We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to update”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is an older style resort that needs a little TLC. We had a pool view room and could even see a little of the ocean. The king-sized bed was comfortable but the 3rd floor room in building #1 had a musty odor. It's time to replace the wallpaper and maybe the carpet. The lanai was private but small. The multiple pools with their waterfalls and the grounds were very attractive. There was even a seperate shallow pool that was very kid friendly. We had a decent buffet breakfast package that included an omelet station. Other than a pretty view the ocean beach area was unsuitable for recreation. I don't feel that the resort should charge $13 for parking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveDutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before we moved to our vacation rental. Our overall experience was very good. The room was more than adequate as we really weren't in the room--it's vacation! Bed was comfy and the bathroom was very clean/updated. The pool area was great as well as the bar. Speaking of the bar, our experience here was highlighted by Leroy (local bartender). He answered our questions, gave us excellent advice on restaurants and beaches and was very knowledgeable/great service. Kauai Beach Resort should feel very lucky to have an employee like Leroy. The only knock on our stay was the beach area wasn't great (too rocky/lots of driftwood) and the rooms don't have Wifi (only the lobby). Overall, I would definitively stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had the mountain view but didn't really see the mountains from here....more a partial ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I am also going to give Leroy a pat on the back next time I see him. Its people like him who embody the spirit of Aloha in the island and especially on the island of Kauai.

Yes, the beach isn’t very good for swimming but it is a great walking beach. As a matter of fact, across a little stream and not too far of a walk the beach opens up and the reef dissipates there are some nice spots as long as you are careful and respect the ocean as the currents can be very strong. If you are back anytime soon, please feel free to contact me and I will be glad to point out some nice spots.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel is OK if u are looking for a safe/comfortable place to sleep but if u are looking for a resort atmoshphere u will be sadly disappointed. My husband and I stayed 10 nights mid Feb to march 2012. The central location made exploring the island easy but the hotel experience was not memorable. We only ate in the restaurant once, as food was so so As there is no internet in the room we would sit in the lobby to get service only to be viewed by the "Excursion Bookers" to take one more advenure. The parking, which you have a daily charge, is what got to us the most as we found it sadly comical. Hotel management has dedicated the lot closer to the hotel vallet parking. (We never saw this 50 car lot full.) This poor designation of space means that hotel staff doesn't have to walk far BUT that means hotel guests do have to walk, and in some cases VERY far, and even forced to leave paved parking to park in dirt. Not a big deal u say, but if it's been raining and u are in a foot of water, parking on dirt does pose some problems. It is very frustrating that as a 'valued' hotel guest u walk through an empty paved lot (valet parking lot) to your dirt ground parking spot (that u have paid to park in ) under 12 inches of rain now a mud hole. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

You are correct in commenting on the parking situation. We have been meaning to reduce the number of valet lot stalls so that guests don’t have to walk through the empty lot if they choose to Self Park. We will implement that change immediately.

We will also being changing out the internet option in the room as soon as we can. We are under a contractual obligation or would have changed it out a long time ago. While I know that these things are of no consolation to you, I just want you to know that we are aware of some of our shortfalls and that we are constantly looking at ways to improve on our facilities, service and offerings.

I hope that the properties shortcomings do not reflect on the Island as a destination as we would love for you to return, even if it may be to another property – the Garden Island has so much to offer.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago when we were married on Kauai. At that time the staff was friendly, welcoming and attentive. We liked our experience so much we wanted to return. We spent 9 nights in early March 2012 and could not have been more disappointed. The staff, most of whom had been there at our earlier visit, were rude and generally not helpful overall. We had the unfortunate experience of being on the island during the torrential rains that occured, and by our 4th day on the island, we were evacuated from the hotel due to flooding and loss of power. The response from the hotel was dismal. We were told we were being evacuated due to the flooding and "rising water levels" and that the civil defense people had mandated it. Instead of securing other hotel rooms on the island that were comparable, guests were evacuated to a local school shelter, without any mention of the fact that everywhere else below the Lihue area was open and running without issue. We had the good sense to drive 10miles down the road to stay at the Marriott, (at our own expense). The next morning, we were allowed to return to the hotel and offered a free buffet breakfast (did I mention that the hotel had lost power? No thanks!). We were also told that they would not be refunding any money, since the evacuation was due to an 'act of God' so to speak. When I asked if we could receive a letter stating that we had been evacuated due to weather (in order to make a claim on our trip insurance), the woman at the front desk told me that this absolutely would not happen. A few days later I asked to speak with a manager regarding a letter to this effect, and was told she needed to speak with the general manager. I checked back the next day and was told the same thing, and they waited until the last possible second on the day of our departure to get a letter to us. At that time, the letter stated that "guests would be reimbursed for the night of the evacuation", which is the opposite of what we had been told previously. We had to go and argue with the general manager to change the letter to the actual facts, which were that we were not reimbursed due to purchasing the trip through Travelocity. Additionally, for the entire duration of the trip (except the last 2 days) we were forced to drive through an approximately 18inch moat that had accumulated due to the rain in order to get into the parking lot. Once in the lot, there was very rarely any parking that was not in 4-6 inches of water, which meant you had to stand in water getting into or out of your car. The valet parking lot, which was closer and not under water, had a total of 5-10 cars during this time with 25-30 open spaces, but we were not allowed to park there. At the time of check-out, the hotel attempted to charge us $10 for parking each day. In 6inches of standing water. We will not be returning to this hotel, nor would we recommend it. Do yourself a favor and drive to the more southern, sunnier areas of Kauai (Poipu, perhaps). The only benefit to this hotel was its central location. We were utterly disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank waterdog72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

I am sorry to hear that you were here to experience that situation of March 5. You are correct in that the situation could have been handled better and communications could have been smoother. By now you should have been credited for the time away from the Resort.
Overall it was a difficult set of events and we did learn a number of things that could have been handled better in the future. Please accept my apology for not getting it right the first time and for all of the inconveniences that you had to endure.
I hope that these events don’t negatively reflect on the Garden Island and that you will someday choose to return.
Aloha,
Matt Pickett
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Let me first say that we liked this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the location was convenient for driving around the island.

However, contrary to other reviews, we did hear quite a bit of airport noise--several planes take off in the 6am-7am range and also after 10pm, not to mention throughout the day. The pool area was a little rundown. In places we could see that black weed-blocker tarp poking up from under the sand. The beach out front is not suitable for swimming, so it would have been nice if the pool area was in better condition.

Overall though, this was a pleasant, decent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Booked thru hotwire, (it rated it a 4star, after visiting, it might be a 3). Didn't have the classy, Hawaiian atmosphere service or resort amenities that makes a Hawaiian vacation so special. Rooms where updated but still tired. Pool area was ok, but didn't feel clean enough. We stayed one night, close to the airport. Wouldn't advise staying more then that if you are planning to stay, relax and play at the resort.

It seemed that the ownership tried to make it something special by making quick and easy updates, but it lacked a full renovation that it really needs.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregsfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel is ok. Pluses: close and convenient to airport, and a central location to drive up to the NaPali Coast, or West. The Hotel parking lot area did suffer a bit of water damage in the heavy rains earlier in the month but it was all cleared up. They offered a $10 promotional breakfast for 2 which was good value. Over all, the price was fair for the venue. Our room on the 3rd floor was nice. Minuses: On this coast, the surf is too rough, and swimming is not recommended. So we drove to various snorkelling beaches. Basically, we were gone all day, and didn't use the hotel facilities. Carpets are looking a bit tired. Elevator broke down and we used the service elevator. Staff are friendly, but I found they were not that helpful or very clear in their instructions. They have a few activities but we didn't participate in them as they seemed to be filler activities. I think upon return, I would look for accommodations closer to Poipu or west side where the beach is better and less rain.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $228 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing