We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fern Grotto Inn”
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent a long weekend. Spent one night in Garden Cottage and 2 nights in Canal A. They were both nice but Garden was our favorite! Very clean and well stocked. Paul was very helpful. Would highly recommend and hope to visit again. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We found Fern Grotto Inn by chance, doing a web search for places to stay on Kauai. We were going to paradise to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and we weren't interested in a resort, with all of the bells and whistles (not to mention the mass of vacationers). We wanted something private and secluded. That's what you get at the Fern Grotto Inn! Calling it an Inn is somewhat misleading, because it's really 5 individual vacation cottages, four that have full kitchens. From the moment we entered the Garden Cottage, we were entranced. Fern Grotto Inn is the kind of place that if you didn't know exactly how to get there, you wouldn't be able to find it. There is no sign, and when you do finally drive into the driveway, it just looks like you are coming home. What a nice way to vacation! Paul, the owner/manager greeted us in the driveway after I called him to ask if I was indeed in the right place, and escorted us to our cottage. What a wonderful place. Very clean, decorated in soft colors, windows everywhere to collect the breeze and scent of the flowers. The "Inn" itself is very quiet (except for the every present crowing of the indigenous roosters!), and is a block from the beach. You do need to be aware that this beach does not have life guards. The nearest guarded beach is about 15 minutes away. The water was calm during our visit, so we did not hesitate to swim there. Beach chairs, coolers etc are provided for your use, but some of it is old and falling apart. Very nice beach towels are also provided. The Inn is across from the old Coco Palms Hotel, once the premiere destination of the rich and famous (Blue Hawaii with Elvis was filmed there), and there is a book in the room explaining the significance of this old and historic landmark, unfortunately destroyed by a hurricane in 1992. The town of Kapaa is just a short drive up the road, in fact any destination you would want to see on Kauai is not a long trip as the island is small, and Fern Grotto Inn is centrally located. There is no daily room service, so you are pretty much left to enjoy the peace and quiet of the setting without interruptions. Truly a home away from home. If you desire a vacation that allows you to just do nothing, cook your own meals if you are so inclined, and just unwind without an agenda, then this is the place for you. We did renew our wedding vows on the beach a block from the Inn, and are extremely thankful that we found this little piece of Hawaiian Heaven!

Room Tip: Go directly to the Fern Grotto Inn website to reserve your room, not one of the "hotel" si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelsbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I loved staying here. I was alone on my trip to Kauai and I was in the garden cottage. It was great for one person but easily would have been just as comfortable for two people. When I pulled into the parking lot Paul was taking out the trash and he helped me carry my (heavy) luggage in so I didn't have to pull it through the dirt pathways (the island was in the middle of a storm so the entire island was muddy). When I got inside the cottage I will say I was pleasantly surprised. The pictures don't do the place justice. They don't show that the place is fully stocked with plates/utensils/cleaning supplies along with anything you may have forgotten in last minute packing (sunscreen, aloe, lotion, cold medicine). There were activity books, magazines, books, dvds... anything you could really need. There isn't a stove and that is just fine as there is a microwave, mini fridge, toaster, coffee maker... you can make almost anything so you don't have to eat out at every meal.

I loved staying there and felt very much like I was at home. I would recommend this place to any of my friends considering a Kauai vacation. Also. awesome bonsai trees in the garden that you have a perfect view of. Had coffee out there one morning and was a very content vacationer!

Room Tip: I can only speak for the garden cottage and it was great. I rated sleep quality as 4 stars but that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Staying at the Fern Grotto Inn really made this phrase ring true. Stayed in the Canal Cottage A for a week and I only have positive things to say about this place.

- The inn keepers are very friendly and on site most of the time, in the event that they aren't they're always accessible by cell phone.
- A washer and dryer is available for use; which is great b/c this island is like a tropical super duper 24-hour-fitness..between swimming at the beach, kayaking, hiking etc.. Oh and the dirt is red.
-They provide boogie boards, beach chairs, snorkel gear, beach towels and coolers. All you really need are slippers and water shoes - which you can purchase from K-mart or Wal-mart if you don't already have them.
-We didn't use them but they also provide a number of barbeques and one of the best views in the world to enjoy your food.
-This location is the most central to the various sights (as there isn't a continuous highway around the island). It's located right next to the Wailua River, across from the old Coco Palms Resort.
- I noticed that one previous reviewer commented on the presence of giant river roaches and geckos in the room. I'm a huge bug-o-phobe and I did not see a single bug in the room.

Overall we had an excellent vacation experience in Kaua'i and a portion of it is attributed to the wonderful accommodations that the Fern Grotto Inn provided.

Thank you Paul and Nasheen.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilimeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, we arrived when and didn't get to meet anyone who had anything to do with the property until the night before we left. Paul was ? away, the keys were in the room, we were warned about this by email. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, it is one room with a toilet and shower room sectioned off from the rest of the room. Although the toilet has a door and walls it doesn't have a ceiling, so the top is open to the rest of the room. So you have to be comfortable with the noises and smells your partner might make while going to the toilet.

The room was comfortable but the air con was noisy especially at night. We also found there wasn't any information book and since we didnt meet anyone when we arrived we were unsure about things like laundry facilities. There was a waching machine attached to the big house which we did use but did feel like we might be doing something wrong since we were not sure if it was the ones we should use. When we did meet Paul he did seem suprised that there wasnt an information book in the room.

Otherwise it was a comfortable stay. The road near by is very busy even for a small island, but didnt hear much at night. It was a nice touch to have access to body boards and beach stuff and the garden was nice, we didnt use them but there are plenty of grills/bbq's in the garden.

There is also a 70 dollar cleaning fee, I still find this random, the place was clean but not 70 bucks clean, there was dust in the cupboards and some left over products in the bathroom, including someones used electric toothbrush.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed staying in a restful, well-maintained cottage so close to activities as well as being a short walk to authentic Kauai cultural attractions. Paul and his family are considerate inn keepers and have all your vacation needs available.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the River Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenesnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Great central location, a perfect spot for couples. The Inn was comfortable and had everything we needed for a comfortable four day stay. We appreciated the movie and book library in the unit. The kitchenette was well stocked with dishes, pans, and a few condiments.

The bottom line is... this is Inn is a great value!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank SkiBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.2 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,394 reviews
1 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Waimea Plantation Cottages
25.3 km away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
25 km away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $283 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing