We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful North Shore farm cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Country Farms
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We spent six nights in the Orchard Cottage in late June—two adults and our 6-year-old boy. The place is a delightful retreat, Lee is a welcoming host, the fresh fruit and greens are a nice bonus. Proximity to North Shore beaches is good (with some driving), the local Kilauea village just up the road has some good offerings, and generally being around the farm is very pleasant. Mosquitoes were a bit annoying, but not a real problem. Wish our stay could have been longer!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauaifarmer, Owner at North Country Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Steven,
It was a joy to host your family. I know people are having fun when I rarely see them! Glad you enjoyed Kauai and the farm!
In warm aloha, Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017

My daughter and I traveled to Kauai and wanted to have an experience other than the larger hotels or golf course condos. Lee at North Country Farms was awesome! Her farm is quaint, convenient, charming and very authentic. It was purchased so long ago that an estate subdivision has built up around it although you wouldn't know it the way that the trees envelope the farm. It is a little organic oasis. The Garden house that we stayed in was built from Hawaiian hard woods and decorated beautifully. The front deck over looks the several acre garden. The kitchen is small but sufficient for a light breakfast and coffee. There was a large bowl of fruit and avocados waiting for us, which she picked just prior to our arrival. Lee also furnishes beach mats, chairs, and beach towels to use during your stay. At the end of every day it was a treat to drive onto the farm again, away from the hustle of the tourists. I look forward to going back again.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Very nice Cottage with Queen Bed for two, comfortable lounge space, attractive porch nice in morning sunshine.
Lee Roversi, the owner is a pleasant and helpful person, informative about good beaches, restaurants and places to see. Picking your own fresh salad, oranges, grapefruit, bananas on the farm a plus!

Room Tip: Two cottages available, one for 2-4, one for 4-6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryMagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauaifarmer, Owner at North Country Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for your nice review! Glad you were happy here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This B&B is incredible. It is on a working farm where you are encouraged to explore and and sample true Hawaii. My husband and I were there over 5 years ago and we still talk about this place. At that time you were given a basket of organic food and could prepare your own breakfast at your leisure. We had the best time relaxing here. It is good to read that Lee still owns the place, she is both gracious and allows you to dictate the amount of interaction you require from a host. This is a fantastic place to stay for those who want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: All rooms have access to the garden and outdoor showers so all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank islandmomma69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I came here with my daughter (15) and we loved this place from the first second! We stayed in the orchard cottage and felt very warm welcome with a basket of fruits and a nice talk to Lee. It's perfect located to enjoy the lovely beaches around. The cottage is well equipped with all what you need for the beach (towels, straw mat, body boards), a barbecue grill, in the kitchen you find all stuff for cooking. I can recommend the place to all who like it to stay more private during their vacation.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Katrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

This simple, but very comfortable and quaint little cottage was a dream for us. With an organic garden steps away full of yummy food that we were invited to enjoy. The garden island retreat was just what we needed to feel rejuvenated and relaxed from our busy life back in Vancouver. We did a lot of travelling to Hanalei and the Na Pali Coast from this convenient location. Lee and her family were amazing hosts... friendly, helpful and generous with their bountiful garden of delights. We would highly recommend this cottage!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Lee and her family have got this figured out. My husband and I stayed in the Garden Cottage for three nights and it was truly paradise. When we arrived there was a basket avocado, grapefruit and bananas that had been picked from the trees there, fresh flowers in every room... I felt so welcomed, especially when Lee took the time to show us around the property. They provide beach towels and chairs, and an umbrella and cooler. The bird watching from the porch on the cottage was some of the best in Kauai. the farm is a short drive from great restaurants and grocery stores, and is fully equipped if you want to BBQ. USE THE OUTDOOR SHOWER! It was so refreshing and tropical. The bed was so comfy, and we loved the layout of the cottage. It was perfect for us. Lee, thank you for this beautiful place. Do not change a thing. See you soon....

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walrusiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Country Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Country Farms

Address: P.O. Box 723, Kilauea, Kauai, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kilauea
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic family farm with farm stay cottage in rural setting on lush north shore of kauai with easy access to beaches, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Country Farms Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing