We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohana on the Wailua River”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene
1 review
“Ohana on the Wailua River”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed staying in a restful, well-maintained cottage so close to activities as well as being a short walk to authentic Kauai cultural attractions. Paul and his family are considerate inn keepers and have all your vacation needs available.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the River Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenesnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    62
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
79
289
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Great central location, a perfect spot for couples. The Inn was comfortable and had everything we needed for a comfortable four day stay. We appreciated the movie and book library in the unit. The kitchenette was well stocked with dishes, pans, and a few condiments.

The bottom line is... this is Inn is a great value!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SkiBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

my fiance and i just returned from a last-minute honeymoon to kauai (since a storm hit our initial plans in mexico!). fortunately, canal cottage A was still available. based on the affordable price, we thought we'd really be roughing it. to our surprise the cottage was more comfortable than we could have ever imagined. clean, quiet, with no less than a view of the river from the living room area! plus, kapaa is the perfect central location for exploring all of the island. and you're even within walking distance to kintaro sushi which is amazing. try the bali hai roll!

thanks paul and nousheen. we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aminzaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We chose the Fern Grotto Inn for it's central location to all the activities we were planning for our trip. The cottage felt like our own little weekend getaway cabin and it seems the owners may have planned the layout that way - there are pretty much all beach supplies you'd need provided - coolers, boogies boards, water shoes, mats, chairs.....etc. There are several gas grills available so even if you take say the garden cottage which has only toaster, microwave and a fridge you can still cook up a great meal - and then enjoy it in the great garden area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbryant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in the River Cottage for 8 days. You're right on the river, a tad south of Kapaa, for when you want to take the kayak trip to Secret Falls (rent your own). Gorgeous. It's very well appointed and the owners provide several amenities; bbqs, laundry, snorkel gear, boogie boards, coolers, beach chairs, towels, etc. The kitchen was complete with all the necessities; we cooked every morning and all but 2 nights. Kapaa town is only a few miles up the road and has yummy food and shops. Our favorite lunch and hangout spot was the Olympic Cafe. They have an open terraced restaurant/sportsbar overlooking the quaint street and a very good happy hour. The cottage location is perfect; only a 30-60 min drive to anywhere else on the island. Two grocery stores are a mile up the street. Lydgate beach is just a half mile or so down the road which has a small beach with excellent snorkel area that is enclosed by rocks so the waves and surf don't get in your way, but the fish can get in. The next road over is where you begin the hike up to Sleeping Giant. BEAUTIFUL view! We will definitely visit again. I'd love to get a large group and rent out the entire property. If you're not in to resort hotels, like us, then this is perfect for you. A home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in the Garden Cottage at the Fern Grotto Inn for 5 nights. It’s a very cozy and comfortable space. The location is great - right next to the Wailua River (which you can kayak), close to some good restaurants and within walking distance to the beach. The cottage is spacious and clean with a comfortable sofa, an eating area and nice bathroom. What I really appreciated about Fern Grotto Inn was the extra care the owner took in providing amenities. Paul provided boogie boards, beach chairs, coolers, beach towels etc. and the kitchenette had a microwave, coffee maker and toaster and was stocked with sandwich bags, coffee & tea and dinnerware. It made the place feel like home. Paul was also very generous and let us checkout late (there was no one checking-in that night) which allowed us to have a relaxing final day in Hawaii before our 5pm flight home. We really appreciated it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinnelager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed in the River House, surrounded by beautiful flora and tropical birds, an artist's paradise! Just make sure you travel with someone who likes to travel "off the beaten track". The Fern Grotto Inn is a truly special place. I will definitely recommend this Inn to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy315Sonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing