We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
385
271
117
49
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
271
117
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed time share ocean view kilohana tower bedroom villa ko olina vacation club pool area marriott timeshare small refrigerator timeshare units beautiful resort full kitchen free shuttle koi pond paddle boarding barefoot bar
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 857 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2018

My husband and I really liked this property. Sits on an iconic tropical lagoon which opens to the ocean; the view from the entire property including the pool and restaurants is lovely. Breakfast buffet is wonderful; all food we had in the restaurant was great. Staff was wonderful; sincerely attentive and friendly. I would say the room keeps me from giving this marriott a 5 rating; it was underwhelming and needed some updating and modern decor. It did have the most comfortable bed ever experienced and we stay a lot of marriotts and Hyatts known for their comfortable mattresses. It was spaceous and clean and we had a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean; we enjoyed hearing the waves even with the sliding door closed. It was also nice that the bathroom sink was roomy and separated from the toilet and shower. Be sure to ask for a room on a higher floor for unobstructed views and with a full balcony. We had a Juliet balcony and where disappointed not to be able to sit outside. Check out Dukes restaurant next door and ask for a seat on the rail for another beautiful view. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor fracing the ocean with a full balcony.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jhub101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are happy to hear your family had a wonderful time! Thank you for sharing your #vacationgreatness and for making Marriott Vacation Club a part of your travels. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

I love this hotel and it's the second time I've stayed on the property I think it's the best place to stay when you're visiting kawaihae cuz it seems to be right in the middle of everything. I love the pool and I love the morning Grab & Go breakfast area and I love being able to walk over to Dukes and having the beach right there. The room we got this year was in the kahili tower I believe and it seemed a little run-down. The room itself was very similar to the hotel but in the bathroom area there was this weird little alcove with a mirror on it almost like it should have been a vanity but was all scuffed up and dirty and there was no light there or no Outlets so it really couldn't be used for anything which seems kind of a waste.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gigigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback on your villa and will be sharing this with the resort management team. We do look forward to your next stay at a Marriott Vacation Club resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent the last couple of nights of our honeymoon at this hotel. It was absolutely beautiful! The staff upgraded us to an oceanfront room and left us a bottle of champagne in the room- really nice touch! All of the hotel staff that we interacted with were friendly and helpful. And the resort itself is gorgeous. The whole pool area, including the 5 hot tubs (!) is a great place to spend a lazy afternoon, which we took full advantage of. Overall, we would highly recommend for anyone looking for a special spot in Kauai!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikekenien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your travels! We appreciate your review and do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

An Old Marriott Resort
This property is a Marriott time-share property.
We stayed here over 15 years ago; this is an update review.

Location:
The Marriott Kauai Beach Club is located in the old part of Lihue, approximately ten minutes from the airport.

It is also about 15 minutes to most other restaurants, shopping malls, and local stores in the old part of Kauai.

Accommodations:
This place is nice, but shows its age. Our unit was nice, but bare minimum for time share properties. It was on the second floor with a garden view; and a very long walk to the grounds and pool area.

The unit was a simple studio with a king size bed and a seating area that included a sofa. Maximum accommodation for two adults. The room and bed was comfortable for sleeping.

In addition, there is a small table with seating for writing or eating. There was an adequate sized flat screen television. There is a small lanai with table and two chairs. The view depended on which level you were on….as expected, the upper floors are more desirable. There is a small counter with coffee pot and a small refrigerator.

Most time share properties now have kitchenettes. This unit did not even have a microwave…..however, one was provided on request.

The bathroom was clean with a single sink and adequate counter space, and a tub with shower.

Amenities:
Parking was included with our stay; access to the garage was with room key card.
It was uncertain whether there was a charge for parking for other guests ($36 per day was quoted).

Wifi was included and worked efficiently.

The grounds and pool areas are old but still elegant and well kept. There are several pools on the property, some connected to each other.

There is a bar area, and poolside restaurant service.
There is no access to the ocean beach directly from the grounds

There is a restaurant that appears connected to the property.
And there is a small shopping center and small local restaurants adjacent to the property.

Staff: Very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Concierge services are available. Activities are also available.

In all fairness to Marriott Vacation Club (time share program), they have made an effort to maintain this property to a comfortable standard level. They have a more modern time share property if luxurious amenities is a must (of course….cost is higher).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Optoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your travels. We appreciate your review and do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We are owners (St. Thomas), used points for our week here. Wanted 2BR at Marriott Waiohai in Poipu, but only thing available (starting 9 mths before and checking regularly) was 1 BR/2Bath here (rm 683/684 Kahili tower – nice ocean view). We had a 1BR/1Bath at Westin Princeville for 3N after this & it really made us appreciate the 2nd bath here (and both baths have shower/toilet in separate room from sink/counter area so faster for 2 people to get ready in the morning – nice!). Got 2 rollaway beds for our large (> 6 ft) 15 & 17 year old sons (no charge for owners, otherwise ~$20/bed/night). They were surprisingly comfortable, called housekeeping for fluffy comforters like on the bed instead of what came with them, < 5 min set-up / put away each day. Room décor is a little dated, but no issue for us.

Visited Marriott Waiohai - SOO glad I didn’t get my first choice! It’s a beautiful property but smaller, quieter pools & Poipu Beach was too crowded! With teen boys, the Beach Club’s HUGE/GORGEOUS pool (largest in Hawaii), 5 hot tubs, Kalapaki beach with waves to boogie board / volleyball nets /never crowded, close walk to food, fire pits at night, etc was perfect. I loved the expansive, lush grounds, gorgeous lobby, & massive column-lined walkways we passed thru daily. Yes, we spent a bit more on food since only had the partial kitchen (we usu eat big bfasts in room on timeshare vacations…could have done bagels/etc this time but Kalapaki Beach Hut, etc had cheap bfasts), but I got a vacation from cooking (and spent less on 1BR vs 2BR). Would definitely choose Beach Club again! Owners lounge has foozball & air hockey tables if it rains. Nice touch we used the last 2 nights (never even turned on TV until then) was free in-room HBO movies – all piled into the King bed w/microwave popcorn!
5 min from airport (call for the free shuttle when you arrive) but no issue with plane noise. Did laundry twice during the week at the W/D rooms (on every other floor, with change machines, free detergent packets in room). Kukio’s on-site restaurant is pretty good, had some hits (all-you-can-eat Mongolian stir fry night w/soup & salad bar, quesadilla, shrimp scampi) and misses (get THREE shrimp w/your shrimp Caesar salad, 3 fish tacos small – hubby still hungry). Get the Marriott cup for $37 - free refills all week. Kukio’s (& hotel) has great ambience at night with fire pits and great lighting right off the amazing pool.

We stayed at Marriott Ocean Club in Maui for last 4N of our vacation, also only 1Br/2Bath available. Rooms were a bit bigger/more newly remodeled than Beach Club. Checked out Marriott Lagoons while here (free shuttle) – not for us, but could be perfect for others. Shuttle driver told me it was built to be condo’s to sell, so have unbelievable kitchens with Sub-Zero appliances, enormous balconies – best rooms of any timeshare. But no restaurant, couple grills, small but nice pool, fitness center and that’s it. Units weren’t selling so Marriott changed to timeshare. Great for families with small kids, family reunions where lots of cooking /grilling/in units alot, older couples with no kids looking for peaceful evenings on gorgeous balconies, etc. For us, too small/quiet, no smoothies / pina coladas on demand, and no beach!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for sharing your #vacationgreatness. We look forward to your next stay at a Marriott Vacation Club resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews