We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
715
261
53
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
261
53
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boogie boards beach towels granola bars pumpkin pie hand painted fresh bananas snorkel gear garden island road noise body boards small hotel office door beach items within walking distance coffee maker close to the airport abc store
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff go out of their way to give a warm welcome. We also appreciated the brightly painted rooms -- a nice change from corporate blah. Good location, and surprisingly near some fun spots for a beach walk.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Aloha, thank you so much for you 5 star review, we hope you return for more Hawaiian hospitality and wonderful location. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a small family owned operation, nothing fancy. The room was small but clean and well appointed with a mini fridge, micro and a full sized coffee pot! I was really surprised by the toiletries no crap here the Marriott around the corner doesn't have better. The hotel is literally steps away from half a dozen eateries and tons of shopping. The beach is a short walk way and the hotel provided chairs towels and sun screen they even have beach umbrellas to use. It's more like visiting family, that you like, than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Ha ha, love the comment more like visiting a family that you like, than a hotel. We are so delighted that you like us and enjoyed your stay. We try to add luxury where we can like our bath products, slippers, sound machines, bedding, towels, and the stocked kitchenette. You can get your morning started with some fresh ground coffee, picked from the tree fruit, and tropical pumpkin pie. Aloha, we look forward to your return! Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great, last-minute find for our first Hawaiian vacation! We were supposed to travel to Kauai a week earlier but Hurricane Lane had different ideas, so we had to re-book everything. Fortunately, we found Garden Island Inn and could not have been more pleased. From the moment we arrived, the staff was friendly and accommodating. Whatever we needed, from a quick breakfast to movies and popcorn, they supplied. Our room was pleasant, comfortable and well-furnished. The hotel is close to shops, food, and, of course, the beach! They even have a nice courtyard where we ate a delicious dinner that we picked up at a nearby food truck specializing in local dishes. We could not have asked for a better start to our Hawaiian vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Aloha, We are delighted you found us! We were well prepared for the Hurricane and so glad it broke down well before passing Kauai. Many areas of Kauai remains unspoiled by civilization, good vibes are deffenatqy found here. Our location puts you mid island perfect for exploring North or West sides. Come back soon for more Hawaiian hospitality! Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location to reach all parts of Island. Very quiet area and close to shopping and restaurants. Lots of beach things to borrow and beach is right across road. Two miles to airport and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Aloha, Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We look forward to having you as a returning guest, that is the greatest compliment!
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is unbelievably helpful. You can check out beach equipment, umbrellas, mats, towels, and snorkel gear for free! You can also check out DVDs for free. The garden is beautiful and the flowers smell amazing. It's literally across the street from Kalapaki Beach, which is gorgeous. Also you can walk to restaurants and shops. I can't say enough about this place. I would recommend anyone to stay here. What a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mahalo we are so happy you took advantage of our complimentary beach gear and amenities just trying to make your experience GREAT. We all share a passion for guest service and are always enhancing the hotel. Thank you for the recommendation and compliments. See you next trip! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews