We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kauai Marathon? You Want to Stay Here.”
Front Yard!  Sometimes you want to sunbathe  without going to the beach, or during toddlers' naps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Yard!  Sometimes you want to sunbathe  without going to the beach, or during toddlers' naps.
Ahe Lani dining area with seating for six is comfortably close to the kitchen. Ahe Lani kitchen has granite countertops
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Front Yard!  Sometimes you want to sunbathe  without going to the beach, or during toddlers' naps.
Ahe Lani dining area with seating for six is comfortably close to the kitchen.
Ahe Lani kitchen has granite countertops
Poipu's Baby Beach is just a 2-3 minute walk from Ahe Lani.  Knee deep water and no waves.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jipewp
justin texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not What we expected”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed 2 week in the home. It is beautiful, clean and has all needed supplies. however; we found it very uncomfortable it is located behind and surrounded by mutiple 2 story homes that will not allow cooling breezes to enter the home. Itd was rather scary to arrive and find a letter from the rental agency to keep doors and windows locked because of robberies. and then the neighbors were sawing , drilling and generally making loud moises from around 100am until past dark so there was no staying and resting. The refrigator doesnt work well and in fact there is a note from rental agency to not put much in it because it wouldnt cool properly. we were staying 2 weeks so we stocked up on our fist visit to coscos and the found out it isnt cooling well.
It is miss=leading on the pictures, we were aware it wasnt dirctly waterfront, however te pictures lead us to believe that it had one home in front of you and Baby beach at its best is VERY VERY SMALL!!! So if you cannot stand loud noise, from the neighbors, hot nights, and poor electronics then do not stay here.

We will say the cleaning ladys do a great job and the place is very clean and its pretty just need some extras, better electronics, A/C and quieter neighbors!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a beautiful home the decorations were very nice
Liked least: NOISE Locations to water, and IT was very HOT and uncomfortable. average temp 86-87 with poor ventilation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
This is the first bad review we have ever received.

The house is designed for the tropics, with three-sided ventilation in the master bedroom and living room to catch the breezes and it is normally very cool inside because of the predominant cooling tradewinds. There are a few days annually of light "Kona" winds from the south that are hot. Very few houses in Poipu have any A/C, except for the noisy window boxes.

There has been a string of small robberies throughout all the rental houses and condos in Poipu. Our house has never been robbed but we need to warn everyone of the possibility.

This is a quiet neighborhood, but we have no control if one of the neighbors does a minor remodel which, unfortunately, happened while during this guest's stay.

The refrigerator works fine. The note in the refrigerator states that when the refrigerator is initially fully loaded it takes time to re-cool everything because it is 85 degrees outside and the door is probably opened a long time to load the refrigerator.

The house is the third house from the ocean and the Baby Beach photo clearly states that the beach is a 3-4 minute walk. We tell every prospective guest that Baby Beach is a small beach with no services and knee-deep water. There are also several other beaches nearby.

It is difficult to keep the electronics working properly in the tropics because of the humidity and salt in the air.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for the kind words and come back often! We offer return guests a 5% discount for each return visit, up to 20% off for the fifth and subsequent visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OVMarpet
ORO VALLEY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Kauai Getaway House”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ahe Lani is a great plantation style beach area house. We say beach area because even though you can hear the ocean surf 24/7, you are still a 5-minute walk away from Baby Beach and maybe 10 minutes from Beach House Beach. The house seems larger than it looks from the photos and it is 1300 sq. ft. Even though it was built in 2005, you would think it was only a few months old. It is very well constructed and extremely well maintained. No A/C but lots of ceiling fans to keep you comfortable. Fully stocked kitchen (at our suggestion the owner has just replaced the dinnerware) with granite countertops and washer / dryer. Wi-Fi worked great the entire stay. Beach supplies including “Boogie” boards are in the storage room. Kukui’ula Shopping Village .(Bubba Burger and a great Farmer’s Market mid-week) is just a 10-minute walk while the old sugar plantation town of Koloa (Big Save groceries, dining, shopping) is only 5 minutes by car. We spent mornings and evenings out on the lanai enjoying the cool breezes and tropical landscaping. Lots of vegetation out back and all around – coconut palms, hibiscus, grass and other lush tropical vegetation.
To get to “real” beaches (ie: shores - those that offer sand to lie on and accessible waves for boogie boarding), you’ll have to drive a short distance to Poipu Beach / Brennecke Beach) about 1-1/2 miles away or up to the north shore. Don’t misunderstand, the location for Ahe Lani is great – very relaxing, cool breezes, great landscaping and the soothing sound of the surf. The only thing we might ask for to make it perfect would be a flat screen TV … but you don’t go to Kauai to watch TV did you? All things considered, we think Ahe Lani would be hard to beat for a nice relaxing stay on Kauai’s south shore – don’t pass it up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was extremely well maintained / clean
Liked least: Wish there were better beaches in the area (South Shore)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for the kind words and please come back often! We offer return guests a 5% discount for each return visit, up to 20% off for the fifth and subsequent visits. Since we don't raise the rents 5% a year, our return guests usually pay less on their return visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for the kind words and please come back often! We offer return guests a 5% discount for each return visit, up to 20% off for the fifth and subsequent visits. Since we don't raise the rents 5% a year, our return guests usually pay less on their return visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
murrayhil...
Tarrytown, NY
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I had a good feeling about this place based on prior reviews as well as my interactions with Buzz Wisda. I was not disappointed.
The cottage is located in a great location in Koloa, a very short drive from the prime restaurants, shopping and beaches in Poipu, five minutes from Old Koloa Town and just a couple of minutes down the road from the Spouting Horn.
The cottage was much larger than i expected, with each of the bedrooms having access to a spacious, dedicated bathroom. The home is immaculate, well-appointed and plenty of aloha spirit. You want to be there.
Having TVs in each bedroom as well as the living room are a big plus for different tastes and wake-up times with young kids. Not that we were there to watch TV, but there's always that down time.
There's a lanai for meals outside or just lounging about. And if there are any concerns, about the lack of a/c, no need. The fans as well as the ocean breezes at night are more than adequate to keep you comfortable.
Outside of the occasional rooster (welcome to Kauai), the house is quiet. We didn't see our neighbors in the larger cottage next door until the day we both left.
I'd happily return here and hope one day I do. The Wisdas offer a lovely, reasonably priced home that makes a special island all that much more speical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyB_12
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Darling house just around the corner from a quiet, kid friendly beach”
Reviewed February 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This house is even nicer than it looks in the pictures. It has a nice open floorplan. The house had everything we needed. The house was much nicer than the more expensive rentals in the same neighborhood. It was a very good price for such a nice house. We were able to walk around the corner to Keiki Beach. The owner, Jim, is very nice and helpful. We had a great trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Reviewed October 2, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing