We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great value hotel in Po'ipu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and great value hotel in Po'ipu”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here while the hotel was still undergoing renovations in August 2011, but we still had a wonderful stay. The rooms are standard American size, with the classic breakfast buffet, except in Kauai which is the definite plus. The staff, as with most Hawaiians we've met, were lovely and extremely accommodating and the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring and not far from Lihue. It's situated near other resorts but it means entertainment options are greater than in other areas of the island. The only downsides would be that it is still a bit pricy considering the amenities are not that amazing, and that the garden pool is not great. On the other hand, it has the best beachside pool on the island and lounging by the pool with the sea views is simply unbeatable. We would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your positive review of our Resort. We were very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort and hope to see you again very soon for your next stay on Kauai.
Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    755
    360
    163
    102
See reviews for
484
1,243
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Last time that I was at the Sheraton was 5 years ago. We had such a great time. Loved going to watch the hula dancers at the point and having a drink as we watched the sun go down. It was great. Very old school Hawaii . They even had the young men that ran to each tiki torch in native attire and blew conch shells. not anymore! Very disappointed. It's too corporate now. The restaurant is very pricey and plays a techno beat at dinner. Where is the Hawaiian music. Although the employees are very nice it's just a corporate robot feel. To bad the Sheraton had to change. P.S. ran into a few employees that we had met before and they missed the old Sheraton too. Just saying ......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I have read your review and will share this with our executive team. We take all and any comments seriously and share them with our team so we may resolve any and all issues. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments and if you would like to discuss your visit with a member of our team please contact the Sheraton Kauai resort directly and speak ask to speak with the Manager on duty.

Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The location, grounds, beach were great. Was disappointed with construction outside of room even though website indicated all construction was complete. Was disappointed that open air beach view bar/grille closed at 5pm !! even though one could go to closed in (but great views) adjacent restaurant. Was a bit put off by cost ($27/person) for breakfast buffet although buffet was very good with many many choices. But overall, the experience and the hotel were very good.

Room Tip: call to make sure ALL construction is complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your recent post. Your comments have been shared with the operation team and we will use your feedback to improve our services. We have extended the hours of the pool bar and continue to enhance our food and beverage options.
Again thank you for taking the time to post your review. If you would like to discuss your recent stay with us please contact the resort directly and ask to speak to the Manager on duty.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in early Feb. 2012 and found that the hotel was quite nice. One of the drawbacks was that construction was still underway. I thought it was to be finished by our visit as I had read on the hotel website that it was to finish by late January. However there was still a lot of digging and large construction vehicles/bulldozers passing on the boardwalk.

The hotel is made up of a number of buildings spreadout over a pretty wide space. I ended up in a room on the other side of the street and it was still considered a partial ocean view since technically from our window/balcony we could see the ocean. The rooms were a reasonable size and clean.

The pool was nice but was a little on the small side and overrun with children but the water was heated. We stayed on the south side on purpose as the water wasn't supposed to be as rough but the water right in front of the hotel was really rough. I walked further down the boardwalk and the water in front of the Marriott and Hyatt seemed to be a little less rough. Much of the coast is covered with lava rock so I found the entrance to the beach in many areas to be rocky and lots of shallow reefs so caution was needed in the water.

The service upon checking in was slow to start but we had good service for the rest of our stay. When we first arrived the check in counter had 3 people behind the counter with one person servicing a guest and another guest in line followed by us. Unfortunately the check in process was extremely slow and we didn't get up to the counter for 15 minutes despite the fact that there were even 5 people working behind the desk at one point. They only seemed to service one guest at a time. As mentioned, the service the rest of our trip was great. The concierge and wait staff by the pool were great and very attentive. The pool staff even came around offering guests freezies which was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I have shared your comments with the Front Office and they will use your feedback to assist them in their efforts to improve service. We as management take all and any comments seriously and do share them with our staff to resolve any and all issues. I was pleased to read that during your stay our staff serviced you well.
Again thank you for your post and if you would like to discuss your recent visit with a member of our guest services team please contact the resort directly and ask to speak to the Manager on duty.

Mahalo,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
147 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the garden view room for 6 nights from late March to early April and right off the bat Leeona from the front desk gave us a big welcome as we arrived. She suggested where we should eat and made sure that we had everything we needed before we went to our room. We then met Jean who helped us rearrange our activities to ensure we had the best sunny days for them. She even gave us to free grocery bags for our visit. My girlfriend hurt her knees and the front desk was so kind to offer her pillow and brought her ice bags to our room.

The location was perfect...right in the middle of everything. Few steps from the ocean and to many great local places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your positive post. We are happy to hear that Leeona, Gene and the Front desk exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to ensure that all our guests feel special. I will be sure to share your post with them.

Mahalo,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Was very very impressive. Great big rooms (deluxe ocean front) which lived up to all expectations.
I'm not a big pool fan much preferring the ocean but this spa and pool combo was great. The beach out the front was pretty nice too but not the best.
All the grounds were immaculate and all staff were lovely with a special mention to Janet flipert.
Was worth the cash and would highly recommend and stay again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank makybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your recent positive post. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room and the grounds. It was nice to hear that Janet Flipert made a special connection. I will be sure to share your comment with her.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your positive review.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing