We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
54
20
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
20
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shipwreck beach great vacation retreats master bedroom suite paradise boogie boards beach towels every morning lots of pillows surrounding grounds great walking paths ocean view grand hyatt washer dryer highly recommend this condo nice condo snorkel gear comfortable furniture
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 83 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We've stayed at many other Poipu Sands condos(even those ocean front ones looking directly at the Hyatt and Shipwrecks) -- this is our fave. We've also stayed at many other complexes and as former owners of a unit at the Makahuena, we appreciate this condos decor and quiet location.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

My husband and I rented this condo at Poipu Sands for two weeks from the Parrish Collection. The booking process went well and we were looking forward to a relaxing stay at this property. Unfortunately that didn't happen. We encountered a major problem as soon as we arrived. There were a great many roaches in the kitchen drawers, cabinets and under the sink. I called The Parrish office for help and they sent the property manager to the condo. She brought bait and sticky traps. I expressed concern that the traps might not be enough in this case and maybe the kitchen should be sprayed. She told us the unit had just been sprayed the day before. We spent the night only to find roaches still in the same areas of the kitchen and at least 10 caught in the sticky trap. I called the Parrish office again and told them we would like to move to a hotel for a few days until they got the problem under control. They agreed and said we wouldn't be charged for the days we were out of the condo. We returned three days later to find roaches still in the kitchen. We were not happy since I would have expected them to try spraying while we were out of the unit. After another call to the office we were told the best solution to this problem would be for us to find another place to stay the next ten days since we were not satisfied with their efforts. They also changed their mind about refunding us for the days we were not in the condo. They would be charging us for 3 1/2 days, not just 1. We decided to leave since we didn't want to waste any more of our vacation time trying to solve this issue.

Since returning home, I've made a few phone calls and found out the condo was NOT sprayed the day before we arrived. In fact it hadn't been sprayed for several months. Parrish didn't seem to be aware of this and kept insisting they weren't going to call pest control since the condo had been sprayed. If they had bothered to call the pest control office they would have found out the workers were not given the proper key to the unit by Parrish and weren't able to enter. If they had made that one call this whole situation might have been avoided. I see this as a case of poor customer service and will not be renting any of their properties in the future.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Marborntorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrishKauai, Manager at Poipu Sands Condominuims, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Aloha Marborntorun, Again, we are extremely sorry you experienced island pests after your check-in. They are part of nature here and everywhere, but we do all we can do with preventative maintenance. Our properties are on a routine treatment and this unit was missed due to the previous long-term guest not wanting treatment during her stay. Unfortunately, just one missed treatment can allow the perimeter to weaken. Our Property Manager was honest and correct in stating we did have the unit sprayed before your arrival once we found out the treatment was missed. After a treatment, it is natural for the pests to become active before dying off. We had thought we got it in time and follow-up with housekeeping, but unfortunately it was not and again we apologize. Your stay was paid in full and we refunded all unused nights so you can enjoy Kauai elsewhere. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and know that this experience is out of the norm for sure. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2016

This was our first time in Kauai and we would definitely return. The island is beautiful and we found it was more laid back than the other Hawaiian islands. The weather in Poipu (south part of the island) was gorgeous and sunny, and Poipu Sands was the ideal accommodation. We stayed in Unit 114 -it is a large ground level 2 bedroom unit with lots of space and a very short walk to the pool. It was well appointed and maintained. The view from the unit was great and the resort is walking distance to Shipwreck Beach (right beside the Grand Hyatt) and a less than 5 minute drive to Brennekke Beach and Poipu Beach. There are lots of restaurants in the area that you can either walk to which are a short drive away. Suite Paradise was professional and easy to deal with. We would book at Poipu Sands again in a heartbeat and would recommend it strongly to others.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 885staceyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We rented unit 525 (second floor, two bedroom, two bathroom unit overlooking Shipwreck Beach) via Parrish rentals and were very happy with the location, the unit and how well it was kept.

All the rooms have ceiling fans and some louvered windows so there is always a good breeze (this is not air conditioned). This is a two-floor unit - master bedroom is upstairs with its own lanai and a large shower with louvered windows (which was lovely).

The bathrooms have been updated and are in great shape. Lots of closet space. Plenty of crockery, glasses, silverware and so on. Full sized fridge, toaster, coffee maker, kettle - we ate breakfast there and generally had dessert and tea/coffee there, but mostly ate out so I can't comment on doing big meals in the kitchen. It certainly looked as if it would handle it.

The WiFi was good throughout the unit and on the lanai and we have AT&T phones and had reception pretty much everywhere we went (I didn't check on the helicopter tour, so maybe not there :) )

Parrish were very helpful the couple of times I called them - once because we couldn't figure out how to get the showers to turn on (pull out on the handle!). We had no maintenance issues while we were there.

There was unfinished construction on some new units nearby - we couldn't see them from our unit and didn't hear them working at all (don't know if they were or not; we'd been told it was 9am to 4pm only).

Sitting out on the lanais (there's one up one down) with tea or coffee in the early morning is wonderful. A gorgeous view of the sea and sunrise with palm trees at the Hyatt waving in the foreground.

It's nice to be able to walk over to the Hyatt's restaurant or Shipwreck Beach (which really isn't for swimming). We drove to Poipu Beach park, but it is apparently walkable.

Lots of good restaurants nearby.

Room tip: The unit has two floors. Might be better for families with older kids versus very young ones.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

We feel so incredibly blessed to have found this location and the condo! Right in the heart of the best beaches, going, snorkeling! Easy drive to fabulous restaurants and sunsets did NOT disappoint! It really 10 minute walk from condo to the cliffs where we saw turtles, dolphins and whales DAILY! Loved it!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BJHsafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews