We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mi casa es su casa..”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Staying at the Fern Grotto Inn really made this phrase ring true. Stayed in the Canal Cottage A for a week and I only have positive things to say about this place.

- The inn keepers are very friendly and on site most of the time, in the event that they aren't they're always accessible by cell phone.
- A washer and dryer is available for use; which is great b/c this island is like a tropical super duper 24-hour-fitness..between swimming at the beach, kayaking, hiking etc.. Oh and the dirt is red.
-They provide boogie boards, beach chairs, snorkel gear, beach towels and coolers. All you really need are slippers and water shoes - which you can purchase from K-mart or Wal-mart if you don't already have them.
-We didn't use them but they also provide a number of barbeques and one of the best views in the world to enjoy your food.
-This location is the most central to the various sights (as there isn't a continuous highway around the island). It's located right next to the Wailua River, across from the old Coco Palms Resort.
- I noticed that one previous reviewer commented on the presence of giant river roaches and geckos in the room. I'm a huge bug-o-phobe and I did not see a single bug in the room.

Overall we had an excellent vacation experience in Kaua'i and a portion of it is attributed to the wonderful accommodations that the Fern Grotto Inn provided.

Thank you Paul and Nasheen.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilimeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, we arrived when and didn't get to meet anyone who had anything to do with the property until the night before we left. Paul was ? away, the keys were in the room, we were warned about this by email. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, it is one room with a toilet and shower room sectioned off from the rest of the room. Although the toilet has a door and walls it doesn't have a ceiling, so the top is open to the rest of the room. So you have to be comfortable with the noises and smells your partner might make while going to the toilet.

The room was comfortable but the air con was noisy especially at night. We also found there wasn't any information book and since we didnt meet anyone when we arrived we were unsure about things like laundry facilities. There was a waching machine attached to the big house which we did use but did feel like we might be doing something wrong since we were not sure if it was the ones we should use. When we did meet Paul he did seem suprised that there wasnt an information book in the room.

Otherwise it was a comfortable stay. The road near by is very busy even for a small island, but didnt hear much at night. It was a nice touch to have access to body boards and beach stuff and the garden was nice, we didnt use them but there are plenty of grills/bbq's in the garden.

There is also a 70 dollar cleaning fee, I still find this random, the place was clean but not 70 bucks clean, there was dust in the cupboards and some left over products in the bathroom, including someones used electric toothbrush.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed staying in a restful, well-maintained cottage so close to activities as well as being a short walk to authentic Kauai cultural attractions. Paul and his family are considerate inn keepers and have all your vacation needs available.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the River Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenesnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Great central location, a perfect spot for couples. The Inn was comfortable and had everything we needed for a comfortable four day stay. We appreciated the movie and book library in the unit. The kitchenette was well stocked with dishes, pans, and a few condiments.

The bottom line is... this is Inn is a great value!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank SkiBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

my fiance and i just returned from a last-minute honeymoon to kauai (since a storm hit our initial plans in mexico!). fortunately, canal cottage A was still available. based on the affordable price, we thought we'd really be roughing it. to our surprise the cottage was more comfortable than we could have ever imagined. clean, quiet, with no less than a view of the river from the living room area! plus, kapaa is the perfect central location for exploring all of the island. and you're even within walking distance to kintaro sushi which is amazing. try the bali hai roll!

thanks paul and nousheen. we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aminzaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We chose the Fern Grotto Inn for it's central location to all the activities we were planning for our trip. The cottage felt like our own little weekend getaway cabin and it seems the owners may have planned the layout that way - there are pretty much all beach supplies you'd need provided - coolers, boogies boards, water shoes, mats, chairs.....etc. There are several gas grills available so even if you take say the garden cottage which has only toaster, microwave and a fridge you can still cook up a great meal - and then enjoy it in the great garden area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbryant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in the River Cottage for 8 days. You're right on the river, a tad south of Kapaa, for when you want to take the kayak trip to Secret Falls (rent your own). Gorgeous. It's very well appointed and the owners provide several amenities; bbqs, laundry, snorkel gear, boogie boards, coolers, beach chairs, towels, etc. The kitchen was complete with all the necessities; we cooked every morning and all but 2 nights. Kapaa town is only a few miles up the road and has yummy food and shops. Our favorite lunch and hangout spot was the Olympic Cafe. They have an open terraced restaurant/sportsbar overlooking the quaint street and a very good happy hour. The cottage location is perfect; only a 30-60 min drive to anywhere else on the island. Two grocery stores are a mile up the street. Lydgate beach is just a half mile or so down the road which has a small beach with excellent snorkel area that is enclosed by rocks so the waves and surf don't get in your way, but the fish can get in. The next road over is where you begin the hike up to Sleeping Giant. BEAUTIFUL view! We will definitely visit again. I'd love to get a large group and rent out the entire property. If you're not in to resort hotels, like us, then this is perfect for you. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maeappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $259 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing