We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miniature grand canyon...”
Review of Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.00*
and up
Kauai: Waimea Canyon Tour
More Info
US$460.00*
and up
Oahu to Kauai Day Trip: Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto
More Info
US$82.88*
and up
Kauai Waimea Canyon Experience
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Grand Canyon of the Pacific," Waimea Canyon is 10 miles long and 3,600 feet deep.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“miniature grand canyon...”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It is well-worth the drive up here to see the Waimea Canyon- something that nature has developed from years of erosion and weathering. Plan to spend at least 1/2 a day or more here to enjoy the constant change of color on the canyon walls as the sun moves- varies from red, orange, yellow, brown, and green. Check out all the lookouts if possible- stop at Waimea Canyon Lookout - MM #10 and Puu' Hina Hina Lookout- MM #13-14-- lots of the wild jungle fowl wandering at the parking lot here but they do not bother you. Check out the view of Nii'hau here if possible. It is often covered by clouds but if you are in luck, it is visible here. Nii'hau is the last true Hawaiian island with about 250 natives who do not live with any fancy plumbing or electricity. Their lifestyles are very simple. Lots of great views from here. Take your time to enjoy the landscape here- very different from the other Hawaiian islands.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenpammy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,385
    636
    77
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome "Grand Canyon of Hawaii"”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

When we heard the Waimea Canyon in Kauai was almost as spectacular as the Grand Canyon, we were a bit skeptical. However, it is indeed an expansive beautiful site to see and without saying anything negative about the awesome Grand Canyon, I must say Waimea Canyon displays a little more of the color spectrum - a little greenery in with the rusts and reds. Along with the Na Pali Coast, Waimea Canyon is situated on the northwestern portion of the island of Kauai. You could manage both sites in one day, but I must state we separated them and spent several hours in the canyon. It is a very pleasant drive from lookout to lookout and each one displays a unique side of the canyon. One of the most spectacular views of the Na Pali Coast can be seen from one of the Waimea Canyon lookouts (see my review of Na Pali Coast). We had a nice lunch at the old park concession, which also housed a museum on the property. If going to Kauai, Waimea Canyon should be on your itinerary. P.S. Along the route to or from, be sure and stop by the Kauai Coffee Plantation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindyp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Drive or take a tour... incredible beauty awaits”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We drove through the canyon just a month after we visited the Grand Canyon... You cannot miss this incredible natural wonder. Bring your binoculars and camera to explore this great asset of the pacific. Hint: there are cabins to rent in the park!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrownIdCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A lovely gorge. If you get carsick, just go to the first overlook, otherwise the first overlook is to your right and the remainder of the road is to your left. It starts out dry, but ends up in a rain forest. The over looks are beautiful, and it is fun to watch everything change around you. If you have the time and energy, the rim walk is amazing. There are two roads up from the coastal village. Go ahead and take one up and the other back down again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cathsalzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We enjoyed our day in Waimea Canyon with all the overlooks and hiking (although we picked the wrong hike, didn't like it very much and would do a different one next time). Our favorite was the Pu'u o Kila Lookout. Breathtaking!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D_JOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waimea Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing