We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Loved everything about the place! Staff were friendly, rooms lovely, grounds gorgeous, beach a short walk away, and we even enjoyed the roosters, hens and chicks! A few days were rainy but hey, Hawaii IS in the middle of the Pacific!! Had a very relaxing wonderful time!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a garden facing room, otherwise you run the risk of looking at the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Waiohai (Why O Hi) has a state park to the left as you face the ocean and a large Sheraton property to the right. The beaches are good for swimming, snorkeling and learning to surf. The area has more beach to walk and explore with hotels around it than most of the other parts of the island and the area is nicer and more upscale. The Grand Hyatt is a bigger nicer property just down the road but it doesn't have a good beach. The location of the hotel in Poipu is well situated to explore the island and has nicer hotels and resorts.

The Waiohai is a time share facility so at Spring Break there was not much choice. Original room looked at parking lot and was changed to handicap room. Girl at front, not particularly helpful and somewhat discouraging of changing rooms, said only four rooms to choose from for me, a non-time share guest. Had no idea it was a time share facility booking online. Call to speak to someone to get an idea of what you will be getting. It is Spring Break so I am sure other times are not as full. Maybe...

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook parking lots. Others look inward at the facilty grounds inside the complex. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lakewayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Waiohai Beach Club in Hale 7 (7401) with family using Marriott Reward Points. We found the accommodation to be nice, updated, and located on beautiful grounds. The property is not as extravagant as the Hyatt, but is perfect for families. Yes, the view out of our two bedroom/ bath unit is over a parking lot, but we could see the ocean sitting from the couch. The view wasn’t a big issue for us because we would prefer to be out and about on the beach or exploring the island. We found the beach to be very nice for hanging out in the water because of the natural rock barriers. We did some snorkeling and paddle boarding off the beach. Our biggest disappointment of the week was the weather…rainy and windy (more so than normal). We’d come back again, but probably later in the year for better weather.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asw_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Currently on our second of six nights at the Marriott Waiohai. The unit itself and property itself is very nice. But, I booked an ocean view 2 bedroom villa, which is actually a partial ocean view as the view of the ocean is obstructed. However, that I can overlook what I cannot overlook is that our unit in Hale 7 is overlooking a parking lot and an area of construction which has woken my entire travel group up every morning. Had I known construction would be going on next to the property, I would have never chanced booking here and getting a unit in this location. I have already gone to the front desk twice, each time being greeted by apathetic staff who offered to move us to other units which also overlook the construction site or that we could go to another property and lose the cost of the entire 6 night stay. This experience has already greatly dampered our vacation and as a Marriott Rewards member, I will never stay here and will likely end all business with Marriott in the future

Room Tip: Stay away from Hale 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank akblinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was my second trip to this resort, I stayed there previously for one week with my family and we all enjoyed it very Much!!! Resort is right on the beach with many pools BBQ area activities for kids and what not... nice little market, good and reasonable resturant on the property, It was wonderful week!!

We were disappointed in Decmember 2011 as the resort was going through a major renovations especially the area where we were staying, construction guys were smoking, walking on the lanai's lots of noise, it was a hell let loose, I called up the Manager and told her I was disappointed because I was not informed of this and she promised she will find a better place to move us right away, but till 9 pm no one bothered to check and my elderly parents who were looking forward to sitting out on the lani in the morning and evening were stuck inside the rooms, I had to call next morning and remind them that I am really upset so the outcome was they took me to another room which was five feet further with the guys working on the cranes, it was no better place then were we were, I told her that was not acceptable and she promised she will find one and move us as soon as she can but this was already the 2nd night and no response finally the crew moved ahead the 3rd day and we were able to go out on the lani for rest of the 3 days.
Very unprofessional handelling of the situation left a bitter taste for for the resort and the only reason for us to go there second time was because we loved it first time.

Any way too much complaining... location is real great, lots of places to Dine, nice little market right outside the resort, there is a great resturant at the Hyatt next door, with swans swimming right next to an atrificial waterfall, there is a nice Chinese resturant at the CLUB house, Portions are huge and prices are reasonable. lots of activities to choose from!!
Kauai is the rainist Island in the state but Poipuu Beach hardly gets any rain and is great for the outdoor activities. I will not go back to the same resort partially becase of the mess up and I have been there twice for 2 weeks but I think it is great resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the center court, most people ask for Ocean view and Ocean view is real use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarlok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just returned home from our 8 nights stay at the Waiohi and had an amazing time. We traveled with 2 boys ages 9 and 12 who absolutely loved Kauai and the gorgeous property-the pools, the hot tubs, the beaches. It seemed to be a very family-oriented destination and our boys made lots of friends at the pool. Our two bedroom villa was lovely and very clean - we had an ocean view from the balcony in Hale 2. Especially loved the full kitchen and washer/dryer! Contrary to some other reviews, we felt there was plenty to do here - we took a Helicopter ride (amazing!), a Catamaran sail up the Na Pali coast - saw numerous humpacks and spinner dolphins, we snorkeled right down the beach and saw tons of colorful fish and a sea turtle. The Beach club staff were very nice and accomadating. Upon our arrival, which was very late due to a delayed flight, and they could not have been more helpful in our check in process. We also did take a drive to Princeville on the north coast and stopped at some cool caves and a pristine beach with HUGE waves - too dangerous to swim that day but wonderful to see. We took another drive to Waimea Canyon and enjoyed some Shave Ice at Jo Jo's where flavors were abundant! We went to a Luau at the neighboring Grand Hyatt which the kids loved. Most of our meals out were dinners - and some lunches. We used the kitchen for breakfast every day which was wonderful and relaxing. The Beach House and Keokis Paradise were our favorite restaurants for dinner. Net net, we would return to the Waiohi Beach club in a heartbeat - all the way from CT - and we are usually pretty picky about where we stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spellboundc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at Waiohai with our 2 kids (12 and 14) during February 2012. Being "beach people" we enjoy sitting on the sand and spending time in the ocean. Looking at this resort on a map or overhead view, the beachfront is quite deceptive. The beach in front of this resort is tiny, being perhaps 100 feet wide and completely rocky just a few steps into the water, and no beach chairs are provided. The adjacent beach to the left is the main public beach serving Poipu and Koloa towns and there is a huge public parking area right next to the resort with a public access walkway dumping right onto the Waiohai resort beachfront. We made the best of it and walked the beach down about 4 resorts away and found a nice sandy beach with natural waves that was not very crowded. The pools at Waiohai are all in the central courtyard and are smallish and crowded together, tough to get much privacy here. Also deceiving from an overhead view, most of the central courtyard area is a large Koi-filled pond and not useable pool area. They should have installed another large pool and did away with the pond and fish. DO NOT use extras points for "Ocean View". The views from most rooms are only a sliver of ocean unless you are lucky enough to have one of the few rooms at the very front, right on the oceanside. The Garden View rooms are a better value. Nothing to do for children, can you really swim in a pool every day for a week? No restaurant in the resort but many excellent restaurants very close nearby. Do not miss Bubba Burgers with the kids and get a reservation at Merrimans at sunset, the food and service was fabulous. The kitchen in our room was fine, shop at the nearby BIG SAVE supermaket in Koloa right across from the Post Office, we found everything we needed and priced reasonably. This resort more appropriate for sitting by the pool, quiet with few children.

Room Tip: Interior Garden View rooms a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarrieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,380 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $361 - $1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Poipu, Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing