We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Kaha Lani
Nearby Hotels
US$436
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$411
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Garden Island Inn Hotel(Lihue)
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$597
US$539
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$386
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
201
138
36
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
138
36
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslydgate parkthere is no air conditioningocean frontcastle resortsliving roomocean breezefull kitchennice condocondo resortkitchen utensilsshort walkfalling asleepthe security guardthird floorstate parklaundry facilitymaintenance staff
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 405 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Location and overall accommodation were terrific. Great size rooms, fully equipped kitchen, heated swimming pool and barbecue grills. Only 10 minutes drive to the airport, to Lihue. We stayed for 7 nights with family and friends and enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lenatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This resort was a very pleasant surprise for us. On a budget, we were not expecting high luxury and with its dated construction, it is what it is. But when we saw the gorgeous views and cheerful decor not to mention the full kitchen and spacious living space, this place was fantastic and I would return in a heartbeat. They have a pool which seemed sufficient but we didn't come to Kauai to hang out at a pool. Located on the east side of the island, it is right between the north and south ends which are the more popular tourist spots if you are looking for the beach experience out your front door. We were interested in exploring the island so this location was perfect and the beaches are all close by car anyway. The town nearby is more where the locals live and this was interesting in itself--also convenient for grocery shopping and dining out. There is nothing you can do about the rampant roosters on the island other than pack earplugs so plan on some early nights because you will be woken with their crows starting way too early. We saved a ton by eating in and were able to spend our money on the fun stuff like riding in a helicopter.... all in all a great vacation and resort.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room facing the ocean--gorgeous from any angle.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Furnishings were a little dated, but location and overall accommodations were terrific. No air conditioning, but it wasn't missed; the ocean breeze more than made up for it. We'll return next year!

Room Tip: Our one-bedroom unit had 1 1/2 baths and was more than adequate for two people.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol and Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked a condo thru Hotels.com. I had originally requested a 1 bdrm, but found that they had upgraded us to a 2 bdrm (#122)on our late arrival. I liked this method, because we stayed 8 nights and have found that many individual rentals are for weekly periods only and require a damage deposit. Anyway, the location was perfect for us and an excellent base to tour the island. It is also a short drive from the airport. The beach (very clean) is about 200 ft. outside the glass doors, but is not swimmable because of the undercurrents. Nevertheless, a sheltered swimming area is just a short walk away. The view of the sunrise is somewhat obscured by the trees on the beach, but did not detract that much. Our friends had a 2nd floor 1 bdrm(# 217) in which the view was much better. The furnishing of #122 are nicely upgraded and have granite countertops. There are several gas grills around the resort. Be sure to buy Hawaiian beef or ahi steaks to grill. We found Safeway has the best variety. There is no AC, but you really don't need one. There are alarm clocks also, but you won't need those either. (A smiley face icon goes here!) We did need a speaker phone for a conference call during our stay, and the manager was so generous to lend us their office phone for the call. I guess because we were staying 8 nights, our condo was cleaned 3 times! What a great place! We will definitely stay here when we come back. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, Texas

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Everything was great, from the warm welcome when we checked in to the lovely room we stayed in. We had an excellent view of the pool AND the ocean. Who could ask for anything more? We have already made reservations to stay here at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful. Top floors have nice breezes.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews