We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My only complaint is that there weren't enough palm tree-strung hammocks with which one would lie in to take in the beautiful scenery and wonderful ocean breeze. The pool, room and restaurant were all clean. The laid-back service made us feel at ease - no one bothered us at all. The fish pond inside the hotel is unforgettable and made us feel like kids again. Will come back to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    846
    316
    139
    80
See reviews for
634
1,301
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Kauai Resort from 3/4 to 3/9 and we had a wonderful time, even though the weather did not cooperate. I was a little skeptical of our choice after reading some of the reviews but our only complaint would be the spotty wireless internet service. Other than that, we had a great trip. The resort offerred everything we needed and we really liked being in a more central part of the island so that we were close to both Poipu and the North Shore. The staff was very nice and helpful and we liked the various dining options at the resort. I also like that it was not as large as the Hyatt, which seemed a little overwhelming to me. For the price, I don't think you could find a better resort. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Pool View room and were pleased to have a view of not only the pool but also the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfrancis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have previously stayed at this resort and the Beach Club, but this was our best experience at the hotel. We stayed in the Ha'upu Wing and had a partial ocean view room with a great balcony (which really came in handy for people watching and storm watching during a couple of rainy days). The room was spacious, clean, and seemed updated.

The construction of the "complex" is such that you can walk many places...bar, restaurant, a few shops, and even Dukes without getting wet...some days this really helps.

The beach area, while small, is pretty and has plenty of sunny and shady areas and lots of chairs. One day we watched locals playing several games of beach volleyball and one day we saw the finish of some outrigger canoe races.

Even though we were staying in the resort, we received a call to pick up a packet from the Marriott Vacation Club (no "talk" involved) which contained discounts or free items from some local businesses. This included a 20% discount for breakfast at Kukuis (poolside restaurant) which had great banana, macadamia nut waffles with coconut syrup. We did this every morning...great way to start the day.

Location close to airport and short drive to Poipu also helped make this a great stay.

Room Tip: Ha'upu wing had the best rooms we've stayed in. 5th floor (22) had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thor171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
319 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The property, pools, grounds, interior spaces and location were much more than we expected. We spent our first evening just exploring the hotel. When we arrived, it was late. The pool was like a giant, shimmering blue gem. The tiki torches were magical. The sound of the surf just a few feet away was instantly relaxing. Our room was magnificent in every way. We had the great fortune to be on the ground level as close to the beach as you could get. Most of the staff was very pleasant, answering questions and providing direction. The only poor experience was my stop at the concierge desk on Sunday night. One guy was on the phone the entire time. The two young ladies were involved in talking to some guy that had stopped by and was standing by them. I finally interrupted them and asked about a location. One of the ladies flipped a map my direction and went back to their conversation. Not very helpful at all. But I was in no need for more stress, so I let it go. During our stay, a major storm hit. The hotel grounds were trashed, branches were downed, and mud covered the walks and the parking lot close to us. The beach had huge gullys in it. The surf was very high and brown. The pool was an ugly, murky brown-green. The hallway outside of our door had a half inch of water standing in them. People had water inside their cars in the parking lot as the water had been at least a foot deep there. The hotel staff put on a full assault and had most of the walkways cleared of branches and mud by noon. The parking lot was a larger task. Staff had to water vacumn the hallways, and loud driers ran for several days thereafter in the halls. The musty smell along with the cleaner used was a bit overwhelming. The staff worked on the pool for two days and it never re-opened. That's okay because it was cold and rainy anyway. On the day we left, most everything had been put back into shape and a bulldozer was filling the 5-8 feet gullies in the beach. The pool was still green and cloudy. But you can't fault the hotel for the weather. I would LOVE to come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotati, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My main complaint was the noise factor. I was told I would not hear the planes from the airport. Not so. After 10 days the roosters got to me too. It is a beautiful, dated resort if that does not bother you. Staff is great. Duke's is a favorite.

Room Tip: I don't think another room would be helpful. We need to stay in another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler94931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a great Marriott Property. The lagoons are beautiful, the rooms are large and clean. Decks off the room are nice to sit on and watch the ocean. The main restaurant is ok - pricey but most things are in Hawaii. The food is average. I love the couches on open decks around the property. The beach access is good but it's a small beach with a smaller bay. Safe for swimming but not very pretty. The pool is gorgeous but I don't understand why they don't heat it in May?!? It was ice cold. So - we never went in. Would have loved to have been able to swim in the pool but there was no way we could stand the freezing water.

The hotel is just a few miles from the Lihue airport. It makes the location convenient but not always the nicest.

Go to the Italian restaurant just down the beach from Dukes. Really great food with a better view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better and you want an ocean view. The lagoon rooms are nice but you can look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a lovely Marriott property with gorgeous grounds and much more of a 'wow' factor than the property we stayed in the following week on the Big Island (Waikoloa Marriott). There are several bars & restaurants on site -- includng two not run by Marriott: Duke's Barefoot Bar & Grill (give this a miss unless you don't really care about dining) and Portofino (you must go - more than once). Both allow you to sign to your room.

We can certainly echo some of the concerns related by other reviewers regarding service. It is spotty to say the least when compared with our hundreds of Marriott experiences in the past. We too had difficulty with the airport shuttle (and a taxi refused to take us to the property since it was, in the driver's opinion, too close) since it was no where to be found and had to be called twice. There is also an insufficient number of people (competent or otherwise) working at the front desk. Check-in at a Marriott has never taken as long and there always seemed to be a long line.

We had a lovely deluxe, oceanfront room with which we were pleased. It was large and airy with a fabulous view and spacious enough balcony as we had booked. However, it had a problem. The air conditioner had a cyclical buzzing that occurred every 15-20 seconds all day long -- and all night! Of course we reported this the next morning and were told that it could not be fixed. They offered us another room two doors down. We know enough about hotels to know that you should always check the room on offer before packing up. It was unacceptable: not as nice as the one we had booked (and paid for in advance!).

It took all day and several other unacceptable offers before the matter was finally settled and we spent the rest of the holiday in the most beautiful and enormous suite. This had not been our goal, but it was a credit to Marriott that it was how it was finally resloved. Our only concern was that since the hotel was full, they were actually going to put another party in the room with the buzzing air conditioner. We can only hope that they were deaf (or drunk every night so that it wouldn't matter).

The concierge service offered was very good. They were able to book us two trips including the Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour of the island which you simply must take. Worth every penny. And were even able to reprint excursion tickets that were lost in the room juggling.

The beach out front is realy nice and the views of the cruise ships coming into Nawiliwili Harbor very entertaining -- just be aware that the passengers will meander over through their day in port (although they are not permitted on the beach chairs or at the pool). It's always good to know when there will be a ship (or two) in port. There will be more people doing activities that day.

We do not love sitting on a beach, but the Marriott beach chairs are actually on a grassy surface adjoining the beach - so you can sit on the beach and enjoy the surf without the problem of sand in everything. Beware: there is a lot of volleyball on the beach and since all beaches in Hawaii are public, the local residents do set up shop on the weekends. Not a problem, but the beach can be busy.

This hotel is the nicest one in the Lihue area and if you love to walk, there are plenty of wonderful walkways throughout the property and bordering the golf course through the villa area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank professorpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing