We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at Poipu Kai
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a very large condo complex. We stayed in Poipu Sands. The unit was very nice, cozy and clean. We were on first floor, so everyday I walked about 2 minutes to Poipu Point with my coffee and watched a lovely sunrise. We were next to Kauai Hyatt and walked past the property to get to the beach. We loved the layout and were able to walk for hours. There are about 7 pools in the complex.Everything was perfect, although I would have liked to be closer to the ocean. I have a unit picked out for the next time we go. I am really eager to get back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Aloha!

Thank you for sharing the GOOD NEWS!!

We appreciate your wonderful comments and hope to see you return next year.

A Hui Ho -

Malana deSilva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    101
    31
    18
    24
See reviews for
111
84
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We went with a group so I saw several units in addition to ours. This is a large condo compex with units rented by several companies including Aston as well as Suite Paradise among others. Caution: units have no air conditioning. We went in January so it wasn't a big deal but this needs to be better noted more clearly on the website.

Our unit, 121 kahala had a small space a/c unit in the bedroom, but the bed was really terrible (poor quality mattress) 131 has a fantastic view and great bed. Kitchens had microwave, fridge, stove, dishwasher.
The staff would not permit me to select my room number in advance, nor would they tell me what number I was assigned to, even though when I arrived, it was clear that a room had already been assigned (envelope with name, room # and key). That's poor service, as they should have been open to disclosing the unit number when we called that day.

There is no restaurant on the property but there are two very nearby. Pool and hottub were adequate. Several bulbs in our unit were out.

Maid service essentially consists of replacing towels and taking trash every day, and vacuuming/changing sheets every other day. Bring your own laundry detergent, stock up on supplies etc at the big save in Koloa.

Overall good value, decent place but not allowing guests (we prepaid with our package!) to select, confirm or even be told our unit number before arrival was not cool.

Bottom line I'd say fair/decent accommodations at a good price. Short walk to beach, and pleasantly surprised to see ocean from our garden view unit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank omar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the "GOOD NEWS"! Our team at Aston Poipu Kai is willing and ready to make visitors to Kauai have a great vacation.

We look forward to having you stay with again!


Aloha,


Malana deSilva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belthel, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were in room 301. My parents (both 70), wife and two boys (Almost 2 and 5) were in a two bedroom garden view condo. They provided a crib for our younger son. They put in a new refrigerator the day we got there. The place was nice. Free internet, flat screen TV, a short walk to two pools (one with a hot tube), 5min walk to two beaches (one was great for body boarding and the other was great for snorkleing) a sea turtle came up onto the beach one day while we were there. Don't expect a five star hotel but it is a nice afordable place to spend some time close to the beach, and be able to make your own food in the condo's kitchen or use one of the many gas grills on the property.

Room Tip: Look on trip advisor to see what rooms poeple liked and request one of those rooms. That is what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellyliming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have been to Kauai many times & prefer staying in condos since hotel/restaurant dining can be expensive! The BAD NEWS: Condo is not on the beach, but close enough to drive or walk...lots of road work between Lihue & Poipu at this time, so expect to crawl along that corridor especially rush hour. THE GOOD NEWS: The two of us were upgraded to a 2-bdrm condo, one of several managed by Aston in the area - appeared to be recently renovated, quiet mountain-view unit, well-stocked kitchen, spacious living/dining area & bathrooms (wish we had 6 more people with us)...no minimum nights stay, so we were there for 2....Stopped at a supermarket by the airport & got a few goodies...checked in by friendly staff, got 2 free movies from kiosk in the main office, stuck them in our complimentary reusable shopping bag (plastic bags are banned in on the island..Yay!)...Maids changed the towels, emptied the trash & tidied up a bit...Checked out the nearby Kukuiula Shopping Center's boutiques & their Wednesday farmer's market with farm- fresh produce & local food vendors (try the heavenly Hawaiian-kine pies!) Great place to relax, & we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had Makanui Unit #421, no elevators to 2nd floor, but it was quiet & had a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our condo was in excellent condition and a 5 minute walk to the ocean. everything was included as far as for cooking, stove ,microwave,refrigerator all in working order as well as a dishwasher . We were able to drive to the local grocery store and stocked up on food as eating out gets to be very very expensive. Of course we were shocked at the prices at the grocery store. If we ever decide to go back to Kauai we would definitely stay there again. PS the beds are uncomfortable

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was our second trip to Kauai, as well as our second staying in a condo style property. We were extremely happy with our choice at Aston Poipu Kai. From the well appointed room, meticulously kept grounds, and proximity to the beach, what's there not to like? I would recommend this property to a friend, and plan on returning there for future vacations.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The rooms vary significantly. Ours was by far the worst out of the group we were with. Besides not having been remodeled, the dishwasher was not bolted down and therefore was quite a hazard when loading. There was not enough dishes for cooking, the fridge was rusted, the bathroom was in a state of disrepair, and there was no daily maid service. On the other hand, our room had a loft and we could see the ocean from the lanai. If you stay here, be sure to request a remodeled room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Baajlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Aloha! I am terribly sorry that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. As this is a secure site, I cannot research the exact room number you were in. I would very much like to take a personal look at this unit and be sure it is on our renovation list. I will provide you my e-mail address if you have the time malana.desilva@astonhotels.com to contact me.

We were experiencing some linen issues around Christmas which may have attributed to the limited Housekeeping. Unfortunately, our laundry service suffered a fire the week before and was having electrical issues to get back up and running.

I would hope that we may have the opportunity to host you again, in one of the many renovated condos! Aloha - Malana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Poipu Kai

Property: Aston at Poipu Kai
Address: 1775 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Poipu Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 70 acres of Kauai's sunny south coast, this condominium resort delights guests with ocean views, tropical gardens, private pools and tennis courts. Golf, dining and shopping are all nearby. This prime location is adjacent to Brennecke's Beach, Shipwreck Beach and the "Spouting Horn" blowhole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Aston at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Resortquest Poipu Kai
Aston At Poipu Kai Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing