We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Unit, Unbeatable Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2010

First, this property has a Koloa address but is on Poipu Beach. That confused me when looking at properties, because Koaloa Town in a few miles inland. By all rights, it should be listed with the rest of the Poipu rentals.

We had a great time, but we had a great unit. (Bldg. 24, Unit 162.) We had an postcard view of the impecabble grounds and the ocean behind them. That alone would have made it a worthwhile location for us. Our 1 bedroom unit was very clean and well maintanined, although the mattress, was way too soft for my back and, I suspect, past due for replacment. Not new by any stretch and not luxurious,it was nicely furnished with everything we needed. It did have a flat screen TV and cable, though we spent very little time watching TV. I would rather have had a better music source -- I have come to think of an iPod dock as pretty standard and really missed having something to listen to music on other than a clock radio/cd player. For me, this inexpensive update would have made a huge difference, but I know many wouldn't care. The kitchen was adequate and well equipped.

The real sell for us was the location: the grounds were absolutely beautiful, including both mature gardens and golf course-like lawns, and the beach is just a couple hundred yards away. The on-site restaurant there is great for a romantic or splurge meal. I'veread mixed reviews, but our dinner was delicious, and it's housed in the beautifully restored former home of the owner of the sugar plantation that oonce ccupied the land. Poipu Shopping Village, a short walk across the street, has assorted restaurants and shops you'd expect to find in a Hawaii resort town. Koloa Town has more of the same just a few miles away. I would return to this place in a heartbeat, so long as we got the ocean view -- which was well worth the additional cost..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation- This was our 2nd stay here.Once again it was Amazing..Landscape filled with gardens and flowers on entire property.Well groomed grass out by beach,filled with coconut tree's..We bought groceries to keep the cost down,had gas grills at every unit(had griiled Salmon,Ribeyes,onions,and even breakfast sausage).We opened our shutters and let the Trade winds keep the rooms cool.This is a great place for famlies and anyone wanting to relax(almost everyone is up walking and jogging by 07;00 am).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We had a spacious one bedroom with a partial oceanview( yeah, it was like 1000 feet from the ocean but you could still somewhat see it) it was comfortable and had a full kitchen, nice and clean. I wasnt too happy that there wasnt a/c, but come to find out you really don't need it b/c it wasn't hot at all.... but dont stay here if you prefer a/c. The windows and doors are all kind of open with just a screen and blinds, no glass... is nice except in the morning if youd like to sleep past 7 or 8 people may wake you up, especially housekeeping and lawnkeepers outside. The pool is nce, although the site didnt mention the hotel's pool is like a mile away, not even on the grounds.other than that wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimber2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Picked this resort from reviews, the location was great and good beach access. Grounds were beautiful. Had a 2 bedroom close to the beach but sat right on the Marriott parking lot and the local beach access road. Unit was dirty - don't wear white socks on the carpet they won't stay white long. Bathrooms were dirty, grout coming out, etc. Maids came into unit daily, sometimes while we were still eating breakfast and not sure what they did - changed 2 beds but not the third and one bed they changed they put wrong size sheets on bed. One day left dirty towels piled in bathroom and didn't come back. Good place to stay as long as you lower your standards and just want to stay at the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDecker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We spent 10 days at Kiahuna Plantation. The unit served our purpose fine and Kiahuna Plantation is absolutely lovely and wonderfully placed to explore the island. What was *not okay* was our unit location and the traffic noise. Building 41 is very close to Poipu Road, especially the end unit. Be sure and check Kiahuna Plantation unit map (and not rely on the owner's map) to know the exact location of your unit and how close to busy Poipu Road.

Trucks grinding gears and general traffic began at 5:30 or 6:00 am and continued late into the night. This was definitely not relaxing. Because of the noise, the value for the unit is significantly reduced as is sleep quality.

This was so disappointing When we arrived at about 8:00 pm from our trip, the sounds from the roadway made it seem as if traffic was going right through the apartment. And then waking up to traffic at 5:30 am. We live in Boston - and our neighborhood is exceedingly quiet compared to this location. What a shame - for the expense and precious vacation time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BriaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We (45 & 48 years old) booked Castle Kiahuna Plantation through Expedia from April 12th till 19th. I had concern about the accommodation due to prior negative comments but we had a great time over all staying at Kiahuna.

We had a ground level room "garden view deluxe" in Building 18 which was located right behind Poipu road. The road noise was not a problem at all. Roosters can be but we got used to them. They were cute. The room was adequately updated and was comfortable. We loved having meals at our peaceful terrace facing the beautiful garden with aroma of colorful tropical flowers. The bed could be replaced to be a softer one though.

You just can't beat the location. Restaurants were in walking distance and it was only a few minutes walk to one of the most gorgeous beaches in Kauai. We enjoyed swimming and snorkeling there. We also saw whales, dolphins and turtles from the beach! Running along the shoreline in the morning was great as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We just got back from our third stay at Kiahuna....our first in Unit 63 however. I booked this unit direct from owner who switched from Outrigger to Castle the day we arrived.
The unit was fairly clean although I did kill a huge cockroach on our first night. I will repeat what many other posters have said...these condos are getting old and tired. The water pressure was ridicuously low and hot water was hit or miss. The screens were falling off some windows and somme shuuters wouldn't close completely. The kitchen was stocked with just the minimum requirements...no cooking oils, condiments of any kind. There was but one dish towel in the kitchen and only two rolls of TP for our 10 day stay. Th coffee maker was old, stained , and the top kept falling off.
As we were packing to leave, my wife found that some of the packaged candies we had purchased to take home had been chewed open and partially eaten...presumably by mice.
That being said, the grounds and location are still as lovely as they have ever been.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gr8yt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,422 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $195 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing