We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Marjorie's Inn for 4 nights recently and loved it.

The inn & the room: We stayed in the Tradeswinds room. The room was very clean, spacious and had a huge lanai with a view to die for. The room also had a mini kitchenette and was fully equipped with all the utensils, toaster, coffee machine and more. The garage was filled with equipment which we were welcome to use such as snorkel gear, boogie boards and so much more. We also had access to a barbecue which came in handy when we were sick of eating restaurant food! The pool and hot tub is also great. One of the rooms has its own private hot tub, but a another one is available for all the guests at the pool area.

Our hosts were Veronica and Fred. They are amazing hosts who truly love what they do. They were always available to help us plan our stay on Kauai and had great suggestions. They even let us do our laundry in their washing machine! We were greeted with a welcome basket with fresh fruit, sweet bread, nuts and chocolate. Our fridge was also filled with drinks.

The breakfast: The best!! The breakfast here was one of the best we had on the entire island. It's buffet style with a variety of choices: croissants, cheeses, fresh fruit salad and yogurt. On top of the buffet, each morning, Fred made something different: waffles, quiche and an amazing goat cheese and tomato crepe. Veronica prepared fresh pressed pineapple and ginger juice which was delicious.

The location: The inn is located in Lawai and overlooks the beautiful Lawai valley. It's a 10 minutes drive from poipu and the beach.

Pros: beautiful view, clean room with daily maid service, hummy breakfast, awesome hosts.
Cons:nothing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
282
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

From the very start, Alexis and Mike delivered on everything they said we were getting. The description of their home is spot on. This home has all the amenities we would expect from a B&B. The innkeepers, Veronika and Fred were very friendly, accommodating and greeted us at the door with a smile!

Marjorie's Kauai Inn is very clean; we had fresh linens, towels and living space. We had a mini- fridge which held leftovers, wine, and beer. We also had our own mini-coffee pot, microwave and counter space in the TradeWinds Room. There is a Gas Grill which we did not get the opportunity to use, but a washer and dryer which we needed. The grocery store is a few miles away. We found many boogie boards, snorkel gear in the garage.

We spent our early mornings on the porch in patio chairs overlooking the valley. Having rented a lot of vacation homes over the years, Alexis, Mike, Veronika and Fred are great people to work with; they made our stay in paradise! Veronika and Fred were so helpful with booking our excursion; they even printed turn-by-turn directions so we knew how to get there. Breakfast is continental; fresh fruit, baked breads, and something warm like crepes, or specialty omelette with pecans, tomatoes and cheese.

We could not be happier and would love to stay again! We plan on honeymooning in Costa Rica and if the timing works out we hope to stay at Alexis and Mike's other property! After staying at a resort for five days before arriving here, we were thrilled to stay at this B&B--they get it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasTadesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I wrote the following email to the owners. Pretty much sums up our enthusiasm for this place and more importantly the people who shared it with us. Just read a review that wasn't so enthusiastic - seems like the very few negative reviews forgot that this is the owners residence, not a five star luxury suite with all the trimmings less real people. I might be wrong, but seems like the majority of reviewers saw it as we did - B&B is first about sharing a space with PEOPLE, second about the place. Bonus that this place was very clean with a post-card view and incredibly private (no neighbours).

My email to the owners:

Alexis and Mike;
Just wanted to drop a note to say WOW! Marjorie's was so much more than what we had anticipated and thanks so much for letting us book in early! I was especially glad to meet both of you, and Alexis - Linda was disappointed she didn't get a chance to say hi and pass along her thanks for sharing your wonderful place with us. Our only regret is we didn't book longer and we are already making plans to come back somehow. Fred and Veronica were delightful and it was hard to get out the door as we had so much fun visiting and laughing with (and at) them (Veronica was a real 'gem' - ask her what that means - it was hilarious). Wishing you all the best. When we talk with family and friends about the highlights of our trip to Hawaii, we start with Marjorie's. They don't believe us when we tell them we had a French Chef prepare us breakfast every morning. Fred taught us how to experience food as it should be and with a great deal of patience, let me have a go at preparing a crepe for Linda. I think he was a little appalled at my awkward attempt, but as is his way, was very patient and encouraging.

Service was over the top and we found the place very clean. The generous use of your beach supplies gave us a chance to enjoy the beach in a way beyond our reach and we are grateful for your generosity. We felt very at home and relaxed - enough to scrap some itinerary items to make sure Marjorie's was so much more than just a place to bed down at night.

We'll never forget Marjorie's and it's at the top of the list of our 'remember when's'. All the best hoping you enjoy your holiday. We hope our paths cross again some time and our ambition is that it will be sooner than later back at Marjorie's. Fantastic can't describe the feel of it all. Such a cool place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neandertolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautiful views of the valley and central location on the South Shore (10 minutes from Poipu Beach). We stayed in the Sunset Room for 4 nights. The room was spacious, and Alexis and Mike were nice; although we thought Fred and Veronica were even friendlier. There is access to all amenities such as beach towels, chairs, etc. and we were able to keep 2 chairs in our car the entire duration.

The breakfasts are continental with fruit, bread, yogurt. It was good – not great – and since it was continental, it was generally the same each day. While they did have 1 “cooked” item each morning (pancakes, crepes, oatmeal, etc.), it wasn’t completely accommodating for those with dietary restrictions (I was given leftover oatmeal on a second day since I don’t eat crepes). We didn’t get to use the hot tub as much as we would’ve liked because it was drained and re-filled one day and they were cleaning the deck the next day. In addition, there were mosquitos by the lanai and pool, so we didn’t get to enjoy the views as much as we thought. We also asked for additional towels and it took until our last night to actually receive what we asked for. While the view, room and hosts were nice; it didn’t compare to other B&Bs we’ve stayed that were lower cost (including our East Shore B&B the first 4 nights of our trip) and the breakfasts were much better and more filling, the hosts were amazing and the amenities were superior (softer sheets, conditioner and lotion, better towels, etc.).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WICutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marjorieskauaiinn, Owner at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We really appreciate your feedback as we are trying to give our guests the best Kauai experience, 10 minutes away from the traditional resorts on the south shore.
We deal with difficult dietary needs often, (gluten free/vegan, raw foodist). As a matter of fact, Michael eats 80% raw so we are very health conscious. Organic fruit smoothies, fresh island fruits, organic yogurt, island granola, fresh pineapple and ginger juices, are included with the breakfast bar daily.
In addition, as this guest stated, we always have a hot item, even though we only advertise a continental breakfast on every piece of mail our guest receive. We gave this guest choices, and he chose Organic Steel cut oats with organic brown sugar. The following day he was offered fresh savory or sweet crepes made with buckwheat flour and no eggs but asked to have the leftover Steel cut oats heated up instead.
Steele cut oats take close to an hour to prepare and it is impossible for us to prepare it 'a la minute'.
The hot tub takes 3 hours to drain, clean and refill. This is usually done during the day, while the guest is out doing activities. Unfortunately, these guests came home while their private hot tub was still being refilled. We are also regretful that they experienced mosquitoes at that afternoon time by the pool. Kauai is the Garden Island and the only way to avoid them is to stay on the beach.
We apologize for the hour they had to spend by the 50-foot saltwater pool and our second hot tub, waiting for their private hot tub. It takes very little time to reheat our state of the art hot tubs, hence we are able to keep them fresh and clean for each set of guests.
In regard to the towels, we regret we didn't see the note they left in their room until their last day. When we did, we apologized to them for not having provided them daily with the 14 towels they had requested.
Finally, comparing the cost of an East shore B&B with ours is like comparing Manhattan and Brooklyn. Both locations have a lot to offer but real-estate cost is not ;-)
Once again, we thank this couple for their honest feedback. Alexis and Michael – Owners of Marjorie’s Kauai Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just loved everything about Marjorie's. The views from the Inn are breathtaking; room was lovely and comfortable; Alexis and Michael wonderful hosts and took such good care of us. Wonderful breakfasts, sitting on their lanai (deck) enjoying a magnificent view of the valley. They gave us great tips on where to go, places to hit, great hikes. We had all we needed to enjoy the beach, only a short drive away. We would definitely go back and have already told many friends this is where they should stay when they go to Kauai.
Dianne and Julie

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Alexis and Mike are the most generous and welcoming of hosts.
I won't go into detail about the breath taking views, fantastic breakfasts or great lap pool as that's already been covered by previous postings.
It felt as if we were visiting friends. They both go out of their way to make you feel welcome and offer good advice and useful things even when not directly asked. E.g. we were going on the Na Pali coast tour and Alexis immediately offered us sea sickness pills.
They also go out of their way to find out what you like e.g. My nut loving husband was given a bag of nuts for the plane journey home :-)

Good location for visiting Waimea Canyon, Poipu beach for snorkelling (don't feed the fish as it's bad for them) and around 20 mins to the airport. In addition, compared to renting a condo or staying in one of the big resorts this place is great value with a personal touch.

Tip:Make sure you use bug spray around the pool as this place is inland so naturally there will be some insects.

Room Tip: We were in the traveller room. Though this is the smallest it didn't feel cramped. There is a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimboeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Exotically beautiful and serenely quiet, this hillside haven has so many comforts, inside and out, that it was tempting to spend the days there. But there is a most healthful and delicious breakfast, and a garage full of beach and recreational equipment, to fuel you and keep you going all day. The owners extend the true Hawaiian spirit of hospitality and aloha -- so very many endearing things here -- this is THE place to love and long to return to, time after time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixLovedKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawai
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Property: Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Marjorie's Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing