We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Poipu Kapili #33”
Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poipu Kapili
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
palm springs
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Poipu Kapili #33”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in unit #33, a one bedroom ground floor unit in building 4. It was a really enjoyable stay and would highly recommend it. I had read good things about Kapili and was not disappointed. The complex is run very well, and looks as if was built last year. Everything inside and out was in top shape. Check-in was smooth and everyone we encountered was very pleasant. I wanted an ocean view, and was a little concerned about this ground floor unit in the back building being too far way for a good view. I was happy to find out that the view was great, with the water in plain view from the living room and kitchen, framed by palm trees and the beautiful gardens. Whoever the landscape architect for the project was should be congratulated for doing a great job landscaping for beauty and privacy. I was also a bit worried about construction noise from the Koloa Landing project behind Kapili, but there was none.
The unit is well furnished, large (as all the units there are), in very good condition and stocked with everything needed to make dinner. We had several breakfasts and dinners out on the lanai, which was tucked away beneath bamboo palms and surrounded by gardens, with the ocean in the background. That view is now my screen saver.
Poipu Kapili is in a great location. We walked to both the Poipu Shopping Center and the new Kukui'ula shopping village for restaurants. We walked to the Kiahuna beach (3 minute walk) and Poipu Beach most every day. Watching the sunset at the wall in front of Kapili was fun and seems to be a nightly ritual for many of the people there.
All in all, it was a great week, and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    51
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
152
145
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Unit 16 provided a partial ocean view and opened to middle courtyard and pool. Landscaping gave a private feel to the lanai area. Very spacious rooms, ideal for our family. Great location, easy walk to Sheraton beach and so much nicer to stay in a condo than hotel! Well maintained complex. Everything worked great. Office staff friendly and helpful. Poipui is a great location to explore the entire island. Lovely sunsets and quiet area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jharris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had three condos for our family and thoroughly enjoyed the Island and the kapili staff is great. Would highly recommend their spacious accommodations for a romantic getaway or family reunion. Nearby beaches great for kids.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in Unit 56 which is an oceanfront unit, and it suited our family perfectly. The unit had been recently updated and was in mint condition. Upstairs has two double beds in one bedroom and a queen bed in the master bedroom. Our oldest son slept on an aero bed which was quite comfortable. We made good use of the well-equipped kitchen for breakfast and lunch. The unit comes with a washer and dryer (VERY handy), and three bathrooms all with showers. There is plenty of closet space, and a safe in the master bedroom. Two A/C units were provided which we used sparingly as the breezes kept the unit nice and comfortable for most of the stay. We spent many pleasant evenings on the patio watching the waves.
The unit also has beach chairs and umbrellas. A number of beach equipment rental facilities are very close with everything else you might need. The closest beach is at the Sheraton – a short walk. We also drove to other beaches, and the kids went boogie boarding at Brenneke’s beach. (It can be very rough there so be careful.) There are many good places to eat within walking distance or a very short drive. Each unit has a reserved parking spot.
The staff was friendly and helpful. It is hard to find anything to complain about… the internet wasn’t working while we were there and it could have been useful. In addition, the unit faces the ocean, with a road between the property and the rocky beach. In August the waves are good for surfing and on most evenings locals would park on the road and either surf or watch the sunset. Usually it wasn’t a problem. We all agreed that this was much nicer than staying in hotel rooms, and the smaller facility made the stay feel more intimate than a larger complex. We will definitely stay here if we go back to Kauai.

Room Tip: The ocean front units are worth it. End units have more windows and natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our trip to Kauai was somewhat unexpected but we were so happy and fortunate to find our selves in condo #32 at Poipu Kapili as it surpassed all our expectations. Traveling with a 6 year old and 1 year old, condo #32 quickly became our home away from home... and for 3 fun filled weeks was simply wonderful!

Excellent ocean front location (#32 has a great uninterrupted water view and yet is not positioned near the road as some other condos happen to be), spacious beautiful interior, fully equipped large kitchen, 2 bathrooms, internet access, big lanai with ocean and pool view - perfect. Poipu Kapili also has parking available (a hire-car is handy especially as there is so much to do and see in Kauai.),

The nearest swimming beach is a short walk to Sheraton's beach. Best beach for the kids was Poipu Beach Park, just a 5 min. drive down the road and we even had turtles swim up to the shore for extreme close viewing fun!

Poipu Kapili has some great places to eat nearby and good shopping as well... we highly recommend staying at this condo. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lozfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our family of five stayed in Unit 27, which is a "penthouse" condo on the third floor. It was very nicely decorated and well-supplied. It would have been the perfect location on Kauai for our family ... if it had been air-conditioned. But it wasn't (or, rather, renters are prohibited from using the AC according to the message we saw in the guest book) and as a consequence, we spent five rather sweaty nights lying on top of the sheets with fans blowing across the room. We spoke to the front office about the problem, and they were terribly nice and concerned that we were uncomfortable. They allowed us to look at other units, but none of them had AC or seemed to catch the trade winds in a way that would promise to keep the unit cool.

Since we had prepaid our five-night stay, we chose to stick it out (some nights were better than others.) I must say, though, for $500 a night we would have expected to not have a problem like this. It was especially bothersome when we'd been out hiking all day or playing tennis -- it would have been nice to relax for the evening in a cool condo. But that wasn't possible, and it really affected our stay on Kauai.

We did take advantage of the swimming pool and the tennis courts on the property, and enjoyed those a great deal. We also liked the location in Poipu and had good meals at several of the really nice restaurants in the area. If we had it to do over again, we would have stayed in Poipu but chosen other lodging.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has doors and windows facing the east, where the trade winds blow in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili, Manager at Poipu Kapili, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
We are very happy to say that the owners of condo #27 have installed air conditioning in both bedrooms for their guests to enjoy. There are many condos at Poipu Kapili that now offer air conditioned bedrooms. You will still have the option of leaving the doors open to the beautiful trade breezes but if you do encounter a warm night you'll have the option of closing the doors and turning on the A/C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent four nights at the Poipu Kapili and loved every second. It's a great location just a short walk to the Sheraton's beach (great waves). The place is huge with gorgeous amenities: the full body spray shower is to die for, beautiful kitchen with cabinet-faced refrig and granite countertops, high-end applicances throughout, bathrooms are beautiful, decor is lovely, comfy bed and includes a small washer and dryer. The view to the ocean is great from the first floor and we watched boats sail by in the morning every day while making coffee. I also loved picking up the plumeria flowers that fell from the tree next door and using them for my hair each night.

Be advised: There is NO AC which I was scared to death of, but it wasn't bad at all. The location of the condo really pulls in the breeze and it's lovely at night. Pool is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. Staff - especially Marie and Mary were a delight and very helpful at booking and check-in.

Location is great - close to shopping villages, food markets, Sprouting Horn, Koloa Town and easily accessible to other parts of the island. Easy ride from the airport too. We AGONIZED over where to stay on Kauai and were not disappointed. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room #21 is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyvdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Property: Poipu Kapili
Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9783
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kapili 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a 60-unit Hawaiian plantation style resort surrounded by five acres of lush tropical gardens. Guests at Poipu Kapili can relax in the ocean view swimming pool, play tennis on two courts and walk to nearby Kiahuna Beach. It is a perfect place for a family vacation or romantic escape. A varied selection of accommodations are available including Penthouse Suites with elevator access, spacious one and two level floor plans with the finest touches and air-conditioning, convenient washer/dryer in unit or laundry access, free WiFi and ocean views from each villa including select oceanfront locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing