We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Place in Kauai Gets Better”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilauea, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rwaites
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“The Best Place in Kauai Gets Better”
Reviewed January 10, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
4
people found this review helpful

After two years away from Hawaii, we returned for the holidays and stayed at Secret Beach Hideaway. This was our second stay in this amazing place. It is very hard to describe in a few words how absolutely breathtaking the experience at this cottage was for the two of us. The Pacific views were stunning, the gardens and grounds were perfection, and the cottage and everything about it was private, upscale, and luxurious. This vacation rental villa property is exactly like it appears on the Secret Beach Hideaway Web site.

The sunsets we experienced from the cottage over Na Pali and Bali Hai (of South Pacific fame) are amazing and spiritual. You can see whales jumping out in the ocean from the terrace. There were beautiful birds everywhere.

The owner, Michele Hughes, has put many years of thought and planning into this place and she is rightfully proud of it. She was very gracious and helpful. We felt really appreciated the whole time we were here.

The private estate in which the cottages are located is set on the cliffs overlooking the northern coastline of Kauai. The property is so large and well designed that you have complete privacy in your cottage, on the private terrace overlooking the Pacific, the private outside jacuzzi area, and the gardens and flowers that surround the cottage.

The design of the cottages is very modern Frank Lloyd Wright style and the furnishings are upscale and contemporary. The kitchen is luxurious with stone countertops, Thermador convection oven, Whirlpool Gold dishwasher, Sub-Zero refrigerator, etc. The kitchen is fully furnished with hand-painted, dishwasher safe dishes, glasses, and very nice cooking pots and pans. The kitchen is gourmet class.

The bath is luxurious with travertine stonework, Kohler faucets and toilet, two shower heads, and a separate outside entrance. (There are 7 total outside entrances with sliding full glass doors.) The bath and hot tub towels are very plush.

The bedroom has a king size sleigh bed that is very nice and comfortable. The bedroom is certainly one of the nicest we have ever experienced in a cottage or villa anywhere, but what was more amazing was that Ms. Hughes had designed the closets in the bedroom with thick sliding doors to hide the sound of a up/down washer/dryer and a fully operational HP multi-purpose business machine with wireless printer, copier, and fax where you can print out items from the internet, including boarding passes.

I guess that something had to give considering space even though the cottage is large, so there is not much room for lots of luggage. But with washer and dryer handy, you don't need lot of clothes in Kauai and you can keep most of your snorkeling gear, etc. stored in your car or SUV.

There is DSL high-speed wireless internet and an Ethernet cord for folks who don’t have wireless in their laptops.

The trek down to the beach is similar to every other property in this part of Hawaii. The properties are on the cliffs over-looking the Pacific. The owner has built steps and terraces down to the amazing Secret Beach which do require some effort and common sense. The trek down takes about 10-15 minutes and is definitely worth it. Secret Beach is so private and stunning that you will want to spend a lot of time there. But there are some people who just cannot make that trek for some justifiable reason. If so, there are many, many beautiful beaches within a short driving distance of Kilauea that guests can drive to.

The cottage rental is about $650 per night at this time during most of the year. This compares with a regular small hotel room down the road at the Westin for $585 and at the St. Regis for $805 or a small 2 bedroom condo at the Westin for $998. In my book, it is a no-brainer to stay at Secret Beach Hideaway.

The only other decent property nearby is the Aloho Sunrise and Sunset cottages, both of which are much less expensive, but you get what you pay for. They are very dated and have no view or beach access, not to mention the luxury of Secret Beach Hideaway.

I can imagine that someone might read my review and feel like I must be exaggerating. I assure you I am not.

I highly recommend this place for your stay in Kauai. You will dream about your stay here for a long time. We did...and are really glad we came back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pinch me!”
Reviewed September 28, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from 8 days at Secret Beach Hideaway. We had stayed at the
Hale Nanea Cottage several years ago and so knew the property. The 40+ acres are
perfectly manicured with beautiful green lawns, gardens, palm groves, gingers, and orchids with expansive views to the beach and the stunning tall sculpted green mountains. This time we splurged on The Villa with its amazing salt water pool. We kept saying "PINCH ME!" as this experience was so perfect, like a dream! We were fortunate
this time to meet the owner, Michele Hughes who has put many years of love and tons
of hard work into making this story book hideaway. Michele graciously invited us to hike
on the extensive trails which she just completed that run up and down the cliffs above
Secret Beach. Sadly for us the Villa is now up for sale so we won't be able to return
here but we will surely keep our eyes and ears open for any new projects Michele is
part of as they will certainly be something extraordinary!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcosette
new york
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We stayed here during the second half of a two-week honeymoon, and it was a welcome respite from the bustle of Honolulu. Michelle, the owner of the property, was welcoming and pleasure to get to know. We stayed at Hale Nanea, which was beautiful. The house looked exactly as it does on the website, and once we got there we almost didn't want to leave to do any activities - we actually spent a lot of time just lounging about on the patio or in the hot tub. The grounds of Secret Beach Hideaway are beautiful as well. Michelle has done a great job landscaping the 40+ acres with different tropical trees and plants. The walk down to the beach takes you along a landscaped path, although it can be steep in some areas and might be hard to go back up if your mobility isn't great. Secret Beach is perfect - you won't find many other people on the wide expanse of sand, and you can just lay out and listen to the waves, or swim, if the water conditions are safe enough. We visited the East, South and West sides of the island, and by far the North Shore, and Secret Beach Hideaway, were the best location!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Make-Time...
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful and tranquil oasis. Hands down the best place to stay in Kuaia”
Reviewed August 15, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We spent 4 nights in the beautiful Hale Ke Aloha Cottage at Secret Beach. When we booked the cottage, we were a little disappointed because we had wanted to spend 2 of our 4 nights in Kauai at the St. Regis, which was sold out. However; after we arrived, we could not have imagined staying anywhere else. Our cottage is the fourth cottage located within the Secret Beach Hideaway, and is not advertised on the owner's website. It is the closest to the beach, but still a nice hike. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, impeccably clean, and it contained everything you could ever need from beach towels/chairs to a large outside grill. If you like to cook, the kitchen was stocked with spices, All-Clad cookware, utensils and appliances galore. The washer/dryer was also a nice touch.

Having explored the whole island, we found Secret Beach to perfectly situated and very central to all sites.

What we loved most about the Secret Beach is that it felt like our home, and not at all like a hotel. It was utterly private and peaceful. And the brilliance of the star filled sky was breathtaking.

Hands down this is one of the coolest places I have ever stayed and I would highly recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlcbos
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed May 18, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

We wisely spent all 10 days of our Honeymoon at Hale Lani and wouldn't have done it any differently. The house, amenities, grounds, location, and service created a luxuriously peaceful, relaxing, and romantic getaway from the stress and hectic pace of our normal lives. The house has everything you need to feel at home, and the views and landscaping are incredible. It is obvious that Michele and company put a great deal of thought and care into this property. We traveled all over the island and explored several beaches, but we both agreed that Secret beach was, by far, our favorite. Princeville and Hanalei are a quick 10-15 minute drive and have excellent restaurants and shopping. You get the peace and quiet of a private, isolated home with the convenience of a resort just a quick drive away. Don't hesitate to book this place. Well worth the money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodyandme...
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed January 17, 2010 for a stay in September 2009

Doesn't get any better! The cottage was superb, well stocked with every amenity imaginable. The grounds were manicured beyond belief with easy to walk trails leading to the best beach in the world! Along the trail we enjoyed flowers, fruit trees and tropical foilage in abundance. The cottage and property offered amazing views of the ocean and the mountains. Only a short drive north to Hanalei town where our favorite coffee shop and seafood resturantare located. We had a private wedding on Secret Beach just below the property that made for the best wedding photo's you've ever seen:) We savored bananna waffles and coffee each morning, sampled beaches all over the island and were always happy to return to the best place on the island... Secret Beach Hideaway! Highly Recommended! Jody and Mesha Jobe

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randymac8...
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Place I Have Ever Stayed”
Reviewed November 20, 2009 for a stay in October 2009

Truly, this was the most spectacular place I have ever stayed. We stayed at Hale Nanea for 5 nights and everything was absolutely spectacular. We felt so special staying there, it was our own little slice of paradise. The North Shore of Kauai treated us so right, and we were so happy to not be down south where all of the resorts are. A sincerely amazing experience we will never, ever forget. I look forward to the day we return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing