We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super”
Review of Castle Kaha Lani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Kaha Lani
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Each condo is different, ours was white tile and spare...our friends had carpet and dark furniture. But on the whole we loved the location and accommodations! Surrounded on both sides by park land...remote feeling, yet so close to the cool little town of Kapaa. Everyone we met was nice. I would stay there again! :)

Room Tip: Ocean front was exactly that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    122
    32
    13
    18
See reviews for
131
162
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

If you want a pool boy to bring you a Mai Tai from his tiki hut to your lounge chair, don't stay here. If you want a fuss free vacation where you can settle in and relax, do. We loved our stay at Kaha Lani, and the best part was waking up to the beautiful sunrise off our lanai. There was nothing between us and the beach, and this meant for patio dining morning, noon and night...and you could make a cup of coffee and hit the beach for a morning walk. The pool is quiet and clean, and the entire property is well maintained-- and for being right off the ocean, that's no easy task. There's BBQ grills for your use, and they get magically spotless overnight. The check-in staff was a delight, and offer basic info about the nearest grocery stores etc. We felt at home here, and part of that was the high number of returning guests who do call this place home for a few months at a time. It's a nice little community, and you don't have to get dressed up to go down to the lobby for an overpriced coffee or escorted to a beach "reserved" lounge chair. Simple and sweet.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewCA94920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Fifteen minutes from airport, not three, extremely hard to find in the dark, no signs. Third floor, no elevator. Curtains torn and wouldn't close properly in living room, Carpet stained and bunched up, tiny little TV, Mattress stunk, bedspread had sperm stains on it (management would not replace it so I kept it in the closet), ceiling fan with God knows what on it, rusty bathroom with no handles on glass shower door. windows all were sticky and would not close properly. to say I was disappointed was an understatement. No daily maid service either, although midway through our stay they dumped fresh towels and sheets on our doorstep in a plastic bag. Full kitchen was nice. Paint was peeling throughout.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Location and overall accommodation were terrific. Great size rooms, fully equipped kitchen, heated swimming pool and barbecue grills. Only 10 minutes drive to the airport, to Lihue. We stayed for 7 nights with family and friends and enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This resort was a very pleasant surprise for us. On a budget, we were not expecting high luxury and with its dated construction, it is what it is. But when we saw the gorgeous views and cheerful decor not to mention the full kitchen and spacious living space, this place was fantastic and I would return in a heartbeat. They have a pool which seemed sufficient but we didn't come to Kauai to hang out at a pool. Located on the east side of the island, it is right between the north and south ends which are the more popular tourist spots if you are looking for the beach experience out your front door. We were interested in exploring the island so this location was perfect and the beaches are all close by car anyway. The town nearby is more where the locals live and this was interesting in itself--also convenient for grocery shopping and dining out. There is nothing you can do about the rampant roosters on the island other than pack earplugs so plan on some early nights because you will be woken with their crows starting way too early. We saved a ton by eating in and were able to spend our money on the fun stuff like riding in a helicopter.... all in all a great vacation and resort.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room facing the ocean--gorgeous from any angle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverine, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Furnishings were a little dated, but location and overall accommodations were terrific. No air conditioning, but it wasn't missed; the ocean breeze more than made up for it. We'll return next year!

Room Tip: Our one-bedroom unit had 1 1/2 baths and was more than adequate for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol and Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
390 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We booked a condo thru Hotels.com. I had originally requested a 1 bdrm, but found that they had upgraded us to a 2 bdrm (#122)on our late arrival. I liked this method, because we stayed 8 nights and have found that many individual rentals are for weekly periods only and require a damage deposit. Anyway, the location was perfect for us and an excellent base to tour the island. It is also a short drive from the airport. The beach (very clean) is about 200 ft. outside the glass doors, but is not swimmable because of the undercurrents. Nevertheless, a sheltered swimming area is just a short walk away. The view of the sunrise is somewhat obscured by the trees on the beach, but did not detract that much. Our friends had a 2nd floor 1 bdrm(# 217) in which the view was much better. The furnishing of #122 are nicely upgraded and have granite countertops. There are several gas grills around the resort. Be sure to buy Hawaiian beef or ahi steaks to grill. We found Safeway has the best variety. There is no AC, but you really don't need one. There are alarm clocks also, but you won't need those either. (A smiley face icon goes here!) We did need a speaker phone for a conference call during our stay, and the manager was so generous to lend us their office phone for the call. I guess because we were staying 8 nights, our condo was cleaned 3 times! What a great place! We will definitely stay here when we come back. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, Texas

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
2.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
2.0 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.9 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
2.7 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
21.9 km away
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kaha Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kaha Lani

Property: Castle Kaha Lani
Address: 4460 Nehe Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9154 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kaha Lani 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaha Lani Resort features oceanfront condominiums adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park and playground, with a walking path along the coast. Centrally located, the resort offers a variety of one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites, all oceanview or oceanfront. Amenities include a pool, tennis court, barbecues, and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Kaha Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kaha Lani Hotel Lihue
Kaha Lani
Castle Kaha Lani Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing