We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
31
10
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
10
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerhuge porchbeach chairsavocadoscottagehawaii
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 45 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived yesterday to fabulous Orchard Cottage. Great amenities: not just fruit and granola but milk in the fridge for coffee, coffee beans to grind (and a grinder) and real glass wine glasses! The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans etc. should we care to cook. Lee was most welcoming. The geckos sing to us and we have mastered the mosquitoes with incense provided and our own good sense. The cottage is comfortable and charming. If the weather were better I might brave sleeping on the lanai but the walls have so many windows it is almost better than being outside. Others have complained about cockroaches; no sightings by us!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at North Country Farms for 4 nights at the beginning of July. When we arrived at Orchard Cottage we immediately knew that we should have stayed longer. It felt like a home that was built and decorated with much love and attention. It is a large cottage with lots of inside and outside sitting/accommodation possibilities, very comfortable beds, great equipped kitchen, amazing outside shower (good for you and for the environment) but the most amazing thing are the farm grounds and garden. A true garden of Eden that draws you to it every day. Lee is a wonderfully warm and welcoming host and we wish we had more time to spend with her and listen to her stories and ideas. The farm cannot be better located for a stay on the North Shore of Kauai. Go there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorikad31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a truly relaxing vacation. We had been to the other islands on previous trips, however our experience at North Country Farms will have us returning to Kauai.

Staying in the Orchard Cottage on the farm was an unforgettable experience. The hospitality shown from Lee, her family, and staff was very warm and made you feel at home yet was very unobtrusive. The cottage had all the little comforts you need and really felt like a home away from home.

We too split the trip between North County Farms and one of the bigger resorts which gave us two different perspectives of the island.

This really is the perfect place whether you want to just unplug and relax or make this your base camp and venture around the island. Our vacation was a family trip with our 8 and 9 year old daughters who absolutely loved it. When we visit Kauai again we will definitely return to North Country Farms.

Room Tip: There were two options. The Garden Cottage and the Orchard Cottage. We loved our Orchard Cottage and it seemed a bit more private and removed which we liked. The outdoor shower and the covered lanai with a bbq grill and hammock was a real bonus.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage for 8 days over the Christmas holiday. The island was very crowded, but we were blessed by having our own little piece of rural Hawaii at North Country Farms. The organic farm was beautiful, and there was nothing better than sitting on the lanai and watching the lettuce grow while drinking coffee in the morning. The cottage was in a quiet and secluded location. It is made totally of wood, with excellent craftsmanship and an eye for detail. The bed is very comfortable, and the open design of the cottage allows the tropical breezes to keep the place cool. Our friends, the geckos, helped deal with any mosquitoes that managed to slip by the screen door. Showering in the hot outdoor shower was a treat, surrounded by bromeliads and orchids. Although we mostly ate out, it was nice to have fresh produce, and I enjoyed picking oranges for fresh juice. Lee made sure everything was clean and stocked (right down to fresh flowers in the bedroom and bathroom), and was easily available for questions. If you are looking for daily room service, constant fawning of staff, and a sterile environment, this place is not for you. If you're looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way spot that lets you enjoy being back to nature in Kauai, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Garden Cottage was great. Owner stocked the room with lots of goodies upon our arrival from coffee and creamer to oatmeal and fruit, chips, granola, you name it! We picked salad from the garden. The kitty cats were nice friends, the internet under the gazebo worked fine. Peace and quiet. Nature at it's finest. Bed and pillows were clean and comfy. Owner provided beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, toys for the kids. A great "secret" beach less than 5 minutes away. We thought that their TV would be connected to something (antenna, cable, satellite) but it wasn't. Luckily there are lots of DVDs and CDs to keep the kids entertained before bed. You can even have a camp fire in the yard. Invest in one of those "Off" lanterns because the mosquitoes are relentless. That way you can enjoy the porch in the morning for breakfast. There is no door separating the bedroom from the living room so that might be an issue for some who plan to have people sleeping on the couch. My recommendations for the property: a full size coffee maker instead of the tiny one and more ice trays in the freezer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews