. Kapa’a’s location around mid-island means that nowhere is more than 90 minutes or so by car, though driving north was definitely easier in December as there was no road construction. Give yourself a little extra time if you’re heading south to Poipu or Waimea Canyon, as you may run into traffic congestion around Lihue due to roadwork.

Lots of good hiking, but be prepared for liquid sunshine (there’s a reason for Kaua’i being so green). Showers can be so sudden that you’re soaked before you can get a jacket on, but you dry out quickly. Just be careful on trails because these downpours can quickly turn them muddy and slippery. Packing hiking poles is a good idea, but failing that, you’ll often find that people who’ve picked up a stick along the way will leave it at the trailhead for the next person.

There are three pools at the hotel, two with hot tubs. The pools are unheated, which means that they’re cold – really cold – but the tubs are just the right temperature for a relaxing soak at the end of the day.

Room Tip: The rooms are in blocks lettered A to J. Recommend avoiding block A, as it's closest to the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our room was filthy. There were dead bugs all over, the blinds were so thickly covered with dirt and we pulled them up so we didn't have to look at them! There was an odor in all of the dresser drawers and the insides of the kitchen cabinets were disgusting. The sleeper sofa was so old that the springs were all shot. Housekeeping came once even though we requested it three times.

At least the sheets and towels were clean and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Before you rent one of these rooms, find out if it is owned by the resort or by a person who purchas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Pam S. Thank you for your comments. In checking your reservations the unit you rented was through an owner and not operated or serviced by the resort. Plantation Hale Suites does provide full daily services. Mahalo, John Douponce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Went to Kauai for a three-day break and stayed at Plantation Hale. The apartment actually seemed larger than the website pictures indicated, and it was spotlessly clean. The kitchen had been refitted nicely, and there was a very nice, large flat panel TV. Patti at the front desk was outstanding in every way and helped make our stay nice. I would only suggest that those who are light sleepers request a unit not backing up to the highway. We could hear road noise despite a thick hedge between us and the highway. I was, however, able to sleep. The location is central in terms of Kauai's arcane road system. Overall, I recommend this place and will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeaauFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
5.3 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
0.6 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
0.5 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
2.7 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
371 reviews
11.2 km away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $212 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing