We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“A quiet escape from the other side of Maui” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hana Kai Maui

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
204 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A quiet escape from the other side of Maui”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We enjoyed our two nights here and especially loved listening the surf pound the rocky beach outside our room. The lovely wrap around porch from unit #201 gave beautiful views. With no TV we watched movies from our laptop and enjoyed a bottle of wine as the sun disappeared. We had arranged two nights so that we could hike the 7 sacred pools. This was great but the one drawback of Hana is the lack of restaurants. Two nights was perfect for us. We drove back via the south road which is bumpy and rough for about 10 miles but otherwise added to the adventure. The room was lovely, beautifully appointed, clean and even had fresh tropical flowers on a table by the door waiting for us. A great little jaunt in the middle of our few weeks on Maui.

Room Tip: We were in #201 and it was great! Vaulted ceilings were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofthecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    201
    47
    19
    11
See reviews for
155
371
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have stayed at Hana Kai twice 2007 1 night, and 2009 for 8 nights). #2 (Popolani) is a great room for a couple. sliding doors open to allow the sounds of the ocean in, and what a view! One thing I must mention is Hana is for those that want to relax and really understand the "real" maui. We enjoyed "talking story" with Stanley, and Velly was always friendly and answered our questions about the area. We left notes for our housekeepers each day, and they wrote back :) We were happy to get to know them through our daily writings. The local people are very friendly and one day we saw a handwritten sign that simply said,"MALASADAS". We found the house and a local woman was using a propane deep fryer to make this sweet donut type confection. 1 dozen in a paper bag shaken with sugar. We bought 2 dozen and left 1 bag at the desk for the staff. They were delicious!
If you go to the islands please remember to conserve water and be mindful of the fragile septic systems...be respectful and remember you are a guest on their island. "No worries" :)

One note: upon arrival leave your bags in the car since the office is on the bottom floor. It was something we found amusing as we watched people carrying all their luggage down the steps and then back up again.

Once we found Hana, and Hana Kai the "tourist" locations no longer appeal. We will be back again...soon.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor level for the bast view of the black sand beach. #2 (Poploani) is excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed four nights here last month (January 2012) and it was absolutely heaven. Every day was perfect, even on the last day when it rained a bit. We stayed in #1 and even though there might be a little noise from those above us (mostly moving suitcases in and out), it was fine. We loved the shower, the bed and furniture was comfy, and we loved watching the sunrise from and eating on our lanai. There were so many windows we felt like we were outside all of the time! No better place to destress! We will be back.

Room Tip: #1 has one of the best views but if you are worried about noise from people above, choose one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent one night there and had an upper floor room with an awesome view of the black sand beach from the lanai - very nice room with great decor, a well equipped kitchen with shutters that open onto the lanai and a really comfortable table & chairs on the lanai to enjoy the view and your meal at the same time! If you're staying longer than a night, there is a nice big open deck and lawn right by the beach with a big grill - that's probably what we'd do if we went back, since the restaurant selection in Hana for dinner is just a couple of places and there's a good grocery store. Overall, we were very happy - a welcome home after the road to Hana all day!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belizefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay after driving the road to Hana with the return trip the next day and Hana Kai fit the bill perfectly.

Large single bedroom condo with kitchen, living room and lani looking out over the black sand beach and ocean – lots of dark wood gave a ‘rich’ feel and very quiet apart from the sea! Not a spotless condo but very acceptable.

We could have spent a 2nd night in the condo but the weather was decidedly worse on that side of the island so moving on was not difficult.

Like: condo wood, road to Hana. Dislike: weather.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We go each time we are on island. Rooms are very nice but offer 1 suggestion. Get an upper room if you can. Some people are very heavy footed and if you add kids then it get a little lound in some units but overall the entire place is beutiful and so are the people. Many thanks to all from the management to the cleaning crew. Mahalo and be back soon

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flynirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

My spouse and I recently spent two nights at the Hana Kai in Maui. Overall the accomodations were excellent. What a great view of Hana Bay off our third story lanai. The property is clean, modern, affordable and the staff were as helpful as they could possibly be. There are no elevators and parking is tight.

Room Tip: Definitely do and upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.5 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
48.2 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
75.4 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
75.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
39.9 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Property: Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing