We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely anniversary trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
Hanalei Bay Resort 5201 Orchid
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MSTtravel...
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely anniversary trip”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 25th anniversary trip! Here are some details of our stay at Hanalei Bay Resort: it is a lovely place that shares a public beach with St. Regis. The paved path to the beach is steep but not that difficult and has convenient cart service if you don't want to walk. The beach is nice but know that the chairs/umbrellas are for St. R. guests only. We didn't realize on our 1st day and were kindly asked to move by St. Regis staff. Much of the beach is shady and leaf-strewn, which we didn't mind, with spots under the trees to lay on towels or you can rent chairs and snorkel gear, etc. from Hanalei Bay. We did not have beach chairs or cooler provided in the room itself as another reviewer mentioned having. We enjoyed snorkeling from the resort beach and saw reef triggerfish and many others just steps into the water which was calm and clear while we were there. Hideaway Beach is within walking distance, although a more adventurous trek, and snorkeling there was even better.
The room (5201) was sufficient: the size of a decent hotel room and plenty for the 2 of us. It was attractive and clean. As stated, no kitchen but a hotel-size fridge, microwave, coffee pot, blender, and toaster, all of which we appreciated. There are a few dishes: mismatched, nothing fancy, but they did the trick. The bed was not especially to our liking, but not bad. We enjoyed the lanai. I am attaching 2 pics of its views. There is a short walk to a pleasant spot with seating and a fire pit table to watch the sunset/stars. Both pools are nice & we enjoying using the grill for our dinner a couple of evenings. The restaurant was good (try the ribs) and had live music.
The $20/day resort fee does not include housekeeping, additional soap, shampoo, coffee, etc. after the initial "starter set." We needed more for our 10 day stay but there are nearby grocery stores. We asked the front desk for extra towels mid-stay and, while polite and accommodating, the staff's response made us wonder if they were making an exception by providing them for us. There are laundry rooms on the property. My least favorite thing about our stay was clearly hearing others' conversations, etc. in the adjacent condo, especially from the bathroom. Our neighbors weren't noisy, but it was a bit disconcerting for this introvert.
We had a wonderful time and hope this info is helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your detailed review.
Since this is a privately owned condo, only a starter set of soaps, lotions, and coffee are included. However we provide several sets of towels for each guest. (The Resort also will change out your beach towels daily)
We will look into the cooler and beach chairs issue immediately. I purchase new chairs and coolers each year for the use of our guest. Mid-term cleanings are available at the resort rate.
Mahalo again and we hope you will be able to return soon.
Chuck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliluvsva...
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Long story short: Best views on the whole island!! Great place to stay!

Longer review for Hanalei Bay Resort 5201
Breathtaking views! We went all around the whole island, literally, & found that the best mountain beach views were at Hanalei Bay Resort. I cannot say enough about how gorgeous the views are really, its indescribable! The grounds were beautiful with lots of wonderful nature to take in, we loved all the birds & flowers. The beach was not crowded at all, the waters were crystal clear with good snorkeling opportunities just a couple of feet from the sand with colorful fish all around and kayaks & beach chairs/umbrellas are available for a fee. Once again, the view was awesome! I found it funny that Hanalei Bay resort shares this beach with the St Regis because our room was much much cheaper than St Regis, but we still got to enjoy the same beach. The walk down to the beach from the resort is lovely, but could be viewed as tough for those with recent injuries or ailments, but there is a golf cart service that will pick you up at your room & take you down to the beach so problem solved. However, I enjoy late night walks on the beach, & i felt it was too dark to walk down the beach path at night. Lots of tennis courts, spacious pool, & relaxing hot tub. There was a swim up pool bar, but it was not open : ( The other bar restaurant on the grounds is Happy Talk & it was absolutely delicious each time! It has a great happy hour with a band & good drink prices with a variety of beers, cocktails, & wine. Their fresh fish sandwich was very yummy. There are other great restaurants, bars, & shopping just a short drive up to hanalei bay and a grocery store & golf courses just a couple miles from the resort. Most of the touristy type things & excursions were further down, about an hour away.
As for the room 5201, it was just as described & shown in the pictures. It was very clean with all the necessities you would need: coffee pot, dishes, mini fridge, tv, dvd player (you can get $2 redbox DVDs at princeville food town), beach chairs, cooler (which we used daily for the beach), love seat, 2 chairs on the porch (where the view was great! and birds would come & have breakfast with you), fan, air conditioner (which we never even had to turn on, we just left the porch door open with a nice cool ocean breeze coming in), bed & linens were comfy (bed was slightly creaky though), etc. All the rooms did seem to have thin walls, but it wasnt really a disturbance for us. The room & grounds were smoke free, except for a designated smoking area away from the rooms which i as a nonsmoker appreciated. there is no housekeeping services during your stay, but i didnt find one necessary. There were plenty of towels for 2 ppl to last the whole week. (separate beach towels were provided by the resort). There is an additional resort fee, i think it was $18 a day that included your parking, parking was easy. The transaction with chuck was easy & we got our security deposit back quick. We actually got to meet him while we were there, nice guy!
So in conclusion, i would highly recommend this room & resort!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I am happy you found our condo and the Resort met your expectations. We look forward to when you can return to Kauai and Hanalei bay Resort.
Mahalo,
Chuck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticket2Ca...
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hanalei Bay Resort #5201”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hanalei Bay Resort offers everything you need on site. We rented studio with a view and it was comfortable and conveniently located near the pool, tennis courts and restaurant/bar.
Next time we would probably rent a larger unit just because they offer a little more room.
There is a high top table and 2 stools on the patio. We would recommend more comfortable chairs as we like to spend a good amount of time on the patio. There is a twin sleeper sofa in the condo but we believe a full size couch would make for more comfortable seating in the home.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this home to future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the home
Liked least: Seating on patio
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for your stay and suggestions. We are looking for some new lounges for the lanai which would provide a great spot to enjoy the view while reading or relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaVG...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Chuck the owner was very helpful and patient. Not a lot of hidden fees. He provided a lot of good info on the Princeville area. Room was recently remodeled and looked beautiful, but not large. Good view. Close to sunset overlook with comfy chairs. Close to pool, tennis courts and not far from parking. Golf carts to help with luggage and take you down to the beach or back up. You Could walk to the beach but a nice hill back up.Nice that it had a pull out bed if you needed to have 1 extra person. Refrigerator size was good and BBQ not far from the room. Restaurant is being rebuilt, unsure when it will be ready. It is nice that it is an end unit because walls are a little thin but policy is quiet after 10 so the hotel will ask people to be quiet if necessary.. Overall a great value, would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing