We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful view and sounds of waves”

Review of Poipu Makai #A2

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Koloa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
King George, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and sounds of waves”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great condo with amazing views, right on the ocean. I loved resting to the sound of waves crashing and a nice breeze. We saw many sea turtles and some seals from our balcony. The pool is small but we weren't concerned with using a pool at Poipu Beach. With any condo that does not offer air conditioning (most do not in Kauai), I recommend only 2nd floor and up, for better breeze. This condo is on the 2nd floor. You can count on the Parrish Collection for a great condo stay. They are my go-to rental agency for Kauai.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The awesome view
Liked least: Lack of good Verizon cellular service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francie88
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Needs an overhaul”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This condo has so much potential, however it is in desperate need of a refresher. The entire place needs a new coat of paint and all the screens need to be replaced. They were falling out of some of the windows and we tried to secure them but nothing worked. This meant that some bugs made it inside (do not leave food on the kitchen counter). .

Pro – The unit has beautiful views of the ocean with turtles and seals swimming about. Make use of the binoculars to check out the turtles! A few pairs of snorkels, goggles, and fins are available for your use as well. Snorkelling at Poipu beech is totally awesome! Sleeping with the balcony doors open and listening to the crashing waves was very nice. Lots of closet space to hang up your clothes. Washer and dryer in the unit came in handy. Bath and beach towels are supplied.

Con – If you are looking for a place where you can lounge around the pool – go elsewhere. The pool here is just an oversize bathtub set in a fenced in area along with the communal bbq’s. Not very appealing. Go to the beach instead! As I mentioned earlier, the condo needs an overhaul. The furniture is still in good condition however. Washer and dryer are very handy but are circa 1970. Worked ok though.

We did not spend very much time in the condo. We needed a place to hang up our clothes and to sleep at night. We were out and about exploring every day. All in all a good experience but would stay elsewhere next time.

Folk at Parrish Collection were very kind and helpful. When we called to tell them that the living room floor lamp had toppled over and broke they sent someone over right away to remove it. The lighting in the living room wasn't very good even with that lamp -- new lighting is definately needed now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing The Parrish Collection and taking the time to comment on your stay. Your thoughtful words regarding our kind staff and helpful service are very much appreciated. If and when we are advised that something needs attention during our guest's stay, we strive to respond as quickly as possible and resolve the issue.

The windows and screens are cleaned regularly and I apologize that you found the screens in need of attention. We have already had someone go in and repair and replace what was needed. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. In the future, feel free to let us know while you are here and we will attend to any issue with minimal disruption to your stay.

In efforts to assist our guests in choosing a property to best fit their needs and expectations, we've developed an interior rating system for each property. This explains the variation between Premier Plus, Premier and 'Deluxe' such as this unit, "updated typically within the past ten years". I'm pleased you found the furniture and the carpet in this unit in good condition (the carpet was just recently replaced). Our owners are constantly making improvements and investing in their properties to ensure the guest experience is as best as it can be. We will take a look at the paint to see if it does indeed need to be redone.

The property has recently refurbished the pool and deck area outfitted it with all new furniture. Because of its size, we always have described as a 'plunge pool' used for cooling off on a summer afternoon. You can see in the photos on our website the pool and grounds.

It is nice to hear that your visit was a good experience and we look forward to welcoming you back. Our reservation team has visited all our properties and is available seven days a week to assist you in choosing the perfect match for your future visits.

Thank you again for submitting your comments....

Mahalo, The Parrish Collection Kauai Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Liked least: distance from beach
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OK
Reviewed 7 September 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed 19 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jmiller25
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Paradise with amazing views!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We spent a week in this beautiful condo and loved every minute. There's no better way to go to sleep at night with the screen door open, listening to the waves crash right outside! The furnishings are stylish and beautiful (not your traditional boring corporate condo furnishings), and I would be hard pressed to imagine a better view than the ocean view from the condo lanai. The sunsets each evening were a true highlight of our trip, as was sitting on the lanai watching pods of whales frolic every single day. Convenient location to everything in Poipu (walk or 2 minute drive to Poipu Beach), but a nice quiet property, which we appreciated. We loved having the fully equipped kitchen to cook for our kids on nights when we didn't want to go out to eat. Management was very quick to help us with a burned out lightbulb, and saved us in a pinch when we locked ourselves out accidentally!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Reviewed 15 April 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2011
Thank you for choosing The Parrish Collection for your recent Kauai visit and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize that you encountered any area that fell below our standards. We strive to ensure our properties are well maintained and properly prepared. If there was an area that was missed and/or needed to be addressed, we wish you had let us know immediately as we would have worked to correct the issue. Our contact information is in the unit and we reach out to each guest after arrival each arrival. Unfortunately, we we're unable to reach you and our records show that there was no response to our messages or subsequent calls. In the future, please be sure to reach out to us as we are here to ensure your stay is comfortable and satisfactory.



With regards to the carpet, we have been working with the owner on selecting the right upgrade. In the meantime, we did try to clean it regularly and apologize that is was not up to our high standards. Please note that it is now scheduled for replacement.



We're glad you enjoyed your time on Kauai and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.



Aloha, The Parrish Collection
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18444758274
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing