We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hawaii trip ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have been to Maui and Kauai was a totally different experience. We thought Maui was great- but this IS paradise.
The Grand Hyatt is exactly what you would expect. Open air lobby with an ocean views. The rooms are standard Hyatt issue but luxurious. Restaurants on site are Fabulous. We barely left the property it was so huge! Did the ocean view massage in the spa and it was perfect.
The island offers Amazing hikes and activities. We rented Harley's one day and rode to the top of Waimea Canyon- a must see.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcharbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and for coming to visit us here on the Garden Isle. Kauai is really unlike any other island, and we're thrilled that you had the chance to experience the island with us. We love that you enjoyed the resort so much, and we'll look forward to having you enjoy more and helping you to explore the island on your next visit.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,840 - 4,846 of 6,574 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt was by far my best experience ever at a resort hotel. Located next to Poipu Beach near (but not in sight of) the other south shore Kauai resorts, the Hyatt boasts scenic shoreline and the diving cliff at Shipwreck Beach, along with a man-made river and lagoon on site. It's ideal for families, couples, and partyers alike.

We had a beachfront room with lovely views, and there simply is nothing in the world – NOTHING – like opening the sliding glass door to one’s room and going to bed and waking up to the sound of the waves crashing outside. We’ll never forget that experience. Likewise, we capped every evening and began every morning sitting on the balcony having a drink or coffee while thoroughly enjoying the sight and wound of the waves and the gentle Hawaiian breeze.

Also memorable, every single employee of the Grand Hyatt, from housekeepers to bartenders, from front desk staff to groundskeepers, unfailingly greet guests with a sincere smile and a hello or aloha, and often they ask how you’re enjoying your stay. Their genuine warmth and pleasant greetings made our stay that much sweeter. I’ve stayed at several of Hyatt’s competitors – Westin and Sheraton come to mind – where you’re lucky if a single employee smiles and greets you warmly. The Hyatt is utterly spotless, and the attention to detail is simply unrivaled in my experience.

There are many dining options at the hotel, all predictably expensive. We bypassed the more popular and even more pricey Donderos and Tidepools, not wishing to take out a second mortgage to pay to eat there, instead having a meal at each of the Ilima Terrace and Poipu Bay Clubhouse on site. Both provided very good food, even if both were quite overpriced. Twenty bucks for an omelette and a five-spot for coffee? Out of sheer hunger and with few other options very late one night we ordered a $17 room service pizza and were presented with what had to have been a cheap frozen pizza. Do what you must to not need room service.

Overall, a truly wonderful experience and a recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room, ideally on the third floor or higher, and enjoy the sight and sound of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKSocialAmbassador, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Mahalo for your review of your stay here with us at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa.

We're delighted to have had you join us on your recent visit to Kauai, and we're happy to hear that you had an exceptional stay. Your kind words about our team and the service you received is greatly appreciated and our General Manager has shared your comments with everyone here at the resort.

We look forward to having you join us again for another great stay and welcoming you back with Aloha.

A hui hou & Mahalo,

Joshua Olayer - Social Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

As large as the Grand Hyatt is, not only is it beautiful and in a fabulous location on the Hawaiian Island of Kauai, but the staff and ammenities are wonderful. From start to finish our stay with this hotel was fantastic. There's no need to leave the property because there are restaurants,golf course, shops of various price ranges, and relaxation by one of the many pools and lagoons. The conceirge was very capable in helping us make the arrangements for our zip line excursion, sunset dinner sail, luaui, helicopter tour, and flying to Honolulu to swim with the dolphins at Sea Life Park. It was a dream come true anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Each of the three lovely rooms we had were located on the fifth floor facing the ocean and had their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I fell in love with Hawaii and Kauai. In part, we fell in love with the Grand Hyatt. It is a huge resort unlike the quaint B&B we stayed at on the Big Island. The Grand Hyatt was a perfect place for us to stay and explore Kauai.
My wife and I explored the entire island and saw so many waterfalls that I cant believe we missed any.
One day we simply hung out at the pool and had an enjoyable day.
I suggest paying for a room overlooking the pool and the ocean. It was more expensive, but darn well worth it.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Datravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We are back from one week at this Grand -hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa (we are regular clients of the Hyatt hotal chain). This was really great! You really feel relaxed from the moment you enter, and never want to leave again! Although it's quite a large resort, it has been done in such a way that you don't feel like being in a massive place without any atmosphere. On the contrary, everything is done to make you feel good and relaxed. There are several swimming-pools opened 24/24h and a lagoon with sand... all of them are gorgeous!! If you prefer an area without any kids, there is even a dedicated area just for adults, all this in lush tropical gardens with an amazing ocean view. You can change spot everyday because it's really nice everywhere! Many people get up early to place a personal item to "reserve" their lounger :) You can eat anywhere, anytime. The fitness is also opened 24/24h. There are several restaurants (very different from each other), we tried them all, and liked them all. the staff is frriendly. We would advise a room on a high floor if possible to get a nice view (preferably swimming pool or ocean, it's worth it!). We really had a wonderful time and highly recommend this place for families. The only detail where improvement could be needed is breakfast. The breakfast location is really nice, but we thought that the food was not at the level of the rest, especially for the price paid for it, but this didn't prevent us at all to have a great time. As said, this resort is really nice and we would love to go back! If you go there, you can ask for the "Aloha Free Shuttle", it's really cool if you need to go somewhere not too far, the owner/driver is really fun with a great "aloha" state of mind!

Room Tip: We would advise a room on a high floor if possible to get a nice view (preferably swimming pool or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JusteLaeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Kauai is delightful and beautiful. Easy to get around and not crowded. The Hyatt was a great property. Loved the walking trails along the coast just steps from our room. Real treat in February to watch whales while eating breakfast at the restaurant. Beach was nice but ocean is rough. Good for surfers but hard on the body. Luau was good and they gave us towels to cover our heads when it started to rain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MommyB1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I would love to know who the architect and designer of this hotel was. Absolute perfection. The open air lobby is so magnificent it takes your breath away. Hawaii at its best. We have stayed at this hotel several times and it never ceases to amaze me. As soon as you enter the lobby you see gorgeous foliage framing a view of the ocean. A soft breeze wafts through. Oh my, you can't help but relax. Rooms are large and comfortable and the pool area is superb. My only complaint is that each time we go to the "adults only" pool it is overrun with kids. No one enforces the rule. Also, there is no pool attendant. If you want towels you have to insert your room card in a specially made box which contains the towels. Rather inconvenient. That's my major complaint about this hotel. Service is not its high point. The first day we had to call housekeeping to get our roomed cleaned. It was already after 3PM, we ran out of towels etc. and no one seemed to be in a hurry to attend to the room. Also, the $25 "resort fee" tacked on your bill each day is really annoying. What extras do you pay for? Two "free" bottles of water each day (which were not in our room when we arrived. Hey, we payed $12.50 for each bottle. I wanted them!) Also, free local newspapers--which are scattered on tables throughout the hotel. For that price, they should be delivered right to the door. The hotel claims the fee pays for a lot of extras, but all these "extras" are standard fare at most other hotels. Foodwise, the breakfast buffet was good, with lots of selection and a location overlooking a koi pond. Very relaxing. The high point is their lobby bar/light foods area overlooking the ocean. Each night at sunset they perform a Hawaiian ceremony with hula and singing. If you're tired from a day at the beach this is a perfect location to unwind, see the sunset and have a good, light meal with drinks. Delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toby047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $621 - $1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing