We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Property ~ Oceanfront Toyabrown Penthouse in Kauai, Hawaii” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastline Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coastline Cottages
Ranked #8 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property ~ Oceanfront Toyabrown Penthouse in Kauai, Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I can't find a singe negative thing to say about this property, or the service we received from Coastline Cottages. We were impressed with the property from the moment we walked in, very tastefully decorated and all of the amenities we needed and more. The views were breathtaking, with the ocean visible from two sides. We saw whales constantly, a pretty amazing experience. The sound of the ocean was quite loud, but still peaceful and soothing to sleep to. It's a great south shore location, very close to surf and scuba diving spots. We had just come from a huge resort on Mauai and were looking for a smaller, more private, "do it yourself" kind of spot. And we found it. We would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Kaua'i. The chances are that we won't though. No matter how much we love a travel spot (and we LOVED Kaua'i), there are just too many places in the world to see and only so much time and money. On to the next spot.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
166
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Their Poipu Kai Cottage was simply stunning - we didn't want to leave! And their Turtle Cove Cottage was amazing - from the cozy and comfortable surroundings to the incomparable view every day, everything was perfect. Our visit to Kauai was just what we needed and our stay at their cottages made it all the better. We will definitely go back the first chance we get.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynesfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had a grand time at Turtle Cove. We saw so many turtles and humpback whales too. We experienced a little more rain than in years past but we had the perfect lanai for lounging. We loved the outdoor shower especially when it was raining. Blessings! And the rainbows. So beautiful. The cottage decor was exquisite and we appreciated HBO and the music channels on the HDTV. Wireless internet was a treat too. The best restaurants and grocery stores are just two blocks away. We have found our piece of paradise and shall return for more of the same next winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueportor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Kauai is about as perfect a place as one could find. We traveled the entire island by car, foot, air and sea - all on morning trips leaving the afternoons kicking back on our ocean side deck. The cottage speaks for itself - morning sun, afternoon shade, very comfortably furniture, music on the tube and most importantly the best location. You can walk to everything you need or just watch the turtles and fish below.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valmburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriPKauai, Manager at Coastline Cottages, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
We watched a humpback whale and her newborn play in our bay for two hours last Saturday morning. Simply spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We loved our two-week holiday at their Poipu Kai Cottage. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt last winter and staying in this gracious private home with swimming pool was a much better deal all-round. We enjoyed the short stroll to Shipwrecks Beach and the Hyatt's spa and restaurants yet had a beautiful gourmet kitchen when we chose to stay at home. We've booked the same two weeks for next year. Ask Lori for their Poipu Kai Cottage when calling Coastline Cottages.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Within 15 minutes of arrival we were watching turtles slowly meander into the cove. We never realized how large they could be. My husband and I LOVED relaxing on the lanai with a cup of tea while watching their slow carefree movement through the water, pooping their heads up occasionally. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christybsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

We had a wonderful honeymoon on beautiful Kauai. Lori @ Coastline Cottages assisted us with booking a cozy 2nd floor oceanfront studio in Poipu. We saw so many turtles and stars and rainbows. The ocean was so clean and surprisingly warm. We took a surf lesson, rented a kayak and snorkeled at Beach House Beach. We rented snorkel gear right at the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastline Cottages

Property: Coastline Cottages
Address: 4730 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Poipu Kauai luxury oceanfront cottages are perfect for honeymoons. Locally owned and managed. Celebrating 20 years welcoming Kauai visitors. Emphasis on privacy and service, Coastline Cottages is the perfect choice for honeymoons, romantic getaways, and for those who just want to escape life's hectic pace to relax and recharge. Good beds, fine linens: standard. Massage therapy and private chef service: optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coastline Cottages Hotel Poipu
Coastline Cottages Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing