We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old Hawaii, but not all that I had hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely old Hawaii, but not all that I had hoped for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here at the end of our trip to Maui and selected Travaasa based on the reviews we read here. First of all, it is the only resort option on this quiet side of the island, certainly a big plus. And the layout and grounds are simply beautiful. We chose to stay in a Garden Suite rather than a Sea Ranch cottage, which I guess was a big mistake. Granted, our suite was beautiful - simply and comfortably decorated with all the amenities we could have asked for. The only problem became apparent the first evening when we realized that we were in fact just a few feet from the Hana Highway, and there is a surprising amount of traffic on that road especially early in the morning. Forget being able to sleep past 6 AM. Since we had all the windows open, cars sounded like they were about to drive right through our room. And by the way, lack of air-conditioning is not a problem, even up next to the road there are always cooling ocean breezes.
The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer and service in the dining room was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. We spent a few hours at the beautiful pool on both days we were there and practically had the place to ourselves. Couldn't ask for better.
Our only other disappointment was the lack of variety on the dinner menu. The menu is limited and did not change on the 3 days we were there, so we found ourselves having the same dinner twice. The staff did tell us they usually have specials, but not during the weekend we were there.
I would certainly go back to Travaasa, but I would be more careful about room selection the next time around.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay in a garden suite, make sure you ask for one that does not back up to the High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMgmt, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear KalolaHartfort_CT,

First of all, we are very sorry to hear about some of the disappointments you experienced during your stay, and will certainly address those. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. We are truly glad that you were able to experience much of the natural beauty that Hāna is known for, and hope you will visit us again so we may accommodate you in a much quieter cottage.

Mahalo,
Travaasa Hāna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    212
    88
    48
    32
See reviews for
218
704
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I read a review in Portland monthly about this place, so when an issue booking flights meant I had a couple of days before a conference in Wailea, it seemed like the perfect choice. I was right! This place is pure magic: authentic, warm, friendly, rustic luxury. No it’s not the four seasons, but thats what makes it so amazing. Its super quiet and we often felt like the only guests here!
The activities are a lot of fun - archery and coastal stretching walks, yoga, and the spa services were amazing: the Aromatherapy treatment sent me into a state of relaxation I hadn't known was possible. I wish we'd had time to do the fishing with nets - but we were at the spa - choice choices!
We went on the coastal horse ride and had a wonderful time - lovely well taken care of horses and gorgeous coast line with our informative guide filling in with all sorts of plant information and local history.
We did do the all-inclusive package - once we did the math it was worth it to be able to relax and leave our wallets in the room safe! The food was fabulous – the catch of the day never disappointed, nor did the chocolate decadence, crème brulee, or salads. Definitely try the plunged mokka coffee for breakfast and the sashimi was some of the best I've ever had. I would come back here in a heartbeat. Room service is not covered in the all inclusive, which we didn’t realize, and they cheerfully adjusted the bill at check out which was super.
We stayed in a sea ranch cottage and were upgraded to a hot tub room – we didn’t use it as we never planned enough in advance to heat it up but the view from the room and deck was amazing – over the ocean and horses. The bathroom tiles are rustic and may be original? But the overall feel is rustic luxury with vaulted wooden ceilings and stone surfaces. I loved the stocked mini-bar with water, juice, and soda.
This is a truly relaxing haven. I would recommend this if you want to do the road to hana and relax - definitely visit hamoa beach during your stay! If you only stay one night it would still be amazing but stay two or more if you can so you get to enjoy the facilities and activities at Travaasa.

Room Tip: The sea ranch cottages are wonderful and worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiCowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMgmt, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear KiwiCowgirl07,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Sea Ranch cottages. Most of all, we’re happy that you were able to take advantage of many of our activities and spa. We hope we will see you again!

Mahalo,
Travaasa Hana Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our stay at the magnificent Hana Travaasa was beyond our wildest dreams. From the spectacular "Sea Cottage" bungalow to the lush manicured grounds one feels like you've traveled back in time to "old Hawaii".

The staff was professional warm and attentive; the food was excellent with the chef preparing wonderful nightly spcials; the spa massues did a superb job relaxing every muscle in our body.

Our only disappoinment at Hana Travassa was the fact we had to leave. We spent six nights and could have stayed a month. Lots do do and see...or simply relax. We have stayed at many of the finest hotels Maui has to offer but Hana Travaasa is the GEM....we cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeD_Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMgmt, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear MikeD_Sr,

From your kind words about our staff to your dining experience, we couldn’t be more pleased that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much for telling us about it –we really appreciate it. A hui hou! (See you next time).


Mahalo,
Travaasa Hana Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were walk-in guests for one night spur of the moment. When traveling we use a wide range of accommodations from camping to luxury. Our first view of Hana Maui was awesome, felt like we were in a postcard and the hotel was in sort of a mist. It definitely caught our interest so we stopped to inquire about availability and then debated if we wanted to spend the money to stay there. Receiving the scented wash cloths, fresh juice, and leis made check-in very special. Our guest suite was very large and beautifully decorated in island motiff. The bellman driving us/luggage to our room was very nice and helpful. Our view was muted but could see some mountains from our front porch area. The bathroom was amazing. For the price of the room I think they should invest in some quality, soft bed linens. We had to remind the front desk to send our banana bread and fruit. To our surprise dinner at the hotel was very good though the service was a bit casual for the price and place. I am very glad for the one night experience and perhaps if we were types to have stayed on the property vs explore the area would have felt better value for our money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMgmt, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Southerner,

Thank you for your review and for recognizing the unique setting we have here. We are glad that you are able to experience the magic that is here in Hana and at our resort, even if it was just for one day. We look forward to having you back.

Mahalo,
Travaasa Hana Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands Point, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Forget the drive to Hana, once you are there you have to stay here!

Service is the best from the minute you pull up in your car.

Everyone, from Shannon & Darwin at the front, Hoku at the activities center ( a lovely hula dancer as well!), Doug (1 of the tour guides) displayed the utmost hospitality to us during our stay. I wish I had spent my entire Hawaii vacation here.

The sea ranch cottages are awesome with wall sized doors when opened allow the ocean breeze and sounds of waves into the cottage. Very relaxing. There is no internet or TVs in the room. Just the way you want it when you are truly in paradise. No AC either but who needs that with the cool ocean breezes!

The Sea Ranch cottages are a small bit of a walk away from the rest of the property but they offer transportation whenever you need it by golf carts. Although the nice walk through their grounds is relaxing in itself. The only other small complaint is there are a fair amount of moths that gets into the rooms but nothing too bad.

The restaurant also offers great food with a few of the entrees that changes daily. If you however do get tired of the restaurant venture to the Thai restaurant ajacent to the back of the property for a nice treat.

You really never have to leave the resort with all the activities that they provide. They have an activities center where you can sign up for the various activities of the day and the staff at the center is beyond friendly... An epitome of Hawaiian hospitaility.

You also must go to one of the concerts at the lounge, especially when CJ Helekahi is there performing. You can't go wrong listening to his signing. A very special treat!

We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Splurge on the sea ranch cottages! We stayed in 305 and have no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank boboli111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear boboli111,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are truly glad that you were able to experience the relaxation, serenity, and natural beauty that Hana is known for. We are especially thrilled that you were able to catch one of our local musicians in the Paniolo Lounge. We are very proud of the staff here and we are delighted to hear that you found them to be warm and welcoming. We can’t wait to have you return!

Mahalo,
Travaasa Hana Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Been comming to "Hotel Hana Maui" since 1973. I was turning 4 years old that year. I still remember the old paniolo bar, with the fish mosaic mural. The "cow heads" on the poles lining the walkways. And the pool (there's two now) We stayed in "ginger" family cottage. Now the site of all those sea ranch cottages. The only thing missing is A/C. But the service is OUTSTANDING. The food UNBELIEVABLE. the property and grounds: STUNNING. and their private Hamoa Beach. The BEST in the world. The waves HUGE!!! Therer's NO PLACE like Hana Maui, it NEVER changes..expect only to get better.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent. The sea ranch cottages are, of course, moe upscale
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aerovergalineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Aerovergalineas,

First and foremost, we are delighted to hear that you have such fond memories from your visit in 1973. We are glad to hear that the service, views, and food during your recent visit meet all your expectations. Thank you for sharing this review - it is our sincere hope that you return for another visit.

Mahalo,
Travaasa Hana Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We did not stay in the hotel but we walked the grounds and had a cocktail in the lounge - great service - so nice to see that they employ the local folks - and they had a great drink menu. We were not hungry so did not eat. Very pleasant and peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Susan M,

We’re so glad you stopped by for a short visit. Thank you for the review and all your compliments – we are very happy and proud of our staff here.

We hope you’ll plan to stay with us the next time you visit our wonderful island.

Mahalo,
Travaasa Hana Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
75.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
48.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
75.9 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
48.0 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
48.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Property: Travaasa Hana, Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing