We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay At Marriott Kauai Lagoons!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay At Marriott Kauai Lagoons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

WOW what an AWESOME property! Great pool! Great Rooms! Great grounds! Great staff!
Why even consider staying anywhere else! Check out Dukes on the beach too great salad bar and Super Steak and Lobster! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We did not pay for an "ocean view" but the view was very good and enjoyable so don't p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    873
    331
    145
    84
See reviews for
659
1,359
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Kauai Marriot 4/13-4/21, which was our first trip to Kauai. Upon arrival we were impressed with the beautiful and immaculate facility and grounds. Staff was friendly. We upgraded to a room that overlooked the beach/pool on the 10th floor. FANTASTIC. Everything was clean and well maintained. The pool was a highlight, being the largest in Hawaii and they weren't kidding. I especially liked that it was 4' deep all around as you will get tired swimming in a pool that size. There were five hot tubs under every pillar but were extremely hot. Each guest was allowed two towels with the return of the towel card.
There are several restaurants on the property and my pick was Duke's, which features a full salad bar and a cascading waterfall and garden with tiki torches. Drinks were very pricey as was the food at all the restaurants. There is a $20 resort fee per day which was unavoidable. The garden area is beautiful with a koi pond, cascading waterfalls and walking paths. If possible, go to the lobby guest services and get a resort card which gives you discounts to area dining and shopping, as well as complimentary drinks. The staff was accomodating, restaurant staff are so friendly and bend over backward to take care of you. I especially liked the fruit filled water dispenser at the front of the lobby which was very refreshing. There is an escalator from the main entrance which I found helpful when carrying luggage and bags.
A rental car is a must, as the island scenery is too beautiful not to miss. Beaches are somewhat rough and not swimmable, alot of debris washes to shore. But the scenery is not to be missed. The Marriot is easily accessable to most everything being in the middle of the East side. The resort was for everyone from newlyweds, families and retirees. The gift shop on the premesis is very handy but a bit expensive. My suggestion is a walk to the ABC store down the street. Shopping is abundant on the island as are places to eat. Bring your credit card as food is very expensive, as well as gasoline. We purchased a souvenier coffee/drink cup at the resort for $36 (somewhat ridiculous) but coffee was free if you had this. Since glass is not allowed at poolside, it was convenient for beer and cold drinks. Jut a note -- this might be an option for most as two large coffees were $10.50.

Many other reviews comment on the noise from the Lihue Airport, which was literally two miles from the resort. Helicopters fly over regularly (only during the day) but you rarely hear jets.

We traveled from upstate NY, so staying in a resort like the Marriot was certainly a welcome surprise. I had no complaints with this facility, other than the high drink and food prices. Tip: Don't order anything at Kalapaki pool side grill unless money is no option! Two drinks including tip was $30. Parking was a bit of a hike as well and if you come in late expect to park in the far overflow lot.

Roosters and chickens run wild all over the island, and the facility was no exception. They crow at all hours and are even at poolside. They really are no bother and seem to know the boundaries.

All in all I would highly recommend this facility based on the cleanliness, the immaculate grounds, pool and facilities. Since we had a late night flight home, the hotel has the "Linger Longer" program where they charge $75 extra to stay at the hotel until 6pm. This was a godsend to us as we made one last trip to Hilo Hatties and an afternoon at the pool, a quick shower and meal before leaving for home.

If we ever come back to Kauai we will definitely stay at the Marriot again, but would budget for food/drinks a bit better.

Room Tip: 10th floor center has head on pool/ocean view - ours had king bed with mini fridge and coffee maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welches, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

we stared here for our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect. Hannah was absolutely wonderful and accommodating. The room was great, stylish, comfortable, awesome views of the bay. The pools were amazing, it was so fun to swim to the different hot tubs. The style of the hotel, decor, and architecture were all visually striking and relaxing. The bar and restaurant were phenomenal. All the guys working the bar were wonderful, skilled bartenders. They were professionals, it was such a blast to see them every day. Richie was our favorite, but really all the guys were awesome. The sushi was absolutely phenomenal. From California, to Hawaii, to Australia, the sushi at the Marriott was the best we've ever tasted, and we are sushi people. Their sushi chef is a true artist. Beach is perfect, doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Really, I think anything is going to be gorgeous. We had top floor and ocean views, it was stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emariemyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Very big. Nice rooms, nice pool, nice beach. Expensive food, but no reason to eat here given the many choices available nearby. Usual Marriott money extraction approach: resort fee, high-cost Internet, etc. parking situation ridiculous, they really don't want you to leave. Staff nice enough, good housekeeping.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank uwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We enjoyed our 4 day stay at Marriott Kauai resort. It had beautiful scenery and a large pool. It was very spacious to walk around and the beach was amazing. If we plan a trip to Kauai in future I will surely stay here.

Room Tip: Try getting a room in Hapa tower floors 20 or above to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We traveled here for a friend's wedding. Having traded our 2 bedroom in Palm Springs, we were advised our room would have a kitchen. Perhaps the person I spoke with only cooks easy mac, because we had a small fridge and microwave - no kitchen. It was a beautiful resort in all though, just ended up costing much more in hotel food than I had planned.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaimez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

stayed at the Kauai Marriott first week of april. hotel is minutes from the airport. nice central location for people who want to explore the island. around 15-30 minutes to Poipu beach depending on traffic due to road work, 60-90 minutes to the north shore and Na Pali coast. around 30 minutes to waimea. Nice location if you want to do the "Trifecta" of hiking the Na Pali coast, hiking Waimea canyon and kayaking the Wailua River.

regarding beaches, you have nice beaches at Lydgate and Poipu, both short drives. the beach in front of the hotel would be ideal for stand up paddling/surfing or just relaxing. not so great for snorkeling as the water is a bit murky. we did most of our snorkeling on the South Shore.

there are a few restaurants across from the hotel you can walk to. many local restaurants in Lihue which requires a short drive. the food at the hotel was actually pretty good. would recommend Kukui next to the pool. typical hotel food prices, but convenient after a long hike and you just want to relax by the pool.

Room was fine. bed was very comfortable. pool is huge with several hot tubs surrounding. hotel is right on Kalapaki beach. beautiful grounds and koi pond.

there is a $20/day resort fee. also there is free wireless in the lobby, otherwise $14.95/day for in room wireless

overall ideal for people who want to get out and explore the island. kauai's sites are spread out across the island, so you will be driving regardless. hotel is centrally located. very enjoyable stay. would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kala6763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing