We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$489
US$479
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$739
US$409
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$467/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
US$574
US$529
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$647
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,857 results
Traveller rating
786
669
223
120
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
669
223
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach hutcactus gardencastle resortsroyal garden viewathletic clubroad noiseno air conditioninglouvered windowsbeautiful groundsthrough vrbopoipu roadbedroom condocloser to the beachlaundry facilitygreat beachpartial ocean viewfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 1,857 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous, the sunsets from the property are amazing, loved the lanai for morning coffee and evening cocktails, appreciated the complimentary lawn chairs to enjoy the sunsets on the expansive green lawn. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 15th anniversary and our second stay at Kiahuna. We were first there on our honeymoon. Our condo was updated and very convenient to the beach. Lots of amenities. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant there is excellent. The sunsets were awesome; you can view the sunsets from the beautiful manicured lawns or the beachfront, your choice.
We had a wonderful Lanai overlooking beautiful tropical gardens, so relaxing and so much paradise!
The units are not air conditioned but the trade winds, efficient fans, and open plantation style windows kept it cool enough for us (almost 100% of the time). We were there in Oct both times so i'm not sure if it's much hotter in the summer.
The owners of our unit left info on their favorite things to do which was helpful to us.
Some of our favorites were kayaking the Wailua, visiting Atherton botanical gardens, hiking the first 2 miles of the NaPali trail, and beaching & snorkeling at Mahaulepa beach.
We will definitely go back and we will definitely recommend this resort. It's 4 star!!

Room Tip: End rooms near a walkway may be noisy with foot traffic. Choose a room away from Poipu Road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quiltandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved our stay at the Outrigger! Because we didn't stay a whole week, we only had housekeeping come in and change towels one time. We were there 5 days. It was just two of us adults, but I can see where you would need housekeeping to come in more often if you have a family and they are tracking in sand, etc. I don't remember why they said we didn't get maid service each day, but I think it is because it is a condo and you are to stay for the week? You might want to check on that. Overall, it was a clean place. Be prepared to listen to Roosters crowing all hours of the night. Haha!

Room Tip: You can't see the beach from any of the rooms. So, it doesn't really matter where you book. Do ask to book a room closer to the registration building. It is more central to your activities that way. None of the rooms have A/C.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Kathleen B,
Thank you for the review. We are more than happy to provide additional housekeeping services at a small additional charge.
We are trying to control our rooster popluation Hopefully, there will be less next time you visit.
Aloha,
Chris A Gampon
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had room #228 in building 35. Very near the office and garden. Within walking distance of
the pool and beach.
The site is immaculate and so was our unit. Well equipped and everything seemed new.
Housekeeping service was first class, also very helpful and friendly.
The office staff and concierge were excellent. We took their recommendations for some events and we were delighted with all of them!
We would definitely return and would also recommend to friends.
A washer/dryer would have been nice. Being on the second floor was good and bad.
Good for privacy, bad for climbing 33 steps! Good exercise tho!

Room Tip: Second floor is nice for privacy and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Ray B,
We appreciate your complimentary review. 12 nights in Poipu is a real treat.
Hope you are able to return again soon.
Thank you so much.
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just got back from Castle Kiahuna Plantation in Kauai and I highly recommend it. Our first floor unit was spacious, with a wonderful lanai. It was well-appointed and had the amenities that we wanted. Our unit overlooked a spacious lawn facing the ocean, with the beach just steps away. There were numerous restaurants in Poipu Beach and Koloa and many activities originating there. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocolatelover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews